We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but expected better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2050 Gateway Place, San Jose, CA 95110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location but expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This hotel is centrally located in silicon valley, close to San Jose airport, but due to this you have to pay for parking. Hotel is generally good, staff is helpful, however parts of the hotel are tired (swimming pool for instance) and would really need an upgrade. I had access to executive lounge which is pretty good to take a drink and have light meal, and better than going downstairs for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Taple,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. We appreciate each and every review, both good and bad.

We are pleased to see you were very satisfied with our location in San Jose; the best part of our location is the vicinity to downtown San Jose, along with Santa Clara and so many other towns.

Along with our location, we are happy to see you enjoyed our executive level lounge and our all-around staff. We hope we gave you outstanding service that made you feel comfortable and stress free while staying with us.

Thank you again for the comments and suggestion. We hope you stay with us again very soon.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    494
    342
    156
    63
See reviews for
220
180
185
821
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed this week for three nights. Nice reception - nice staff in fact generally. The room I got - it always seems to be the same one after asking for quiet room is just old and a little bit smelly. Limited hot water on a Sunday. Room service 1/10 - tasteless massive portions I coupd not finish. I would not try to dissuade people from going there but do ask for a better room if you are facing the motorway.

Room Tip: Ask for a uiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Chelmo_Man,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are sorry to hear your stay with us was unsatisfactory. We are sorry that your room felt old and a bit smelly. I have forwarded your review to our Director of Housekeeping to ensure we fix this issue as soon as possible.

We are also sorry to hear your room service was not what you had hoped. I Have forwarded your review to our Director of Food and Beverage to make sure each and every dish that is served is delicious and mouth-watering, as it should be.

We are pleased to see our staff was friendly and nice to you. We strive on treating each and every one of our guests as best as we can.

Again, thank you for writing a review for our hotel. We love receiving feedback so we can fix our issues and be the best hotel that we know and strive to be.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobeor82b
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Rooms were spacious, nice desk area to work from and use of internet in the room. Received a fresh hot cookie when I checked in. Friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear tobeor82b,

Thank you so much for writing a review for our property here in San Jose.

We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our spacious room, nice desk area, and friendly staff. We are also very happy to see you enjoyed our freshly made chocolate chip cookie.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is a good choice for an airport hotel, which is all we anted for a late night arrival from Hawaii and early morning departure. It's very close to the airport and is one of those vast airport conference centers. The rooms are all far away, but the rooms are also spacious and reasonably comfortable. No wi-fi available in the rooms, only in the lobby - and breakfast is not included for the standard rooms, but we'd probably stay there again if we were just passing through again.

Room Tip: They all seem to be about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear polaraubie,

Thank you for taking the time out of your vacation to review our hotel. We understand we take time and we appreciate yours.

We are very happy to see you enjoyed our proximity to the San Jose Airport and we hope you were able to take advantage of our complimentary airport shuttle. We are also happy to see you felt our rooms to be spacious and comfortable. We strive to make every guest feel as if they are in the comfort of their own home.

We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with the amenities that come with a standard room. We do have an amazing “Club Level Room” at a very reasonable price. The Club Level includes complimentary wireless internet access, complimentary breakfast buffet at our Sprigs Restaurant, and many more great amenities.

We hope you enjoyed a great and stress-free vacation and your stay with us was pleasing. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the near future.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Near airport but quiet. Very well managed, beautiful property, clean, extremely well maintained. Most helpful and delightful staff. Couldn't imagine a more convenient place to stay in San Jose, Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Stayed 3 nights Jan 14, 21 & 24 in 3 delightful rooms. Mini Suite & Pool Side rooms with Ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Nevada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The lobby is lovely -- fireplace, large, nice good sized and open lounge area. But you don't usually stay in a hotel because of its lobby -- you really need to get up to your room and work (for business) then eventually sleep. Well, they have decent internet service. They don't provide a real desk chair -- but rather an old dining room type chair. Not conducive to a productive round on the laptop. The rooms are large -- but very dated. Clean. Big flat screen tv and a goodly amount of channels to choose from. The ventiation system needs improving. There is a thermostat on wall, which appears to be informational-only. It has a motion detector on it, so when you are sleeping, guess what? That's right, it is out of your comfort zone. Comfy beds and very nice linens. Their breakfast is decent -- nice assortment of fresh fruits, and the typical steam table offerings. Lastly, parking. $18/day self, and $21/day valet. Maybe they feel they charge what the market will bear. Would I stay here again? Probably not -- why? I can put up with just about all the above except the desk chair -- Still don't get it. Maybe if they ever plan on remodeling. Oh, one more thing -- very cool European toilet -- 2 buttons. Reminded me of a stay in Paris.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear TravelPrincess69,

Thank you for taking the time out of your business travels to write a review. We understand these take time and we are very appreciative.

We are happy to see you enjoyed our lobby and felt the area to be spacious and comforting. We are also very glad you liked our spacious guestroom and you were able to enjoy our brand new HDTV.

We are sorry to hear you did not feel our desk chair was very comfortable. Please, next time, let us know of the issue and we will gladly bring you a more comfortable chair. We would hate to have you feel even the slightest bit uncomfortable, especially when you are working. We are also sorry to hear you had issues with our ventilation system. If you ever have an issue, please call down the to front desk and they will address the issue right away and find the best solution for you.

Lastly, we are sorry you were unhappy with our parking charges. We have an awesome package on our DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose website that I believe you would be very interested in, our “Free of Fees” package, which include a standard guestroom, free overnight parking, and free internet. We have a bunch of great packages that we encourage you to look that.

Again, thank you for the review; we appreciate the feedback, both good and bad. We hope you stay with us again in the near future. We will be going through a renovation in 2013 and hope your view of our property is changed to a great memory.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed overnight at this hotel and will not stay at this hotel again for the following reasons:

1) Self parking costs $18/night
2) Room was dated
3) Heater did not function. I called the front desk and they stated that they would have maintenance come up to check it. Maintenance never came up and I finally fell asleep in the cold room.
4) Very noisy. Doors slammed very louding when guests left their rooms. This occurred midnite through 2am. I would get startled every time a door slammed and I can even feel the doors slamming.
5) I informed the front desk about the heater not working and maintenance not showing up and also recommended that they install some type of device to make sure the doors didn't slam; thus, keeping guests from sleeping restful. I was not offered any consolation.

Room Tip: I do not recommend room 529.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Gaffer2010,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We understand these take time and we appreciate yours.

We are so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We understand your frustration with the non-working heater, and have forwarded your review to our Director of Front Desk and Director of Property Operations to ensure our staff deals with each and every issue that may occur during the duration of your stay.

We are sorry that our doors were very loud during the middle of the night. The reason why the doors close so strongly is to ensure the safety and security of each of our guests. I have informed our General Manager of this and we are trying to find a solution that will soften the door closing, but still keeping the security aspect of the issue.

Again, thank you for the review, we are very appreciative of the feedback. The best way to fix any problems are to first have knowledge of it, and we thank you for informing us of these issues.

We really hope you stay with us again in the near future and we can change your bad experience into a great memory.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#17 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
9.4 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#8 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
3.5 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Address: 2050 Gateway Place, San Jose, CA 95110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Silicon Valley location, Doubletree Hotel San Jose is close to the San Jose Airport and a short drive from Downtown or Santana Row. Doubletree boasts the largest guest rooms as well as 48,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space. This hotel is the perfect destination for family travel, corporate meetings, or an elegant wedding. Friendly staff and a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in make it feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Doubletree San Jose
San Jose Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.