We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and extremely helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown to your Saves list
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   282 Almaden Boulevard, San Jose, CA 95113 (Formerly Convention Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel and extremely helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt for an event our company was running. The food was excellent and very well priced. Staff at the desk were very friendly and happy to help. Great atmosphere around the place.

Rooms were well presented and well kept. The facilities are clean and modern. I would recommend staying here on business or for pleasure.

Special mention to both Jose and Norberto. Great guys and extremely helpful members of staff. Always on hand to help out and assisted me with anything I needed. Efficient and always friendly - they made my life much easier! I'll definitely be encouraging my office to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasha S, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Tasha Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    93
    57
    30
    16
See reviews for
36
33
23
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
392 reviews 392 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The skinny:

Parking: covered garage $21/day
Service: friendly
Decor: modern
Sheets: crisp
Towels: ok
Bed: firm
Breakfast: free, lotsa variety

We stayed here one night so that I could attend the Madonna concert. Here are some things you should know:

This hotel is in the direct flight path of landing jets. It will be noisy. While you are close to restaurants, museums, and the convention center- the parking is ridiculously expensive.
Our room was located on the 7th floor and on the convention center side. Keep your drapes closed, the building gets blasted by morning heat and will warm up the room and flood it with light. We liked the spaciousness of the room but the furniture was worn and scratched up. The bathroom is small but clean.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Hyatt is a nice hotel located within walking distance of HP Arena. We stayed there to attend a concert. We were pleased there were many restaurants within a 5 minute walk. The hotel was clean, safe with a nice free breakfast. The only thing lacking, which is minor, they didn’t have a hotel store and no stores nearby like Wal-Green, 7-11 nearby. Overall, a good experience. I would stay there again without hesistation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hi all,

This was a business trip and I stayed for a week. The staff was friendly. The room was nice. The air conditioning was loud which was good because it helped to drown out the noise from the street. Nice large flat screen TV and fridge. No pool...staff advised me I could use the one at the Hilton across the street. Which I actually did use but that pool is a glorified bath tub...smallest pool I've ever seen at a hotel.

You could order food from your room but had to pick it up at the bar. I don't know where it was actually prepared. The food was okay.

The WiFi worked well and I was able to print from my laptop to the business center printer at no charge. However, when I had a question the staff was not up to date on how it worked.

What bothered me was the room was advertised at one price but when you added in the parking fees and various taxes it was around $30 more per night.

One nice thing was the location in reference to the downtown area. Easy walking distance to many restaurants, the tech museum, and convention center.

The breakfast was okay but when they say it will end at ten am they are not kidding. My wife and son stayed the night on Friday. At Saturday breakfast they arrived just at Ten. The staff said goodmorning to them as they sat down. My wife headed towards the plates and the breakfast workers started picking up the food around her!

Overall, I was somewhat disappointed at the overall hotel and experience.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the W. San Carlos St. Side of the hotel. The traffic and train noise will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight here on a business trip.. The rooms have the loudest air conditioning I've ever heard!

They have no room service either..

I would stay here again just because of the air con it made sleeping very difficult.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Right next to the airport and they've done nothing to work with the sound of airplanes flying over. I got two hours of sleep from not just the airplanes, but the noise from other people and cars was horrible. Seven floors up, I should not be hearing that much traffic. The service was poor as well. The people (aside of the reception desk) act offended to help you. Never coming here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorefield, West Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hyatt Place San Jose/downtown was amazing. The staff is friendly and always willing to help. Very nice flat screen TV's in the rooms, also has a hide away mini fridge. Firm beds. Amazing breakfast, free internet and the ability to print free copies from the business center

Room Tip: Try to stay in the odd numbered rooms. The light rail is located on the even side, and if your not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown

Address: 282 Almaden Boulevard, San Jose, CA 95113 (Formerly Convention Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Jose
San Jose Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.