We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, service a bit lacking...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont San Jose

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairmont San Jose
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Room/Double Miles
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel, service a bit lacking...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I'm frustrated that this incredibly nice hotel was dismissive at the desk this morning when I needed directions, asking me to "gimmie 5" while the only 3 staff at refistration conferred over a computer monitor...only heightened my frustration to turn to the concierge desk, where someone told me she 'stepped out.' My impatience lead me to venture on my own in a quite desolate downtown San Jose on a Sunday morning. There is not a lot of vibrancy in this area, recommendations would have saved me turning into the 'not so great' part of town & being followed and harassed by what appeared to be a homeless man.

Then, to have left the room at 10:30a, returned at 1pm expecting it to be cleaned, called housekeeping to be told 'right on it,' only to return again at 3pm with nothing cleaned. I called, again, spoke with the same person, and requested it be done immediately (turn down service starts in 1.5 hrs!!) I have now been waiting in the room for over 30 min and still no housekeeping.

The hotel is nice. Spacious rooms, quiet, clean, beautiful, had planned to pen a great review....but I'm really confused that on a seemingly very unbusy day here in San Jose, I've been treated rudely and can't get someone to change the linens and replace the damn glassware. I'm considerably grumpy because I'd like nothing more than to relax in my room before dinner, with clean and refreshed amenities. This shouldn't be that hard for a hotel of this caliber. La Quintas can mange to get a room clean in 5 hours, pray tell why a Fairmont can't?

Guess what management? Once these are posted....they don't come down. Grrrr.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Good Afternoon,
First, I would like to thank you for choosing The Fairmont San Jose. It seems we let you down in a number of areas during your stay, and I would like to personally apologize. It is reviews like these that allow us to see where we have opportunity to grow, so thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I would like to speak with you regarding your experience in further detail. Please feel free to reach out to me at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director, Sales and Marketing
Marshall.Jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    368
    152
    59
    32
See reviews for
144
161
64
492
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Rooms were very spacious. Had the chance to stay in a suite overlooking the city night lights. Bed was comfortable. The bathroom is really nice with tub and shower. I could sleep there. Staff at the front desk and valet were pleasant. Overall stay is memorable. I will be back and highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A classic hotel to stay while in Silicon Valley! Was there for business, and all meeting activities were produced on-site. The Fairmont has a "South Tower" building that has massive square footage of meeting and ballroom spaces. The food was excellent, and the staff was more than gracious and helpful. The WiFi in the rooms was strong, and always steady. I would recommend this property to any one!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. It looks like every part of your stay was a success, from the food and beverage at your event, to your guest room. We love to read these kind of reviews! We can’t wait to welcome you back for business or pleasure.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The location was great, my room was nice, the bed was very comfortable, and they promptly brought up the mini fridge that I requested for my room upon check-in. If I ever go to San Jose for business again I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo County, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the fairmont February 16 Th for one night room extremely quiet staff at hotel great server at bar and attendant at check out very friendly and helpful. Have stayed there several times before alway happy. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for a conference - first time at a Fairmont - and found everything to be up to 4-diamond expectations. We were warmly greeted by the bellman, efficiently checked in, and having booked a "Tower suite," found our room to be large enough to move into! There was a small separate dining area (no kitchen), and a nice roomy living room. The closet was walk-in, and the bath had separate tub and shower.

If you join their loyalty program, your Internet will be complimentary. Only a couple minor notes keep this from being top-rated: no electrical outlet near the nightstand for our phone chargers, and decidedly tired furnishings. The bed was comfy with high-end linens so sleep was good. Conference rooms were chilly so bring a sweater or wrap.

Room Tip: Book a suite-AAA rates can be the same for a standard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are so glad you received a warm welcome, and enjoyed your stay in San Jose. We hope to have you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Marshall Jones
Director, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Me and my significant other love to try out new hotels and trying to see which one is the better one to choose from. I remember she had mentioned she wanted to try the fairmont one day, so i wanted to surprise her....Hands down, fairmont has been the best hotel we've stayed at!! The staff is so incredibly nice and generous! i booked the hotel first back in january, i had to switch the date which wasn't a problem thanks to Rachel! I also asked for an early check in and she said it wouldn't be a problem which was good. On the day of check in, i had called and asked what time early check in was, and after a few minutes it turns out my room wasn't ready, BUT instead they upgraded my room and was able to check in early!!!! Thank you Kevin, you deserve a raise!!! The vallet people were nice, bed and breakfast was great, staff were great, and the room was also great!! I'm pretty picky with beds, and haven't had much luck on the previous hotels, but i loved fairmonts bed, i didn't even wake up during the night and was well rested in the morning...It's safe to say WE WILL BE BACK!!! and we're done looking for that "perfect" hotel...I also just applied for the presidents club membership! see you soon fairmont!

Room Tip: choose the south tower!!! but i also believe the main building had newer rooms now
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Good Afternoon,
Thank you taking the time to post your fabulous review! We love reading reviews like these, and a special thank you for mentioning Kevin by name. We will be sure to let him know he helped make your stay one to remember. We can't wait to welcome you back as a FPC member!

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Jose

Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotel.de, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your The Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.