We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2050 Gateway Place, San Jose, CA 95110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
“Great Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed in the San Jose Double Tree for a week in April for Business. I like the hotel and enjoyed my stay.

The hotel is located just off the 101 freeway, near the airport. Across the street is the Matrix Casino, there is a Denny’s restaurant a short drive away, but there are no other immediate restaurants/shops in the area.

The hotel is very large. It’s surrounded by the parking lot. Parking is $18 per day for self park, and $24 per day for valet. There is a nice size gym on the property with lots of cardio machines and a barbell rack. There is also a nice outdoor pool and jacuzzi in the center of the hotel. There is the “2050" bar and lounge in the lobby, and two restaurants; “Springs” coffee shop, and “Spencers” Steakhouse & Chops.

There is also a crazy expensive gift shop, a small business center with 2 computers and a printer in the lobby with no privacy, and a UPS Store. There is free WIFI in the lobby areas, and the signal is strong. All of the staff were very friendly and professional. You also get a delicious hot chocolate chip cookie upon check-in.

The room was very large, well maintained and nicely decorated. The bed and pillow were very comfortable. The room has a large flat screen HD TV with free HBO and PPV. It also has a comfy chair, desk, iron/board, and coffee maker. It does not have a refrigerator, microwave or safe. The room had WIFI with a strong signal. It is free for Gold Members.

The bathroom was medium sized, with a separate sink/make-up area. It shows a little wear, but it’s well maintained. There is also a low/high flush toilet to help conserve water.

I ate at breakfast at the Springs coffee shop each morning. The buffet is $18 and includes; fruit, cereals, breads, coffee/juice, eggs, bacon/sausage, potatoes, hashbrowns. The food was good, but nothing special.

This was a good business hotel, and I would enjoy staying here again. I would recommend this to my family and friends.

Green Features: They have low/high flush toilets to help conserve water.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    451
    307
    143
    56
See reviews for
196
170
180
748
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
557 reviews 557 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
977 helpful votes 977 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The DoubleTree in San Jose, CA is a brisk 4-5 minute drive from the airport. Check in was very smooth and efficient. My room was on the fourth floor and had two queen beds. The room was clean and the bed and pillows were just firm enough. The balacany faced the highway so not much to like there. There was an outdoor pool that provided several tables and chairs. The ftiness center offered both free weights and machine weights. There is plenty of cardio equipment for use. There is a steak restaurant in the hotel. A fridge in the room would have been nice. The cable TV was okay but it took the channels a long time to appear after flipping through the channels. Updates couled be made to the decor but overall, I would recommend staying here again. Staff is friendly and went out of their way to provide us rides on the shuttle to breakfast and the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very upset about this property. It definitely does not deserve the Hilton brand. The hallways and rooms had a musty smell throughout the hotel. The air vents were filthy with accumulated dust.

I called the front desk because I had no hot water. They said it was because the circulation of the water in the hotel takes time as the boiler was on the 2nd floor. I let the water run for 10 minutes and it was still luke warm.

I tried to use the heat in the room but only got cold air.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
ChrisTCPD,

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.

Yours in Service,

Matthew Ives
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Minuses: Smelly rooms with ancient carpet, cigarette smell coming in under the door. Stupid premium TV channel setup - my cable subscription is far better. Indifferent wait staff at restaurant. Can't actually swim laps into the pool, bad design. 3 bucks for coffee and 3 bucks for juice means you should only order water for breakfast. Positives: Beds comfy. Good breakfast other than add-on charges. This hotel needs a remodel, stop milking the cash cow Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Paul S.

We do everything we can to ensure guests have a comfortable stay-including fresh rooms. I apologize for the unfortunate smell you encountered coming from the hallway. We're actively working with our housekeeping team to identify the root cause and take care of the issue. We're also always reevaluating costs and offerings and will keep your suggestions in mind. We hope you'll come back for a much better experience.

Kind regards,
Matthew Ives
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, CA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was just supposed to be a hotel that was convenient for spending the night after a late evening flight. It was really well staffed, nicely equipped, and very clean. It's not the fanciest, greatest hotel I've ever stayed in, but there is really nothing bad I can say about this property. The bathroom could be updated, but the lighting and sound system was nice. It was also fun having a balcony over the pool and watching people passing by & having fun! This would be a good place to stay if you're away on business or pleasure...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Good location for business and airport access. Fine, large, business style hotel with efficient check in at a busy counter. I found it a bit silly to give me my keycard to the room and then grab me a cookie to go as if to say, "In closing, here's your personal touch!". That's o.k., everyone's doing it these days : ) There is fine dining at this hotel and it is very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las vegas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Clean, friendly, quiet, professional, relaxing and the staff were beyond helpful. Lacks a mini-fridge (odd) but a solid A+ for everything else. I also wish they could send me a couple of those pillows they use on the beds there. They were beyond comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Address: 2050 Gateway Place, San Jose, CA 95110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Silicon Valley location, Doubletree Hotel San Jose is close to the San Jose Airport and a short drive from Downtown or Santana Row. Doubletree boasts the largest guest rooms as well as 48,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space. This hotel is the perfect destination for family travel, corporate meetings, or an elegant wedding. Friendly staff and a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in make it feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Doubletree San Jose
San Jose Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.