We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Silicon Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sainte Claire

Save Saved
You added The Sainte Claire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sainte Claire
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   302 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113 (Formerly Hyatt Sainte Claire)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 72 hotels in San Jose
los angeles, california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Silicon Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have to travel to the South Bay for work quite often and even though this hotel is a longer commute from my office, I always stay here because of the charm, the amazing beds and the helpful staff. And unlike most places in the South Bay, you can walk to several cute bars and restaurants and not have to deal with driving. It's an old beautifully restored hotel that is even on the registry of National Historic Places. I recommend getting a room on the 6th floor where the large windows are just lovely.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    91
    46
    24
    22
See reviews for
23
53
29
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for three days. We were quoted a more expensive rate than my friends, who we were traveling with, and on a promotional fare (3rd night free). I was then given a city view room on the third floor overlooking a red light and the Marriott---where I will be staying the next time I am in San Jose. Nice lobby…smaller rooms with paper thin walls---I was talking on my cell phone one morning to the pounding on the wall by my neighbor. The Italian restaurant had decent food but terrible service. This is a case of the hotel looking very nice but just being adequate.

Room Tip: Avoid the
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milpitas, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We held our fundraising event at the Sainte Claire as well as staying Friday night. The staff was wonderful, awesome! From reservations, to catering, to front desk and everywhere inbetween. We staying in the same room as our wedding night so many years ago and the specialness was still there.
Thank you Elizabeth, Hilary, Raul and the band of merrymen/women that not only made our event great but our stay as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

My wife and I purchased a standard king bed room through a Living Social special offer for a one-night stay on our honeymoon at the Sainte Claire. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to the Montgomery Suite which apparently rents for $620/night for free. The hotel was exceptionally accommodating, breakfast was good, the location was great and the staff were very helpful with the location and things in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisun City, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

The room was clean, the service was great. Ordered my deal through Livingsocial.com. However, I plan to use the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

My co-worker and I stayed at the St. Claire for a hairshow this weekend. I have never stayed in San Jose before and wanted to make sure we were close to the event because, being 2 women in a town you've never been in can be a little scary! This hotel was right across the street from the McCreery Convention Center and downstairs in the hotel is one of our FAVORITE restaurants Il Fornaio! Althought there isn't a regular parking entryway when you pull up, the valet was right there to direct us where to go (and parking was ONLY $21 a night!!!). The hotel itself is like walking back in time, it is BEAUTIFUL! It is VERY clean and the rooms were so elegant. The bathroom had a handpainted "skylight" effect which also was very cool. There is a place downstairs to sit and listen to piano, watch tv, sit and have a drink, there is an exercise room and plenty of space to have a big event, oh and we could actually SLEEP, usually i hear kids running around or the walls are thin and you can hear the people next door, the hotel was basically booked and I didn't hear a peep! Staff was so nice and polite, I wish we could have stayed longer! Thanks again St. Claire!

Room Tip: i called the hotel direct and got $30 off
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mostly CA, some FL & UT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

The property is elegant, beautifully restored, the staff were friendly and efficient, the room was not particularly large, but spacious and well-appointed. There is free internet (big on my list), coffee, and even a big bowl of Bit-o-Honey at registration. Not much bad I can say – except …

I was offered, and opted for, a city-view room, which I was forewarned was a bit noisy due, in particular, to the trolley system that runs through town. Little did I know, that would be the least of it.

After a nice dinner with a colleague at the hotel restaurant, the Italian one (quite good for a chain), I removed the 7000 pillows from the bed and tucked in. the noise was, indeed, sleep-disrupting, but it had nothing to do with the sounds o’ the city. The guy (I assume it was a guy, though I really can’t be sure) in the room next to me was snoring so audibly as to be heard through the walls, and, ultimately, through the pillows (thankfully there were plenty of them) that I piled on my head. To no avail … I could not get the din sufficiently muffled to induce slumber (and I am not a particularly light sleeper) - this was some kind of all-penetrating sound that the military might want to explore.

I was surprised at first that walls of such an old well-constructed property would be so thin. But then as I reflected more (I had a lot of time for reflection, not sleeping and all …) I figured that this could not be the hotel’s fault. This guy was a world-champion snorer. He had the full gamut of sounds, gasps, wheezes, gulps, chainsaw, tuba, freight train … you get the idea. A breathe right nasal strip was not going to cut it for this guy … he was a serious candidate for laser-assisted uvulopalatoplasty (no, not a doctor, I googled that), which, I think, is like the rotor-rooter of the nasal passages. When he actually did stop for a minute or two, I became fearful that he had expired from obstructive sleep apnea. My fears were soon allayed as the orchestra began a-new. The passing trolleys provided enough of a respite for me to ultimately catch a wink or two.

So, well, this is not an indictment on the hotel … it is fine. But I know from nearly 25 years on-the-road that every once in a while there is an experience so ‘interesting’ it negates the comfort of even the most luxurious hotel. My employer is undoubtedly happy – I got a lot of work done in eight hours of not-sleeping.

Room Tip: Get the city view ... ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sainte Claire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sainte Claire

Address: 302 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113 (Formerly Hyatt Sainte Claire)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sainte Claire 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sainte Claire is one of California’s genuine grand landmarks – a stately hotel with majestic, plush interiors situated in the heart of downtown San Jose. This landmark embraces the character of yesteryear and greets the innovators of tomorrow with luxurious modern amenities and timeless service, from complimentary wireless high speed internet to the full service business center and the knowledgeable Concierge. Additionally, the hotel offers signature amenities, including L’Occitane bath and body products, and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Relaxing and comfortable, yet inspiring and sophisticated – The Sainte Claire truly offers the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Sainte Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sainte Claire Hotel San Jose
Larkspur Collection Sainte Claire
Larkspur Collection San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sainte Claire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.