We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and a bit dirty.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2050 Gateway Place, San Jose, CA 95110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
foodappreciator
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old and a bit dirty.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week. Rooms are old and tired. Dark brown slightly tatty furniture. Carpets are old. My sink was cracked and the desk draw had been scribed with profanities. Gym was too warm and with litter on the terrace outside. I won't be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
foodappreciator,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. We appreciate your candid review of our property as new perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. We will share your comments with our team and hope you will give us another chance to impress should you travel near in the future.

Yours in Service,
Matthew L. Ives
Director of Front Office Operations
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    405
    282
    136
    48
See reviews for
182
159
173
684
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, md, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

A high priced hotel that can't outfit a room with needed linens, provides a coffee service without enough cups, doesn't connect the bedside phone to an outlet...literally no cord. They should spend less time producing barely tasty cookies and concentrate on running a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Richard F,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Thank you,
Matthew L. Ives
Director of Front Office Operations
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel 4 times during 2013. Very close to the airport and also easy to get to from SFC - Just off 101. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Good WiFi connectivity.
Good Sushi bar/rest , for a quick meal, upon arrival.
Only continental breakfast included for HH Diamond/Gold !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of this hotel. Our primary focus when staying at an airport hotel is the quality of the room. This includes cleanliness, efficiency and noise level of the air conditioner, and comfort of the bed. The Doubletree delivered on all that and more. The other primary consideration is the airport shuttle. This one ran every 15 minutes as opposed to most that run every half hour. The hotel was much larger than we expected. There are two restaurants and a decent looking bar. We had already eaten dinner so I only tried the breakfast place. The buffet selections did not look great so I ordered off the menu. Also not a lot of choices, but my Denver scramble was excellent. This will be our primary choice when flying out of San Jose Airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
GlenEllentraveler,

Thank you so much for positive comments about our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for future stays.

Safe Travels,
Matthew L. Ives
Director of Front Office Operations
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Not my best experience. Luke warm water to bathe in. A snippy receptionist. My coworkers placed a call for help that was never answered. The would love to have you think they are top of the line as long as they don't have to exert any effort to prove it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Kathy P,

Thank you for feedback about your stay. I look forward to talk more over email about your stay. This is not the standard we have set for our team and I personal look forward to assisting you with your concerns. We hope to welcome you back on future stays.

Yours in Service,
Matthew L. Ives
Director of Front Office Operation
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was the top bidder at a charity event on this one night stay at the Double Tree, which included credit for $75 for dinner at the hotel. It was a wonderful stay. The hotel is beautiful and the service was excellent. The dinner and service was excellent, however, it was expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Susan R,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your Dinner in Spencer's and your stay with us. Personal, Spencer's is one of my favorite places to eat in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours in Service,
Matthew L. Ives
Director of Front Office Operations
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Fourche, South Dakota, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The room was a decent size and beds were comfortable. The maid didn't come the second day we were there? We were a little late leaving the room but were out of there by 12. I don't travel too much the last couple years so maybe this isnt unussual, but I have never been charged to park my car at the hotel I was staying at. Beings so I thought charging me $19 a night to park was ridiculous. This is to park in a lot that is not close to the front doors. Then when I get to the room I pay $14.95 for internet access for 3 days to find out it is only good for one device. Just too bad about the extra charges. $120 a night for a regular double room is not cheap. Didn't expect to have to pay another $72 for things I ussually get for free.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Angie L,

Thank you for your honest review of your recent stay with us. I apologize for your housekeeping experince. I will be sure to follow with our housekeeping manager to ensure this does not happen during future stays with us.

At our hotel, we like to provide a personalized experience for each of our guests, but also look for ways to keep costs low while providing comfort and convenience. We appreciate your feedback and we’ll keep it in mind as we work to make our services better.

Yours in Service,
Matthew L. Ives
Director of Front Office Operations
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Address: 2050 Gateway Place, San Jose, CA 95110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Silicon Valley location, Doubletree Hotel San Jose is close to the San Jose Airport and a short drive from Downtown or Santana Row. Doubletree boasts the largest guest rooms as well as 48,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space. This hotel is the perfect destination for family travel, corporate meetings, or an elegant wedding. Friendly staff and a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in make it feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Doubletree San Jose
San Jose Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.