We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sainte Claire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sainte Claire to your Saves list
The Sainte Claire
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   302 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113 (Formerly Hyatt Sainte Claire)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Whitefish, Montana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed here on a business trip for a week. The room was comfortable; the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was small, but very cute. I loved the painted, recessed ceiling. The traffic noise, flights and surface streets, was minimal.

I ate breakfast everyday at Il Forino. It was prepared well, plated well, and served with distinction. Wonderful start to my mornings.

The hotel has a charm that takes you back to a time when people socialized in sport coats and evening dresses. The decor is well kept and the staff was gracious.

My only complaint would be that parking is difficult and there was a bit of a wait to have the car brought up from valet.

I would stay there again. I would not recommend kids here.

Room Tip: Rooms face a garden "type" area or they face other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    104
    51
    25
    26
See reviews for
26
58
30
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

i've been using TripAdvisor to help me plan vacations and business travel for years. this is the first time i've ever written a review. i feel compelled to write because i don't want folks who travel for business to san jose to have the experience i had. the walls are thin -- i hear even low conversations next door. the lights in the bathroom are on motion detector -- in the middle of the night you get blasted by bright interrogation lights. room is small. trolley noise wakes you up. room service decidedly average. you can do better.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, OR
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

the rooms were mostly updated. The bed was very comfortable, along with the pillows. The room is not large, but sufficient. There was a desk work area with complimentary internet, which was nice. The bathroom was a bit small, with an older tub, wood counters and recessed ceiling with bird mural. This is part of the historic charm of a vintage hotel. But must realize that it also comes with thinner walls and expect a bit more noise. I had hoped for a early check in at 1:30, but was told that it was not possible til the official check in at 3, which was fair, but was not actually allowed to check in until 4 as rooms weren't ready. Overall, I would rate the hotel at 4. It's conveniently next to convention center and the light rail line. there are a number of restaurants around as it is in downtown San Jose.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This hotel was a real treat! The service as soon as I got there was outstanding. Courtesy from the bellman to the check-in. The hotel has obviously gone through a remodel but it has kept some of the unique aspects of it's past like the old mail drop by the elevator, the ceiling in the room bathroom was raised with a painting of the sky and two birds flying, the counters in there were wooden, there was a green man tile above the showerhead, in the room I had huge windows that looked out over the city and that had decorated facades outside. The room was small but how much room do you really need to sleep as a one or two person traveller. And the restaurant was fantastic. Our bartender came out to greet us (we were seated in the bar) and the drinks were made with fresh mashed fruit. We ordered apps and were surprised at how flavorful they were. We sat and talked for hours and the bartender brought us his faveorite dessert on the house. It was a very welcoming and unique feeling place to stay. I will stay there again should I ever be in town again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed here with my husband so we could visit the Winchester Mystery House (I wrote a review of my disappointment under that attraction). We enjoyed the hotel and it felt like a lovely, historically significant building and I truly enjoyed it. If you want uber-modern don't stay here. If you enjoy vintage luxury select this hotel. I even had a lovely time reading near the fire in the lobby while my husband took his time getting ready to head out. I was impressed with the mattress and bedding and fell in LOVE with the amazing pillows. Seriously, they are the best I have ever slept on.

The St. Claire is easy walking distance of several things to do and we took advantage of the chance to keep the car parked as we took in the area. Do be aware that the area appears to be transitional. Parts are quite chic and upper crust while there is a seedy underbelly that is peaking it's head through the veil from time to time. There appears to be a significant population of mentally ill and drug abusing homeless in pockets nearby. While there we witnessed two fights break out and had one mentally ill lady chase us down the street until we went into a small bodega style grocery. I wouldn't say stay totally clear, just be advised to pay attention.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

It is positioned to be the premium hotel but it is quite run-down and needs a lot of updating. Bathrooms are in dire need of that. Carpets are all dusty. If you include the price of the parking it gets to Marriot price. Beds are also uncomfortable and AC is in the room and so unbelievably noisy, just blasts loudly. Overall, cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Wanted to choose Dolyce mansion, but decided to choose this instead for an exceptional offer on expedia.

Anyway, we werent disappointed. The place is great after the refurbishment... The bed is soft and great. The room is spacious and my wife was excited over the Loccitane products...

Parking is not free, but we have no problems with that.

If I need to attend a convention in San Jose, Sainte Claire it will be...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sainte Claire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sainte Claire

Address: 302 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113 (Formerly Hyatt Sainte Claire)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sainte Claire 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sainte Claire is one of California’s genuine grand landmarks – a stately hotel with majestic, plush interiors situated in the heart of downtown San Jose. This landmark embraces the character of yesteryear and greets the innovators of tomorrow with luxurious modern amenities and timeless service, from complimentary wireless high speed internet to the full service business center and the knowledgeable Concierge. Additionally, the hotel offers signature amenities, including L’Occitane bath and body products, and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Relaxing and comfortable, yet inspiring and sophisticated – The Sainte Claire truly offers the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Sainte Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sainte Claire Hotel San Jose
Larkspur Collection Sainte Claire
Larkspur Collection San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sainte Claire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.