We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just O.K.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Anza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Anza to your Saves list
Hotel De Anza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West Santa Clara St., San Jose, CA 95113   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Special
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Ocean Shores, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just O.K.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We had planned to fly into San Jose and take a beautiful scenic drive to San Louis Obispo for my birthday weekend and due to unforseen circumstances ended up stranded in San Jose for two days without a vehicle. I was already very flustered and agervated and was very unfamiliar with the San Jose area. On a recomendation i tried the De Anza. i will say this hotel is cute, and the service is good, but it DEFFINATELY was not worth the $300 per night that i paid for their parlor suite. When I think suite, i think larger room, not a room the size of my walk-in closet.

Overall, our stay was just okay, unfortunately the Hotel De Anza gave me nothing memorable for my 28th birthday, and would probably stay at the freemont next time i am in town for a special occasion.

  • Liked — friendly staff, close to several wonderful resturants.
  • Disliked — no shopping close by, no tourist attractions close by.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    54
    33
    11
    16
See reviews for
18
55
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

The hotel is a nice one. I stayed there for a week.
The check-in was smooth. The staffs explained all the things well, and were not much disturbed to answer calls. In fact, they allowed me to use their PC for internet since my laptop battery was dead and I did not have the adapter.
The room is nice. I stayed at 912 - which overviews the palm tree. The housekeeping staffs cleaned the room everyday before I reached back hotel in the evening. Didn't find any problem with the bed or the room heater/ conditioner. The fridge in the room was alright - with some drinks. They also had an okay collection of movies.
The food was really good. They have unlimited cookies at their front desk all the the day. There are quite a few other restaurants available down the road. I tried to eat at different places everyday, and it worked out well. The also have a flee market every Friday on the next street, or maybe next to next. Just ask.
No, it was not noisy at all. I guess they have worked on their windows. You could see the flights passing, but you would hardly get the sound. Nice view if you like flights.
Yes, I would not mind staying here agian. Close to train stations and highway, not too far from SFO international airport, just 20 min drive from Stanford... but yeah, I would miss a pool in summer.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

The hotel has charm and character. There is an Art Deco flair to the decor. The bathroom had nice green tile, marble, and a big white tub. The window was large and looked down the avenue with a ncie view. However, the room was noisy due to air planes and sirens. It quieted down by 10 pm, so it wasn't too bad.

The fitness room has a treadmill, an elliptical, a bike and a smith machine.

I had an omlette delivered by room service. It was good.

I would recommend this hotel unless you are very sensitive to noise.

  • Liked — style
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

We recently spent a weekend in San Jose and made arrangements to try the Hotel De Anza after reading reviews here.
It is a LOVELY grand dame in downtown San Jose. Originally built in the 1930's and lovingly restored in the 1990's. Valet parking, friendly and efficient staff at check in, clean and nicely appointed rooms. They served warm cookies at check in! Be sure to visit the Hedley Club which is their bar/lounge. We enjoyed good food, great cocktails, and a nice jazz trio to entertain us in a classy and cozy atmosphere. Also onsite is a wonderful Italian restaurant which is highly rated. Additionally they offer late night snacking and a breakfast buffet for a reasonable fee. The hotel has easy access from the freeway and is near the HP Pavilion and downtown arts and entertainment and eateries. It is reasonably priced and we will be sure to stay here the next time we travel to San Jose.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

Just returned from a trip to San Jose. While this hotel is close to the downtown business district, it is also on the flight path to the airport. In addition, a new building is being constructed next door to the hotel. Hence, the rooms can be very noisy. Not worth the price at at this time.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

This hotel is a delight. I was at a conference in San Jose, so stayed here for a full week. The staff was very courteous and helpful. I think I got the best room in the place, which was 902 or 905. I forget now, but it was on the very top floor (well, below the penthouse), set dead center. You could see the entire length of a lovely palm lined street, which I walked every morning to the convention center. The tub was fine, though no great shakes. No pool. The business center is a one computer spot in their business office, with a woman who looks over your shoulder and it is only open on weekdays during business hours. The real selling point of this place is 1. the luxurious high-thread count sheets and 2. the changing assortment of fresh cookies you could have any time and 3. coffee in the lobby early in the morning oh and 4. the fridge is not so crammed with expensive junk that you can bring home leftovers for later. The down sides were 1. the staff was totally confused when I asked them to NOT take my towels if I had rehung them. I thought I could foil them by refolding a towel I used the night before and putting it back up with the others, but they even took that towel (I guess my folding was not great). they seem to have no concept of conservation. the maid left me new soap every day. i built up a little soap collection: got to 4 soaps before she realized and took them away and i started building the collection again. was up to 3 the day i checked out. that said, it was lovely Aveda soaps and shampoos, etc. ok, what else, 2. one day i came back to my room and the door was open. the door was physically closed, but then i ran my card through, the light flashed orange. i tried again, orange again, so i pulled on the door and it was actually open, explaining why it was not unlocking! i reported it and they said that is sometimes a problem. i suggested posting signs or informing guests to be sure that their door locks behind them. still, it was housekeeping that left mine open, so even these precautions would not solve the problem. last issue: 3. the other rooms are not all so nice. a friend stayed in a room on the backside of the hotel on the fifth floor. her bathroom was at least 1/3 smaller than mine. She had only 1 window instead of two and it faced construction. Her room was much darker and it seemed about 1/3-1/2 smaller than mine. We were paying the same rate.
Overall, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant was only alright and a bit pricey. There is much better fare a bit down the street. The bar was totally dead every time I went in there, so I frequented the bars down the street. You are in nice walking distance from San Pedro "square" where there is a farmer's market on Fridays. Check it out. Also close the the Museum of Art and the train station. $15 cab ride to the airport, but if you have little luggage, the light rail gets you within 4 blocks or so.

  • Liked — Mmmm, cookies! Really nice staff. Lovely views, comfy room.
  • Disliked — Mysteriously unlocked door issue. Horrific airplane noise. Really loud.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

I have lived in the Bay Area for years and always wanted to stay at this lovely old hotel that has been updated to be gorgeous! In the past, I'd only had the pleasure of enjoying the hotel's wonderful Italian restaurant and even more lovely Hotel Bar (comphy couches, live music, in an awesome old room with high painted ceilings). This was enough to make me choose it for an overnight for an anniversary. We were not disappointed. Our room was lovely, had a nice view of San Jose. We enjoyed the free movie selection (Video and DVD in room), cookies, fruit, and breakfast (depending on your package, you may have to pay for it, but it is wonderful!). But, they also have something we've never experienced before: a midnight snack bar! FREE! Sandwich fixings, drinks, cookies. Really quite fabulous!
The only downside is that there is no pool. It's so perfect in every other way, that that is surprising. But, I guess they don't have the real estate for it.
Enjoy!

  • Liked — Quaint, and midnite snack bar
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Anza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Anza

Address: 233 West Santa Clara St., San Jose, CA 95113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Anza 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De Anza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Anza San Jose
De Anza Hotel San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Anza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.