We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway room for an event at the HP pavillion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Anza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Anza to your Saves list
Hotel De Anza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 West Santa Clara St., San Jose, CA 95113   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Special
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Creston, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway room for an event at the HP pavillion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Very happy with this property. The web site looked like it was nice, and it is. The staff is very friendly and the accomodations are really comfortable. We went with a bigger corner room, worth the extra. Walking distance to the pavillion even in my heels. And there are plenty of food choices within 3 blocks to cover what ever your hungry for. Plus they have a sandwich station for the mid-night snack which my husband thought was amazing! We will be back again.

Room Tip: They offer a package deal on the web page that has the valet parking, and breakfast for 2. You end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    64
    35
    13
    17
See reviews for
22
60
17
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Historic hotel with a high price tag. They only have valet parking. No internet in the room unless you brought your CAT5 wire and even then, they charge you. We had to go to the hotel lobby for free internet service. The rooms were very small, but the bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet even though it was full.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My daughter and her husband had scouted their new area and were excited about the appearance of the de Anza. Reserving two rooms many weeks in advance, we arrived with our two elderly parents...after transporting all the luggage to the rooms and getting them settled we went on to our room right next door. When we opened the door we were overwhelmed by the smell of sulfur/sewage. I immediately called the front desk. They explained that the hotel was completely full but hoped they could swap rooms with a guest who had not yet arrived. They said fumes sometimes come up from the drains in the bathroom and they could remedy the situation but would move us. They asked us to come back down to the front desk. We transported our suitcase and personal items and took the elevator to the lobby. Given new keys, we were off to the elevator, luggage in tow. When we opened the door to the 2nd room it was occupied... clothing and suitcase were on the floor but luckily the guest was not in the room. Again, luggage in tow we went back down to the front desk. They were more concerned that the other guest was not in the room and didn't know we had been in their room than the fact that we had made our third trip to the lobby in a matter of 20 minutes. They gave us another set of keys, with an apology and with luggage in tow (again) we entered the elevator for a trip to our 3rd room. This room was fine but the phone was not working. After crawling partially under the bed to check the connections I discovered that the power strip was turned off. I corrected this and the phone worked. This was important because our elderly parents had no idea where our room was or how to contact us. In my opinion, the inconvenience that we experienced was not properly acknowledged by the hotel staff. There was no offer to move our luggage for us. All three trips were unassisted. I did not plan to write a review of this type against what appears to be a fine hotel with comfortable accommodations. They may be understaffed and were not properly prepared for a "full house." However, they requested that we fill out a survey (sent to our email). We explained all of this in the survey - there was no indication it was anonymous. We got no response from the hotel and it has been a week, so I decided to post this review on Trip Advisor. Sorry Hotel de Anza...busy or not - when I am paying 4 star prices for two individual rooms I expect more than 2 star service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, NJ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

De Anza seems to be trying for higher end business hotel (like Marriott / Hyatt level) and pulls it off in certain areas like the bathrooms and common areas. But room furnishings, beds and linens come up short. Spend the money on the basics too, not just the showy stuff. There is nothing wrong with the hotel, just that when I pay for the better end of the spectrum, I expect it in all of the elements (particuarly the bed), not just some of them.

Room Tip: Call the Fairmont
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Hotel de Anza hos nicely appointed public spaces, and a try good restaurant for pasta, but the room are badly in need of a make-over. The furniture is old and dated looking. Beds are a little uncomfortable by standards of other properties. The bathrooms have no counter space and an old-fashioned shower with a rubber mat you can place in to prevent falls. There was barely enough room to put the bathmat between the toilet and the wall. Electric plugs are few and hard to find. Worst of all, there is now wi-fi, only an ethernet connection, which does not work well if you (like me) have started traveling on short trips with only your iPad. The staff is wonderful, and the La Pastaia restaurant serves good (if not inspired) pasta. Very convenient to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stay that was close to the HP Pavilion and this place was a great decision. It's just a few blocks away... we walked there. The hotel is very clean and very comfortable. We were very happy with our room and the staff couldn't have been any nicer to us.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Just a short walk to HP Pavillion, the Hotel De Anza is a very convenient downtown location and has great Art Deco style. The rooms are smallish but very clean and comfortable. The hotel has a very nice buffet breakfast with a good variety of food at an acceptable price. The parking valet service is friendly and prompt. This stay was our second one at the hotel. The front desk staff is generally helpful, although we must have had a new person on this visit as he seemed to struggle with the procedures a bit but without any negative consequences. We are disappointed that the bar is loud and crowded in the evenings (after the Sharks game) and we could not enjoy it. However, I expect we will stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms about the bar. We found the rooms on the street were quieter than a room above the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Anza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Anza

Address: 233 West Santa Clara St., San Jose, CA 95113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Anza 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel De Anza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Anza San Jose
De Anza Hotel San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Anza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.