We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and well-located business hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont San Jose to your Saves list
The Fairmont San Jose
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Room/Food & Drink
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Elegant and well-located business hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Fairmont San Jose continues to be the best option for travelers to the area. Rooms are spacious and elegant, as are the hotel's public areas. Breakfast at the Fountain was lovely; dinner at the Grill wasn't as good as in past years. Everything at this hotel just works: the WiFi and TV, check-in and check-out. I've never had a problem here and will keep going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your continued patronage to The Fairmont San Jose for your business needs. We will pass along the compliment to The Fountain Restaurant! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    407
    168
    64
    37
See reviews for
159
181
73
547
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous. I scored a room on priceline, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room was huge, quiet, and the decor was classic and elegant. I read the hotel was built in 1987, but the feel is that from the 1940's. I would not want them to change a thing, and I was in the older tower. Every detail was beautiful- the lamps, faucets, vanity, stone vanity, floors, elevators, etc. I even liked the wallpaper and I normally dislike wallpaper. The beds were comfortable and had nice high end cotton sheets and down pillows. We had a beautiful view from the 19th floor. The gym was the biggest and nicest one I have ever used at a hotel. I do not understand how anyone could possible complain about this hotel. If they update it, it will lose its character and be boring and typical. So what if there might be the tiniest amount of mildew in the grout in the nice tile shower. Then take a bath instead since they have both. The valet parking is expensive, so either avoid bringing a car or park in another one of the more reasonably priced parking lots nearby, or on the street (free 6 pm- 9am). Downstairs in the lobby bar there were 2 piano players who were extraordinarily talented. I could go on and on. Stay at this hotel- you won't regret it!

Room Tip: I loved the old tower, and apparently it is cheaper than the new one. Cheaper to park in a lot nearb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your fabulous review. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your guest room, and appreciated the beautiful decor of the South Tower. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I'm frustrated that this incredibly nice hotel was dismissive at the desk this morning when I needed directions, asking me to "gimmie 5" while the only 3 staff at refistration conferred over a computer monitor...only heightened my frustration to turn to the concierge desk, where someone told me she 'stepped out.' My impatience lead me to venture on my own in a quite desolate downtown San Jose on a Sunday morning. There is not a lot of vibrancy in this area, recommendations would have saved me turning into the 'not so great' part of town & being followed and harassed by what appeared to be a homeless man.

Then, to have left the room at 10:30a, returned at 1pm expecting it to be cleaned, called housekeeping to be told 'right on it,' only to return again at 3pm with nothing cleaned. I called, again, spoke with the same person, and requested it be done immediately (turn down service starts in 1.5 hrs!!) I have now been waiting in the room for over 30 min and still no housekeeping.

The hotel is nice. Spacious rooms, quiet, clean, beautiful, had planned to pen a great review....but I'm really confused that on a seemingly very unbusy day here in San Jose, I've been treated rudely and can't get someone to change the linens and replace the damn glassware. I'm considerably grumpy because I'd like nothing more than to relax in my room before dinner, with clean and refreshed amenities. This shouldn't be that hard for a hotel of this caliber. La Quintas can mange to get a room clean in 5 hours, pray tell why a Fairmont can't?

Guess what management? Once these are posted....they don't come down. Grrrr.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Good Afternoon,
First, I would like to thank you for choosing The Fairmont San Jose. It seems we let you down in a number of areas during your stay, and I would like to personally apologize. It is reviews like these that allow us to see where we have opportunity to grow, so thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I would like to speak with you regarding your experience in further detail. Please feel free to reach out to me at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director, Sales and Marketing
Marshall.Jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Rooms were very spacious. Had the chance to stay in a suite overlooking the city night lights. Bed was comfortable. The bathroom is really nice with tub and shower. I could sleep there. Staff at the front desk and valet were pleasant. Overall stay is memorable. I will be back and highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A classic hotel to stay while in Silicon Valley! Was there for business, and all meeting activities were produced on-site. The Fairmont has a "South Tower" building that has massive square footage of meeting and ballroom spaces. The food was excellent, and the staff was more than gracious and helpful. The WiFi in the rooms was strong, and always steady. I would recommend this property to any one!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. It looks like every part of your stay was a success, from the food and beverage at your event, to your guest room. We love to read these kind of reviews! We can’t wait to welcome you back for business or pleasure.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The location was great, my room was nice, the bed was very comfortable, and they promptly brought up the mini fridge that I requested for my room upon check-in. If I ever go to San Jose for business again I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo County, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the fairmont February 16 Th for one night room extremely quiet staff at hotel great server at bar and attendant at check out very friendly and helpful. Have stayed there several times before alway happy. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Jose

Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.