We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sainte Claire

Save Saved
You added The Sainte Claire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sainte Claire
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   302 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113 (Formerly Hyatt Sainte Claire)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 72 hotels in San Jose
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was only here for one night, seeing a concert at Civic Auditorium (practically across the road), but found it a very nice experience. Yes, some of the features are a little dated, but that's to be expected in a historical hotel, and my room seemed like it had been updated fairly recently. It certainly wasn't dirty! The bed was probably the best thing - I slept like a log.

Location-wise, it's not bad - there's a light rail stop basically right outside which connects to the train station (it's the Convention Center stop, NOT Civic Center, Civic Center is a very different place to Civic Auditorium!).

A few downsides - the room service was incredibly expensive, so I got breakfast after I left, and the heating was extremely loud (I eventually turned it off and just bundled up under my blankets). But generally, it's a comfortable, pleasant location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    91
    46
    24
    22
See reviews for
23
53
29
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

About all I can say good about this hotel is that it is well located and has friendly service. But rooms have a Motel 6 feel. Small, dark and musty. Uncomfortable bed. Kind of a dingy feel all the way around. Not very business friendly. I'm surprised to see it gets 4 stars in TA

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I always stay here when I am in San Jose for business. It is a wonderful historical hotel with a wonderful staff. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The hotel is right in the center of downtown, along the central park. Museums and restaurants all within walking distance. The hotel has a great boutique feel! The only negative, both times I have stayed here the fire alarm went off around 2 AM.
Also, free wi-fi!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back and higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

I found this hotel through Priceline, it was one of 2 four star hotels showing up in the downtown San Jose area. The hotel is in a good location, directly across from the Hilton and close to the Hyatt. It's clearly more of a large boutique hotel which is why I chose it. My biggest complaint was lack of counter space in the bathroom which is one of my biggest pet peeves. Also when booking on their website pay close attention to fare rules. I just quickly booked the lowest rate (didn't check any boxes or anything) and wound up booking a government/military rate. I found this annoying as most websites require someone to specifically indicate they are eligible for such a discount. Therefore after figuring it out the room rate was an additional $50 per night. My fault for not paying more attention but I have never had that problem at another hotel. I wouldn't book this hotel again but will stay at the Hyatt or Marriott.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this place. I'll be honest.

It is an elegant hotel, with great charm. However, everything in this hotel is HISTORIC. With that, I'm referring to cracked wall paint, dingy and outdated elevator, damaged bath tub, the wooden bathroom counter is chipped and cracked, and the carpet must be original.

My room has the loudest vent I have ever experienced. And at the very moment that I'm writing this review, my next door neighbor is having a conversation at noise level, in Korean which I can hear vividly.

In terms of noise, the I hear the traffic outside, the music from the bar across the street and the train when it comes by.

With all that said and done, my room is clean. Not sparkling clean, but clean enough. The staff has been nice.

It's a great 3 star hotel, but most definitely not a 4 star hotel as advertised. I don't like the area it's located in either. Downtown San Jose is not the safest place or the most social. This place is 7 miles away from Santana Row which is the popular shopping district out here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Brittany and Belladonna are amazing! They were friendly and very accommodating. Thanks for all you help and movie recommendations :). Other than the freak fire alarm and flashing lights it was great.
Stevan.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Everything about this charming property....loved it. Service from front desk, particularly William, phenomenal....outstanding and above and beyond friendly. We had stayed only once before but were made to feel like regular clients!

Close to everything, comfortable bed, and quiet at night. The nice thing about a smaller boutique style property is that there isnt the usual all too bust front desk scene going on. Older style rooms, the junior suite is perfect for two providing a bit more elbow room.
Definitely will return, hopefully Westin doesn't take the charm away from this unique property.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sainte Claire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sainte Claire

Address: 302 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113 (Formerly Hyatt Sainte Claire)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sainte Claire 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sainte Claire is one of California’s genuine grand landmarks – a stately hotel with majestic, plush interiors situated in the heart of downtown San Jose. This landmark embraces the character of yesteryear and greets the innovators of tomorrow with luxurious modern amenities and timeless service, from complimentary wireless high speed internet to the full service business center and the knowledgeable Concierge. Additionally, the hotel offers signature amenities, including L’Occitane bath and body products, and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Relaxing and comfortable, yet inspiring and sophisticated – The Sainte Claire truly offers the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Sainte Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sainte Claire Hotel San Jose
Larkspur Collection Sainte Claire
Larkspur Collection San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sainte Claire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.