We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to DT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, San Jose Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, San Jose Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 North First Street, San Jose, CA 95112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Close to DT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Booked a room for 3 nights with my wife while vacationing the Bay Area. Very comfortable beds, free breakfast (with lots of selection), microwave and fridge. Air conditioning worked well. Had a balcony facing the Casino but very quiet. Can't even hear the airplanes or traffic. 3 min walk to the light rail transit to take you to down. 3 min drive to freeways. Restaurants and Starbucks in the parking lot. Very nice pool in the centre of the complex. If staying in San Jose area will for sure consider this place.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    94
    41
    22
    6
See reviews for
50
35
41
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Booked the property as it showed an airport shuttle but the shuttle only operates after 8am on Sunday - not really useful for our 6am flight.

Trainee checking us in wasn't sure what to do, gave us 2 bad room cards, and didn't mention my Platinum status - there are better in the area - and when they can't take care of their VERY frequent stayers - good luck.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoda B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear MSGTP,

We appreciate your time in sharing with us your experience. We will definitely look into the hours of our shuttle service during the weekend. We currently have the shuttle service start at 5am on the weekday's and 6am on the weekend's, however during the holiday it may change so we advise out guests to call the hotel directly to get current operating hours of our shuttle service. We appreciate that you are one of our loyal Marriott Platinum Elite guests and have chosen to stay with us, I will definitely ensure that I share your comments to my staff so that they are aware of what we need to work on to be able to provide exceptional customer service to all future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel is not far from SJ airport (but so is most of the city center). This does not seem to generate any special noise though. Not in walking distance from mid downtown. There are a few small food places right in front of the lobby (Starbucks etc.), some of which are closed in the evening. Due to the great freeway network you're still several minutes from everywhere.

When we checked in we received keys to a room that was already occupied. I guess mistakes happen. The receptionist apologized and the matter was settled quickly.

Some unwanted noises included the fridge in the room, and walking of the neighbors in the room above us. There was also a single incident of some unidentified whistling device for one minute in the middle of the night (was it the alarm clock that we never touched? The fridge again? who knows). Altogether I must say things were quite comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: In rooms on the ground floor it's easy to load luggage from your car directly through the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were on a family trip to San Jose, and booked this hotel on a relatively short notice. It was close to our daughters residence, and very convenient. We spent 4 nights here, and it was a pleasant stay. The room was comfortable and clean. It was also quiet, even though there were a number of families with children staying in our wing. The free breakfast is pretty standard hotel fare. Not gourmet, but with a decent selection, and free. I am somewhat of a coffee snob, and fortunately there was a SBUX right across the entrance drive. Since this was a road trip, we found the hotel convenient, and easy to access and to get where we were going. We found the hotel staff to be friendly and knowledgeable. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Nice hotel! Good size pool. Breakfast. Quite good. Had eggs, scrambled and hard boiled, English muffins, pork patties, waffles, cereal, small pastries, good salsa, coffee, tea ect. The two workers continuously brought stuff out so even though some items got wiped out, they were replaced in a timely manner.
Kudos to front desk agent Cheryl. In addition to checking us in she was answering the phone, talking to impatient customers who kept interrupting her like we were invisible or something and she was asking others behind us if they were checking out. All the time smiling and relaxed. I asked her where the other staff was and she said it was ok 'cause she had lunch relief in 1/2 hour.
Rooms were clean and big enough. Nothing special though. Just a SOLID hotel with a friendly staff. For me that's good enough,
Real close to SJC airport. Shuttle service good. Make sure you reserve it with the front desk.
NUFF SAID!

Room Tip: If you can get this hotel under a $150 then I say go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Wife was traveling for work so I tagged along, checked in here because of proximity to her work location for the week. Lou at the front desk was very helpful, on initial check in we were in an outside room with a view of the casino, i asked to have us moved to an inside room and they did so with no problem. Definitely request an inside room when you go here, though still road noise the room view of the pool and lounge area was very nice.

Yes the carpets are dated, the place could probably use a paint job, but for the price in this area i think was a great place to stay.

If i had one complaint it would be the wi fi was horrible. I work in IT and on wireless networks so i am aware of how they set them up. I was constantly being knocked off at the exactly one hour mark, since i was working from the room during the weekdays this was hugely impacting. The signal strength was fine in the room (and at the poolside btw, worked from out there several hours on a different access point with same disconnect issue). so if youre going to be working from hotel, just be ready to deal with disconnects, but other than that i would stay there again definitely.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We were here for only about 8 hours during a long overnight layover, but it was great. Check-in was fast, efficient, and friendly. The person at the front desk gave us the wifi password and info about the shuttle service for the next morning before we even asked. The rooms appear to have been recently renovated and ours was incredibly clean. After two weeks of traveling, this room had absolute best bed and wonderful fluffy pillows. The bathroom also had double sinks, which makes it much easier for two people to get ready quickly. The location is great, too. It's very close to the airport and right outside the door is a Starbucks, Chipotle, Subway, a pho place, and a pizza place/bar. It's pricey for what it is, as are all hotels near SJC, but if we ever need a place to crash during a layover there again, we will definitely stay at this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily M, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Mr. Ted,

Thank you for your kind review! We definitely boast a location and complimentary amenities that cannot be beat. We look forward to welcoming you again should you visit San Jose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, San Jose Airport

Address: 1755 North First Street, San Jose, CA 95112
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, San Jose Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to announce that the renovations of our guestrooms, meeting spaces and public areas have completed as of May of 2013! We boast an unrivaled location within minutes of The San Jose Mineta Airport, Yahoo, EBay, Hewlett-Packard, Apple, Sony and Cisco. The Fairfield Inn & Suites, San Jose Airport is just steps away from the VTA light rail, affordable dining options and M8trix Casino; reach Santana Row, Downtown, Malls and City Venues within minutes. Never start an important day on an empty stomach, enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with healthy options to choose from! Exercise with the new fitness equipment in our gym that overlooks the beautiful courtyard, heated pool and jacuzzi. We offer free parking, a convenient shuttle service to and from the airport and locations within a 2 mile radius. Indulge in our fresh, contemporary styled smoke-free rooms that furnish a refreshing balcony while checking your email with our free high speed Wi-Fi internet access.Whether your business in San Jose is work or pleasure, we are your perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Jose Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Jose Airport Hotel San Jose
Fairfield Inn San Jose
Fairfield San Jose
San Jose Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.