We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for a overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2050 Gateway Place, San Jose, CA 95110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
newport, nc
1 review
“Pretty good for a overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

After having a issue with my flight I had to stay over in San Jose for the evening. For a overnight stay it was very convenient. The staff has been friendly and accommodating. The place was very clean. Bed was so comfortable. When I travel DoubleTrees hotels are always my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    441
    298
    142
    54
See reviews for
192
165
180
732
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had drinks on 11/10 & the Martina's were not only bad, but the wait staff didn't seem to care. I asked for the manager whose name was Orlando. He asked if I was staying for dinner which I wasn't. I told him I was returning from vacationing in Santa Teresa the next Saturday and he asked if I would look him up. I didn't expect much, but when I returned tonight, Saturday, Orlando not only recognized me, but ordered complimentary drinks for my entire party. This is how restaurants SHOULD be run; to inspire customer loyalty. Kudos to the Double Tree in San Jose, Costa Rico and especially, Orlando!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at DoubleTree hotels in other locations and been very pleased.

This hotel just isn't up to the normal standard I expect from DoubleTree.

When I ordered dinner from room service, I was kinda put off by the fact that my soda was brought to me in a can without a glass of ice. Just a can of diet coke! So I guess I am supposed to leave my hot meal and go get ice down the hall. I think for $42 for a single meal, they could include a glass of ice. I mean really! Im not ordering from a hotdog vendor on the street. It's room service.

The room is large with a huge closet and bathroom with two sinks and a separate vanity which is nice. But there's a lot of cobwebs on the ceiling and the decor is outdated.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed several days in this hotel for a conference being held there. The hotel rooms are expensive, big and clean, but old and worn off. Despite this, the bed was very comfortable. The hotel has only slow free wifi in the lobby, which was not working on my phone or laptop half of the time. For the one day that I bought the expensive wired internet in my room to finish some urgent work the internet was unbearable slow. Location of the hotel is terrible: it is located in the middle of a business park with nothing around save some restaurants (most of which are closed during the weekend). Luckily there are alternative restaurants around, as the hotel restaurants are very expensive. The only upside location wise is that it is in walking distance from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Claus, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived on late flight and greated with very pleasant desk personnel. They must feel they have to make up for what the guest is about to experience. After that, it was downhill. Parking is very expensive, and parked less than ten hrs. Felt as though we were put in the dungeon section of hotel. Beds were horrible, shower had mold and did not drain, room had a musty smell like it had not been used in a long time, cobwebs in several corners, and carpet was old. Stayed during the month of October, so maybe rooms were being prepared for Halloweeen. The bar was packed and full of loud professionals which didn't bother us since we were going to our room. Breakfast was good and our waitress was pleasant. She seemed to know most of the patrons eating. The hotel is very convenient to airport and you do not hear the air traffic. As a HH member we were entitled to wifi and snacks on the "business traveler" floor. Those rooms must be clean because the business travelers looked well rested at breakfast. The only positives.....convenience,desk clerk and breakfast. Parking is so expensive $18, and hotel is overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is very close to the airport and is thus convenient. However, the rooms are well insulated as I never heard any airport traffic. My room was a decent size.

The downsides are -

- expensive
- pay to park
- restaurants are so-so
- front desk personnel were pleasant, but rest of staff around the hotel was less so
- mold in my shower
- carpeting in my room was thinning
- air filter in ceiling bordered on disgusting
- free wi-fi only in the lobby

You just don't get the feeling that the hotel is hungry for business. It's a conference facility so maybe the hotel feels that it has a captive audience. It's in a bit of a corporate park so now much else around this I had to eat here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Tomjr,

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time.

Matthew Ives
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Went on business. I had checked TA website, and sort of knew what I was in for....

As a Hilton Honors member, I was not given anything, but after I asked, I was told I was entitled to free wi-fi. Great, since I would be working for most ot the time, and didn't bring my computer.

Our first room on the fourth floor had a dirty bathroom. Like a broom did not pick up left overs from the shower. Curly little buggers. My hubby traveling with me, (who never complains) called and asked for a new. 'cleaner' room. We requested the upper business traveler floor. We were accommodated.

The entire hotel was overrun with older (Japanese, I say this only because it might explain behavior) women on a Buddah conference. Loud, rude and rather unfriendly. Constant noise in the halls, doors slamming (worse than kids!).

On the top floor, we had refreshments, that were raided as soon as put out. On our two night stay, we had to call three separate times to have them restock it. Cokes, diet, Sprite, and water. Granola bars, Rice Kripsies treats, and peanuts. Apples, bananas, fruit, coffee and hot water for tea. So, you, see nothing out of ordinary that might be kept downstairs in lobby. ( But people were rude, and selfish loading up there bags.) Not the hotel problem, but more attention to the area would be warrented.

The rooms were outdated, with wear and tear showing on furniture. Outdated bathrooms.

NOT worth the money they are charging!!! But comfortable for mid-priced.

The valet managetr was very helpful with directions, I think his name was Derek. He went above nad beyond in today's current customer service. The younger kids, shrugged their shoulders, but he stepped in.

Would stay somewhere else for the money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Address: 2050 Gateway Place, San Jose, CA 95110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Silicon Valley location, Doubletree Hotel San Jose is close to the San Jose Airport and a short drive from Downtown or Santana Row. Doubletree boasts the largest guest rooms as well as 48,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space. This hotel is the perfect destination for family travel, corporate meetings, or an elegant wedding. Friendly staff and a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in make it feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Doubletree San Jose
San Jose Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.