We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont San Jose

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont San Jose
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Room/Double Miles
Ranked #9 of 72 hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel But Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

The Fairmont is a nice and elegant hotel. My room was very nice, with a large bathroom and a very nice bed. The public areas are good too. The hotel is expensive, though:My room was more than $360 per night.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    333
    126
    51
    27
See reviews for
114
131
62
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

By far the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at. We got a good deal on Expedia by booking 2 months in advance. We upgraded to a suite for $50 upon checking in. Very worth it! The room and views were unforgettable. The bar is very classy with impeccable service. Christmas in the park was right next door to us as well as a dozen restaurants from high class seafood/steak to Johnny Rockets burgers. I have nothing negative to say about the Fairmont.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am so pleased to hear you had impeccable service in our Lobby Lounge. We can't wait to welcome you back.

Thank you,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We recently spent one night at the local Fairmont San Jose after my company's Winter Party. We were in a room in the adjacent tower which is connected to the main building by a pedestrian bridge. We really enjoyed our short stay here. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, and the towels were as lush as you'd expect at a Fairmont. The room was quiet except for a little street noise (we were on the 8th floor). The only downside of the room was that the light on the make-up mirror did not function. We passed on hotel breakfast in the morning instead walking around to find the adjacent excelllent Bijan bakery and Philz coffee a few short blocks away. There are several nice hotel options in downtown San Jose, and the Fairmont is one of the best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so happy we impressed you with our luxurious accommodations and amenities. Hopefully it made your Winter Party that much better.
We can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a meeting in San Jose before Christmas and had the opportunity to stay at The Fairmont. I'd have to say this was the best hotel I stayed in this year. Everything everyone else has said is true - but I got Christmas Decorations added to the mix and the park was filled with Christmas trees! I was happy to see people out and about downtown, since my last visit to San Jose reminded me of a ghost town after 5pm.
The food was great.
The rooms were very comfortable, and the bathrooms very spacious!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your review. The holidays are a very special time in Downtown San Jose, and I am excited you got to experience it. We can't wait to welcome you back on your next stay.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

A friend of mine got a groupon for the hotel to stay the night before having to be at the airport at 6:30 am, so it seemed like a great idea to meet. We had a room on the 16th floor with an incredible view of downtown and overlooking the ice skating rink next to the hotel. we had a drink in the lounge and went to dinner. I love hotels that supply you with a comfy robe, loved that the shower was separate from the bathtub. The only disappointment was no coffee in the room or anywhere else unless you remembered to order the night before from room service. But even they were not available till 6:00 am. I was also not too happy about having to pay $26 to use their parking garage even though we were staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were visiting relatives in San Jose. Coming from a short San Francisco trip, we were worried there would not be anything to do in between. We were pleasantly surprised! The cathedral is almost outside the door and it is a work of art! We walked around in the squares and there were many great places to eat. Then we got to come home to the Fairmont which is warm and inviting. I got upgraded to a suite so seriously who can find anything to complain about? The lobby is gorgeous and our suite is amazing. We were creative w parking so that was a non issue. Staff was very friendly. Check in and check out were simple. This place is old world elegance and new tech combined! Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your amazing review! I am so glad you were able to enjoy downtown San Jose and really take advantage of the culture and local area we have to offer. We can't wait to welcome you back!

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont with some friends who were from out of town. The hotel staff is very friendly and we had absolutely no problems. The room is very spacious and so in the bathroom. You can get some pretty good rates, particularly on the weekends, that include parking and even breakfast. They had a live band in the bar area which also has a dance floor which was quite entertaining although quite loud and seemed to cater to the 50+ generation though. I also visited the spa and had a great 80 minute massage with Andre (a female, don't let the name fool you) and was quite surprised with how reasonable the rate was given the spa is within the hotel. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for posting your review. I am so happy to hear you could accompany your friends and enjoy a little "Staycation" in San Jose. We can't wait to welcome you back!

Thank you,
Marshall Jones
Director, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Jose

Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.