We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont San Jose to your Saves list
The Fairmont San Jose
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Room/Food & Drink
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel twice and will certainly return. Beautiful hotel, great service and nice rooms. My first stay was in the tower, the second on a poolside room on the main building fourth floor. "The Grill" bar/restaurant had an incredible wine list with very professional and cordial staff. I would recommend it for business dinners or at the bar for a place to unwind. There are also plenty of other options to dine in the area, and it's relatively close to the airport. As I visit the area often for business, I recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    407
    166
    64
    37
See reviews for
159
181
73
546
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

As always, the hotel in general is a pleasant place to stay. I was surprised to see most of the problems I listed in my last review 2 years ago have been addressed, which is great. However, like our last stay, housekeeping was not at its best. We arrived in our lovely Cabana Room, walked out to the patio, only to discover one table littered with a dozen beer caps and the other table covered in some sticky substance. While unpacking in our walk in closet, we noticed the complimentary shoe shine cloth had been used and left in a basket. I discarded it, but it was never replaced. When we used wine glasses or drinking glasses, they were not replaced and I had to phone housekeeping to bring them. By the second day, I ended up using a facecloth to clean that sticky table, since again, housekeeping ignored our patio.

That said, the pool area is very relaxing and ordering lunch by the pool is very pleasant. If you wish to book a Cabana Room, which opens right onto the pool area, phone the hotel directly. I don't recall seeing a Cabana Room offered on line. We stayed in Room 414, a gorgeous 2 room suite at the end of the floor - a good walk to your room, but worth it for the privacy.

The Grill Restaurant is very nice, and if you want something a little more casual, keep walking through The Grill to reach the more casual bar area. The Fountain Room for breakfast is airy and the food and service are perfect.

If you want to pick up some snacks or wine for the room, The Market by Safeway is a 5 minute walk away. Other than the minor housekeeping issues, the hotel is a beautiful property and I'm looking forward to our next Cabana Room stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy you enjoyed the poolside suite and its convenient location. However, it seems we have missed the mark in one area. I wanted to personally respond and follow up with you after I received your review. I would like to assure you that we take comments and concerns of our guests very seriously and yours is no exception.

I would like to discuss your experience in further detail.
Please reach out to me at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
Marshall.Jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel was excellent from the first moment i arrived!
The head valet was charismatic and humorous and remembered my name for the reminder of my trip, a nice touch! The inside of the hotel was beautiful in design and the staff were all pleasant.
The room itself was very generous in size and had a beautiful bathroom, both of which including the rest of the hotel were spotlessly clean!
Although the tertiary fees, cost of the breakfast and spa treatments were very much symbolic of a four star hotel the price of the room itself was very reasonable for a hotel of this quality!
The bed was by far the most comfortable of all the beds i tried on my stay to California and offered the perfect nights sleep.
Located within about a ten minute walk of all the local bars, which were plentiful in number and of a pretty good standard i did not have a problem locating my room after a 'night on the tiles'
This hotel comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to hear that you had such a marvelous experience at our property, and were able to enjoy your evening on the town!
We can't wait to welcome you back.

Thank you,

Joanne Casem
PR and Marketing Manager
Joanne.Casem@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here when we attended a concert at the San Jose Pavilion. We stayed in a tower room which was much quieter and low key than the main building. The walk to the pavilion was easy and convenient. The room was spacious and quiet and the bathroom was huge and luxurious. Check in was fast and easy. We will definitely stay here again when we return to San Jose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are so happy you had a great experience, that check in was efficient, and you enjoyed your luxurious accommodations. We hope you'll come back to enjoy another show at HP very soon.

Thank you,
Joanne Casem
PR and Marketing Manager
Joanne.Casem@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I just stayed the the week at the Fairmont San Jose. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is very friendly and always willing to help. Going through the lobby, you'll think your in a grand European hotel, very posh. I stayed on the 4th floor and the hallways are constructed as though you are a mouse in a maze, I finally figured out the hallway maze pattern after the 3rd day, it was very confusing. The rooms are awesome, except a couple of things - the Bathroom mirror had this huge gross mold growth in-between the glass and the mirror, there where several lights that had come out of the socket and had exposed wires, not the safest in my opinion. The phone in the room was from 1995 and it had seen its day, sometimes it worked, sometimes not. I hope they are fixing these problems. Otherwise the room was comfortable and relaxing. The thing that bummed me out, was that this hotel has no shuttle service from and to the airport.. it's only 4 miles away from SJC. Come on,a fancy hotel like this, needs to include a shuttle service. Over all, I would stay there again

Room Tip: Don't get one on the 4th Floor (Pool level)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Although a luxury hotel it just felt a bit tired. Room was very spacious & bathroom amenities were very good. But I was left feeling a bit underwhelmed. Location was great as it was right near the SJ Convention Centre where my conference was being held. Plus side - very nice bar area with live music.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

My stay at this Fairmont has been a comedy of errors and when speaking with the manager with hopes for anything to be offered for improvement, all I received was a lukewarm apology. With no one before me, the checkin took 30 minute because the hotel clerk could not reconcile that a Chris and Christine with the same last name might be the same person and she could not articulate this to me, only that she could not find my reservation. Once in the room, I found more hairs in the bathroom and in towels than should ever be found. The remote control did not work. The room service took 45 min and arrived cold. When I called down for a spare phone charger, I was told to go to 'the mall'. When I explained that I am not from the local the area (hence, the hotel stay) and I did not know where 'the mall' was, the operator sounded surprised. Need I go on? Poor poor service from unqualified people and filthy rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take all of our guest reviews seriously, and yours is no exception. It seems we failed to meet some basic expectations during your visit. I would like to discuss your stay with us in further detail. Please reach out to me at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

Joanne Casem
joanne.casem@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Jose

Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.