We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat old Art Deco hotel in San Jose not good WiFi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Anza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel De Anza to your Saves list
Hotel De Anza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West Santa Clara St., San Jose, CA 95113   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Calgary
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Neat old Art Deco hotel in San Jose not good WiFi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

but they say its being fixed. Great Staff no real close off site parking. Liked the raid our pantry program nice to be able to get a little something with out a lotbof fuss. The HVAC in the room was questionable and OLD but the windows opened which was really nice.

What I apriciated most about the staff is when they were having the WiFi issue they moved me to a room right over the lobby in which it worked great.

Room Tip: Check the WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    53
    32
    11
    16
See reviews for
16
53
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel was recommended for guests attending a special wedding last weekend. Our party included 3 rooms and a separate suite. Our rooms were all close together, as requested. The suite was a great place for us to gather after the reception and for morning coffee. AND what a nice bonus to "raid the pantry". I missed a coffee maker in our room but saw from an earlier comment that one was provided when requested. I was very impressed with the hotel staff, from reception to valets. All friendly and professional. Unfortunately we were too tired after the wedding reception to make it to the Hedley Club and listen to jazz. Another time. We also didn't have a chance to try the restaurant. Another time. We look forward to staying here again. This is an excellent location to downtown San Jose and the HP Pavillion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were booked at the De Anza for business and were very pleased. The room was very comfortable and updated. The location is perfect for walking around downtown San Jose. Many restaurants close by. No complaints here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I saw this hotel has some mixed reviews (as do most) but I thought this was a pretty good choice in the San Jose area. It is nice to stay somewhere other than the huge chains and this hotel does have a lot of character. My room was very clean and smelled good. The amenities in the room were also very good and the bed very comfortable which is always important. I thought the cookies upon check-in and the chocolates on the bed each night were great. The employees were also very helpful and friendly.

The breakfast at the restaurant is a fairly standard hotel breakfast in terms of food and price ($15) but I wouldn't recommend it as it wasn't great. We walked over to Flames on Fourth Street for breakfast and enjoyed that much more at a better price. The internet also seemed a little slow to me.

Overall I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Cedro, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Old hotel with a great renovation. Fantastic! Great night sleep, no noise excellent (firm) bed and pillows. Fantastic location with lots of food and entertainment near. Valet parking is very convenient. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pearl NL
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Anza 5 nights in July.

We had great service from the staff.
Being from the East coast, we were up very early for California standards.
There was no coffee machine in the room but they gave us one when we asked.

They were very helpful.

The room was very comfortable.

The location is close enough (small 10 minute walk) to the train station, the HP Pavillon (Hockey arena) and the convention center.

Lots of restaurants close by too.

I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed for one night. Unknown to me, they charged my credit card for 3 nights. Returning to my room at 1:00am, I requested a wakeup call at 5:00am to catch my 5:40am ride to SFO. In the room the phone was beeping every few minutes. Was told by the front desk I must have a message. Checking the phone system, it required a login ID. I called the front desk and they said they would clear it. 15 minutes later, and the phone still beeping, I again called the front desk. I told them to come to my room and wake me at 5:00am (now only 3-1/2 hrs away) as I was disconneting the phones. I fell asleep and was awakened at 5:40 by a hotel employee telling me my ride was here. I was rushed out without even an invoice. I am still disputing the overcharges on my crdit card with these bozos.

Room Tip: My tip for a good room? Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Anza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Anza

Address: 233 West Santa Clara St., San Jose, CA 95113
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Anza 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De Anza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Anza San Jose
De Anza Hotel San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Anza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.