We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sainte Claire charming, but sadly not paranormal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sainte Claire

Save Saved
You added The Sainte Claire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Sainte Claire
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   302 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113 (Formerly Hyatt Sainte Claire)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 72 hotels in San Jose
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sainte Claire charming, but sadly not paranormal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had a great stay at the Sainte Claire. The staff were friendly and helpful, my room was clean and pretty and the lobby and meeting rooms were really nice. I loved the feel of history in the hotel and the location and price were great. I just have two complaints. One is that yes, the rooms aren't super soundproof to the street, which is to be expected in an older place. I did hear the light rail from my room, but as an urban dweller myself it wasn't that distressing. But if you're sensitive to noise mention it or bring some white noise.

Second, one of the reviews here on Travelocity promised ghosts. I was out quite late and so I was rambling about the hallways well into the witching hours and there was not so much as a peep, no weird chills, no wispy visions and no strange noises. Not so much as a bad dream. So really, if you're looking for haunted houses I wouldn't count on seeing anything odd here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    87
    42
    23
    19
See reviews for
22
49
29
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The bed was bliss, window opened and everything worked and was in top notch condition! The food was fresh and fabulous, coffee was superb and the staff were. Incredibly helpful and kind. Situated blocks from everything in San Jose, this hotel is the perfect boutique hotel environment.

Room Tip: Top two floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My room was comfortable, but I was disappointed. The TV picture was fuzzy and hard to watch. I forgot my deodorant and when I checked with the front desk, they informed me that they were out and I had to walk 4 blocks in the rain to the nearest Walgreen's. Ugh!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I basically spent a night here for my birthday, intended to be a safe, nearby place to crash without having to drive home under the influence. I didn't get to enjoy much of the hotel's amenities to say the least.

The rooms are relatively modern, equipped with Wi-Fi, nice sheets, and wonderful L'Occitane toiletries. As many reviewers note, it is quite a noisy location for a hotel. New Yorkers would scoff at such comments, though, and keeping the fan running all night helped white noise-out a lot of the city/hotel soundtrack.

The bathroom is just darling, what with the sky painted onto the ceiling. I know for some it might feel like a colonic spa, but I enjoyed the wood appointments, the tiled floors, and nicely-pressured shower. Oh and those toiletries. Also yes.

My criticisms are hard to level, because it fits to a T that hotel at California Adventure with the elevator ride, down to the font they use on their signage. And for some reason I find it spooky, charming, and kitschy. I'd bring earplugs next time and perhaps some NyQuil. Business travelers might be better served at the Marriott across the street, or the Hilton a few blocks down. But for those looking for a bit of history (and looking to put up with a few service/facilities hiccups here and there), the Sainte Claire is a lore-filled landmark sure to tickle your nostalgia and/or ghost humor.

Room Tip: Ask about the Montgomery Suite. It's hidden between the lobby and the first floor. It runs $700...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Very lovely hotel with cozy lobby and Il Fornaio restaurant. That means that you can order excellent room service - the desert list alone is 8 items.

The hotel is right across from the Fairmont; Tech museum, etc. Great downtown location.

The windows open a little bit, but there's air conditioning. The furnishings, etc. are of a 4 star hotel. Not as fancy as the Fairmont, but very nice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Freakishly haunted hotel. I'm sorry, it's not the service that is bad here. I think the hotel does a fine job of running the place...HOWEVER. This hotel is DEFINITELY haunted. I should preface by saying that I had never before thought spirits or ghosts were part of this world. I now have an entirely different perspective after staying 7 nights at this hotel.

The first 3 nights I stayed, I literally could NOT fall asleep. Not exactly sure why, lots of odd noises, creaking hallways, things dropping next door etc.. No big deal, but I switched rooms all three nights and never slept soundly.

I came back 2 months later for a 4 night stay, requesting the quietest room possible. They checked me into room 602, the very end of the hallway next to the freight elevator on the top floor.

Again, I had trouble falling asleep at night, and was often awaken during the night by strange disturbances...the TV chiming on and off, the bathroom light flickering on and off (motion sensored), and even one of my toiletries falling from the shelf in the middle of the night. Sure these were annoying, but I never attributed any of it to paranormal activity...until my last night.

At around 4:30a, I woke up to use the bathroom. As I came back into bed and started to drift back to sleep, I was suddenly full awakened by a fierce chill in the air, and every hair on my body standing straight up, goosebumps, chills, heart-racing. My arms sunk into the bed as if someone had slid their way on top of me, pushing against my torso into the bed. Something was pressing against my body on top of me. I didn't dare open my eyes, but could see the figure of a ghost illuminated in front of my face through my eyelids (if that makes sense). It gripped me tightly and wanted me to open my eyes and recognize her existence. When I finally broke free, she had left. Completely rattled, I figured this must have been a nightmare. I sat in bed for about 45 minutes and finally picked up my phone to get my mind off the experience and read email. What I found instead was 3 text messages from my coworker who had experienced the SAME visitor in his room within 30 minutes of my encounter.

Needless to say, I won't be back by choice to this hotel. I hope that others can stay and have an amazing experience, but for me, the ghosts, noisy rooms, uncomfortable beds, and overall lack of cleanliness will prevent me from coming back.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing the street, it's very noisy. All rooms have paper thin walls, so hope n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed here for a work event. My room faced the light rail train and it was noisy all night long. It woke me up at 3:30am and I couldn't go back to sleep. I entered my room at 9:30pm and had to work a little and didn't get into the bed until 11:30pm. I get in the sheets and there were crumbs in the bed - like they had made the bed but didn't replace the sheets. It grossed me out a bit and I was too tired to call down and change rooms.

They then charged me $2.71 for a bottled wated that I didn't drink. I called to get this fixed and was accussed by the billing department that I drank the water and should be charged for it. After a bit of arguing, I hopefully got him to credit me back (I have yet to get the credit at the time of this review).

I can't believe all the reviews that this hotel is getting because it wasn't the greatest hotel for the price. The location is convenient for the downtown San Jose area but I would stay somewhere else for the price. Front desk staff was courteous but I didn't read reviews prior to my stay and wished I had asked for a quiet room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sainte Claire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sainte Claire

Also Known As:
The Sainte Claire Hotel
The Sainte Claire Hotel San Jose
Larkspur Collection Sainte Claire
Larkspur Collection San Jose
Address: 302 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113 (Formerly Hyatt Sainte Claire)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sainte Claire 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sainte Claire is one of California’s genuine grand landmarks – a stately hotel with majestic, plush interiors situated in the heart of downtown San Jose. This landmark embraces the character of yesteryear and greets the innovators of tomorrow with luxurious modern amenities and timeless service, from complimentary wireless high speed internet to the full service business center and the knowledgeable Concierge. Additionally, the hotel offers signature amenities, including L’Occitane bath and body products, and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Relaxing and comfortable, yet inspiring and sophisticated – The Sainte Claire truly offers the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Sainte Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sainte Claire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.