We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nickle and Dime Type of Hotel - Not Impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2050 Gateway Place, San Jose, CA 95110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, United States
1 review
“Nickle and Dime Type of Hotel - Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a hotel that is in the city of San Jose, CA - NOT San Francisco or New York. To top it off it is literally right next to the airport, not even located in a nice area of the city. Yet this hotel was acting (and charging) like they were in a big city, great location. I travel for business often and typically stay at Hilton chains. I've NEVER had to pay for parking, internet or have a 22% uptick PLUS $4 to get room service. I felt like this hotel was trying to drip every dollar out of me. Not impressed and will not go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Samantha B,

I’m very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we apologize for letting you down. I'd also like to apologize if you were not made aware of our parking and internet charges at your time of booking. I will be sure to keep your feedback in mind as we're always working to improve our overall guest experience. I thank you for your review and I really hope you'll give us a second chance if your travels bring you back to our area.

Matthew Ives
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    451
    308
    143
    56
See reviews for
196
170
180
749
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have stayed at numerous Hilton properties. Double Tree appears to be the spiraling down in quality. I stayed here for 2 days and could have stayed home since it was a local business. Key card consistently did not work. Very annoying since my meeting location , room and front desk was miles away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
1AKA_VS,

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel We apologize for the issues you experienced with your key card and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.

Best Regards,
Matthew Ives
Director of Front Office
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel is not worth the money. The rooms are fairly large which is nice but they are dated and in need of renovation. They charge extra for wifi which annoys me since the room was over $200 and parking was $20 a night. The tub was cracked with stains and the ceiling had dust bunnies in all the vents and some mold in corners of the drop ceiling. Ick. The parts that housekeeping kept up with was clean however. It was mainly the upkeep of the place. Given the price, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Julie,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We'd like to apologize that you were not made aware of our internet and parking charges. We appreciate all of your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve on our guest experience. We hope you’ll give us a second chance if your travels bring you back to our area in the future.

Best Regards,
Matthew Ives
Director of Front Office
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

for the price it was a good experience. there were no firm or extra firm pillows, though I had 12 pillows on 2 qween beds. Speaking of beds. when I arived I asked for a high floor. they initally stated that the rate I paid put me on the first floor but were able to switch me to a double bed (qweens) for the same rate on the 7th of 9 floors. Though there was wireless in the room they also has a wired connection but it was not functional. I would have prefered a wired connection in the room but I made due with wireless.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Good place. Parking was easy and the location is great. Service was good as well. Breakfast buffet is average at best. WIFI is better than average. Parking is tight but ok. I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight in route to SF. We were going to Spend Halloween night at Winchester Mystery House. Hotel personnel printed out MQ map for us with directions. Our room faced the highway, but there was only a little freeway noise. No airplane noise, even though it is close to SJ airport. Had breakfast in the hotel resturant, and it was fine. Hotel is a little dated, but clean and comfortable. Only complaint, price of parking was a bit ridiculous!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Very nice hotel close to airport and Freeways. Grounds are clean. Being in a business district there are not a lot of restaurants around the area but there are a few within the hotel. I would definitely reccomend this hotel and will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Address: 2050 Gateway Place, San Jose, CA 95110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Silicon Valley location, Doubletree Hotel San Jose is close to the San Jose Airport and a short drive from Downtown or Santana Row. Doubletree boasts the largest guest rooms as well as 48,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space. This hotel is the perfect destination for family travel, corporate meetings, or an elegant wedding. Friendly staff and a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in make it feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Doubletree San Jose
San Jose Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.