We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great service, wonderful food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sainte Claire

Save Saved
You added The Sainte Claire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sainte Claire
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   302 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113 (Formerly Hyatt Sainte Claire)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 72 hotels in San Jose
Milpitas, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, great service, wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Last weekend was my granddaughter's 8th birthday and she wanted to spend the night in what she described as "The most beautiful, fancy hotel I've ever seen!" We were in for such a treat! Everyone from the doorman, to the restaurant staff, to room service to the wonderful front desk person, William, treated us like royalty. The room was beautiful and the bed, Oh-so-comfy!

We will be back!
Grammy Debbie

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    97
    49
    25
    23
See reviews for
24
54
29
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were staying at the Sainte Claire for several days for a family wedding. The hotel is in a decent location, a short walk to several museums and next to the convention center. The rooms were clean, although they were very inconsistent as far as size and layout. For example, several of us in the family booked "junior suites". One junior suite was barely any larger than the "standard" room, it was hard to know why it should cost more. One junior suite (next door to the other one!) was almost the size of one of the executive suites that another friend was staying in. Another junior suite was also on the small side, and laid out in such a way that the only way to watch TV would be to stand next to the window - no way to really watch it from the bed or easy chair comfortably. It seems that the hotel should perhaps find a better way of classifying the rooms so you know what you are getting when you book. The beds were OK - they had a nice pillowtop, but seemed very sensitive to any movement (ie, if your partner moves at all in the night, the whole bed shakes). The bathrooms were also quite small. As others have mentioned, the walls are quite thin, and the fan/AC/heater is rather loud (although we found that setting the fan to stay on continuously provided good "white noise" to drown out sounds from outside).
The staff in the lobby was quite friendly and helpful, and the waiters at dinner were great. However, the servers at breakfast were almost nonexistent - good luck getting a coffee refill!

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room, or at least one that does not face the street where the trolley runs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Charming, clean, up-to-date room in a classic old hotel...but street noise was an issue even in my room on the 6th floor. Music from the nightclub at the Marriott across the street was audible until well after midnight, and the streetcar started ringing its bell as it rounded the corner starting at about 4:30 a.m. Wish I had know that interior rooms are an option.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room -- something away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I stayed there for business this week. The staff is first class, everybody was very nice. Valet parking only.. that is fine.. but $21 per day you might as well add to the price of your overall stay.
The king bed I had was fantastic.
The bathroom was tiny.
I did have an interior room, so noise was not a problem. If you are staying on the interior side, you want a room on teh 5th or 6th floor.

Lobby was fantastic, decor was nice, location some nightlife was good. Downtown San Jose is very very nice. seemed to be very safe.

Wireless Internet was fantastic. It worked super all through out the hotel. I had the same connection in my room and in the meeting area.

Room Tip: I had interior... view is bad, but less noise than street side... go for a room on the 5th or 6th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

The lobby and overall atmosphere are very nice but practically speaking, this is not a great place to stay. The hotel is very old so the rooms are small. Also, if you get a room with a street view you will hear the trolly passing by all night long. If you stay here, ask for an interior room. That being said, it is a great location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed at the Sainte Claire for a week for a business trip because the usual hotel I stay at was fully booked. As I checked in, they offered me a free upgrade because of the length of my stay - very impressed. The King size room is a bit bigger than the standard room. It has a king bed, a sofa and a desk with a little fridge. Again, the rooms have a very classic look and feel. Everything was very clean and I didn't have any issues with noise as stated in some of the other reviews. The beds are very comfortable but they went a bit overboard with the heavy duvet and cover - I thought I was going suffocate under such heavy blankets. The air conditioning is quite noisy when it turns on every 5 minutes. My other minor complaint is the lack of in-room entertainment system (pay per view movies). They have a DVD library at the front desk. I guess this goes with the old style thing... The free WiFi was quite fast and stable. The location is fine - walking distance to many restaurants, bars, Safeway and theater.

Despite the above minor issues, I enjoyed my stay and I got a much better rate than at the other large downtown hotels. Great value!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

My family and I booked two rooms for New Year's Eve even though we live locally. We have eaten many times at their restaurant, Il Fornaio, which we love so we decided to stay overnight for New Year's Eve because we love the quiet elegance and the old world flavor. Last year we stayed at another hotel that is much newer down the street and it was a complete zoo - people reserving one room (and inviting 10 friends to spend the night). People standing in the check in line with huge rolling coolers. And the noise level was incredible. Back to the Saint Claire - friendly, extremely helpful staff especially the front desk manager. He couldn't do enough for us. He provided a list of free DVDs (great selection and lots of current releases) to check out. He helped us get some sodas and snacks without having to call room service, and when we checked out, he even gave us a package of nuts as a parting gift which was so sweet of him. We felt so special. The rooms are comfortable with a flat screen tv, DVD player, wifi, comfortable beds and a window that you could open and enjoy fresh air. The bathroom had a painted sky with stars painted on the ceiling. We enjoyed the elegant lobby and sitting room with the big comfy chairs and sofas. And most of all, in spite of a wedding taking place in the ballroom, we enjoyed the quiet. It was so relaxing. Christmas in the Park is situated right across the street and we had fun walking around the various displays. The movie theaters are very close and we enjoyed the walk. The room has a small refrigerator where we stored our champagne until midnight. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Great pricing and a great elegant and classy hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the street to get a good view of the city and the lights at night. The str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sainte Claire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sainte Claire

Address: 302 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113 (Formerly Hyatt Sainte Claire)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sainte Claire 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sainte Claire is one of California’s genuine grand landmarks – a stately hotel with majestic, plush interiors situated in the heart of downtown San Jose. This landmark embraces the character of yesteryear and greets the innovators of tomorrow with luxurious modern amenities and timeless service, from complimentary wireless high speed internet to the full service business center and the knowledgeable Concierge. Additionally, the hotel offers signature amenities, including L’Occitane bath and body products, and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Relaxing and comfortable, yet inspiring and sophisticated – The Sainte Claire truly offers the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Sainte Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sainte Claire Hotel San Jose
Larkspur Collection Sainte Claire
Larkspur Collection San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sainte Claire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.