We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, friendly staff and economical rates, what else one need...!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elan to your Saves list
Hotel Elan
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1215 South First Street, San Jose, CA 95110 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express - San Jose)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, friendly staff and economical rates, what else one need...!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011 via mobile

As I mentioned already... It worked very well for me.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    5
    7
    18
See reviews for
5
9
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We shouldn't complain, they allow dogs. Don't be fooled by the "renovated" part...they have a fresh paint job but old everything else. It was a convenient spot close to everything and away from the airport but we thought we would wake up to broken windows. The night was quiet so I am thankful but if people walked by the windows were old and not at all soundproof. The comforter cover was from 1970 and the side chair had 4 stains. The “hot tub” had stains and the toilet seat was crooked and would slide around when you sat on it. The bath jets were so loud they would rattle your teeth and really had no power. There was coffee but no coffee maker.
What I liked…it had plenty of parking, they have some pretty flowers, not a lot of traffic noise, fridge in the room, good proximity to city.
What I didn’t like so much…Bring your shiv!

Room Tip: ask to be in the building not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

This was by far the most disgusting hotel I have EVER stayed in, including international trips to Amsterdam and Mexico. The furniture was sticky, as was the floor. Bathroom was moldy, dated, and stained. The carpet had so many stains it was hard to tell what the actual color was supposed to be. The breakfast consisted of cereal DUST in a dispenser, a broken coffee maker, and gross juice. Had to go down the street to a Denny's. The front desk "clerk" if you want to call him that, had to be WOKEN UP to check us out when we left because he was sleeping. Also had about 25 facial piercings, which is fine, but not very professional. I had to stack furniture in front of my door, then wash my hands several times cause it was sticky. There was old food in the fridge as well that certainly was NOT mine. Absolutly disgusting, probebly be better to stay in a box on the side of the road.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

What a dump dirty , old furniture and a dump dont wast your money

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. CA.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

Travelocity is more expensive than booking direct so book direct! Area is city atmosphere but no problems, just mind your own business and don't be so judgemental on the way others live. The service and room are worth the price and the closeness to downtown is great. Breakfast was great, service over and above, room is what you pay for and a little more. If you are looking for somewhere to stay but not lounge I give them an A+. I have booked again and will stay here each time I visit my son attending SJSU! Thank you!

  • Liked — service and location, clean
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

Hotel named 'Howard Johnson Convention Center' - but it's a mile walk through a dicey neighborhood. Very misleading.

Also advertised on orbitz as 3 star. Bunk. 1 star. Most budget hotels I've been to did not have cigarette burns on the nightstand and carpet, holes in the bedspread, inoperative lights, rough floor under the rug or loose seats on the toilet.

Towels and blankets were thin (but it was warm so the blankets were no problem), AC was noisy and badly located so you had to find something to hold the drapes or it would blow them open.

The free breakfast - in the smallish lobby - did have a toaster and cereal. Coffee was OK. I'd rate that at a '2' rating. The TV worked well too (no premium channels - basic cable).

On second thought I think this is orerall a '1' rating and not 2. I did not get bug bites though. Maybe that's what a '1' is for.

  • Liked — Address was accurate, though awkward to reach.
  • Disliked — Deceptive advertising (not near convention center, hardly 3 stars)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

I like to describe myself as frugal, some might call me cheap - but I can't see spending a lot on a hotel. During my travels I have stayed in plenty of inexpensive places as long as the rooms were clean and the hotel was in a reasonably safe area. I booked this hotel for a conference as it is only 1 mile from the conference center. That was one long mile! I agree that this hotel, in and and of itself is acceptable, however the neighborhood is NOT acceptable. A colleague and I were traveling together, we checked into the hotel and then walked in broad daylight to the convention center. We were actually solicited on the way (I am NOT joking, we were solicited at 4pm in the afternoon, right on the sidewalk)! We immediately went into the first hotel we came to (The Marriott) and when the front desk manager found out we were staying at the HoJo she "found" a room for us (the hotel was booked for the conference) and even gave us the conference rate, telling us there's no way she could let us stay in such an unsafe neighborhood. Women, please do not stay here alone, especially without transportation.

  • Disliked — unsafe neighborhood
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elan

Address: 1215 South First Street, San Jose, CA 95110 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express - San Jose)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Elan 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one mile from the dynamic downtown district, the Howard Johnson Express San Jose features spacious guest rooms and Jacuzzi rooms along with easy access to all the great attractions that surround Northern California's largest city, everything from art museums to San Jose Sharks hockey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Jose
San Jose Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.