We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport shuttle problems, but attentive manager” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1727 Technology Drive, San Jose, CA 95110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Vermont
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Airport shuttle problems, but attentive manager”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

We stayed at the Courtyard on July 3d. We were welcomed by a friendly staff and on their advice we dropped our rental car at the airport that evening since our flight was at 6:20 am. The staff told that the Courtyard shuttle would pick us up at the terminal with a quick phone call. Unfortunately that was not the case. In the course of 30 minutes we made 3 calls to the hotel with a variety of excuses, but each with a promise that the shuttle would be on its way momentarily. The shuttle never arrive and after 30 minutes we took a taxi. The driver was less that pleased to take us a short distance to the hotel. On arrival at the hotel we found, that infact, there was no driver for the shuttle and it had never left the hotel. The clerk was not at all helpful and offered us only a $5 reduction in our rate. When the bill was delivered there was a 50% rate reduction which still was not adequate after the lack of service.
I contacted the manager on my return home who was very attentive and credited my stay and offered me additional reward points. In it should be noted that the air conditioning units are very noisy althought the manager states they are being replaced in the near future. The room was otherwise fine and they quickly brought a refrigerator on my request. The shuttle in the morning worked fine.

  • Liked — Location near airport
  • Disliked — Lack of airport pickup as promised.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    93
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
37
46
14
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2007

We stayed two nights at the Courtyard San Jose while flying from Seattle, and driving to Paso Robles. We arrived very late on Friday night after a beautiful flight in which my wife took 3 too many Xanax. As we arrived in San Jose, I propped her up against the terminal wall, and grabbed our bags. After pouring my wife into the rental car (in her drug induced stupor, she actually thought it was a sled) and headed for the Courtyard. I found the hotel very easily, and was happilly greeted by the night person. She was so nice, and when I forgot my ID (was in "Zonerrallas" purse, she was understanding and patient while I wrestled my stuff from my sleepy wife. The Lobby is maticulously clean, and again, the staff amazing. I opened the door to our room which was close to the lobby, and even my overdosed wife peeped through her one good eye long enough to comment on how nice the room was. It was very clean, very business like, but homey.
I poured sleeperella into the extrordinarily comfortable bed, and she Cheshire Smiled herself to sleepy land. I joined, and found the bed, and bedding to be top quality. A note in the room, along with a welcome candy bar made me feel welcomed.
Next morning, a jacuzzi, workout, and breakfast were all good. The facilities here are very well kept. And Clean! Breakfast was good, but never quite worth the 13 bucks or so. Its alright, I am used to free breakfast.
We stayed another night at the end of our trip and found everything just as the first night! Comfortable, Kind Staff, and above all, so very close to the airport. Overall, great price (99.00) for a great hotel stay. Good Job Courtyard! Nice job Marriott......we`ll see you again!

  • Liked — Clean, great beds, great staff, LOCATION! (for airport visitors)
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — This is a great hotel. I cant see staying here for a full vacation...but if your just going through, its great!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2006

It's close enough to the airport for a quick drive over, and far enough away that you can't really hear the jet engines. The bed was very comfy, and nice bedding to boot. The room itself was average, with a few things that could use some repair. Nothing so bothersome that it ruined the stay. Breakfast isn't free, and they have pretty hefty prices for eggs and waffles. So I skipped it an went right down the street for breakfast.

  • Liked — Beds and bedding
  • Disliked — Front desk, breakfast, room needed repairs
  • Tips/Secrets — Skip the pricy breakfast for something nearby.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2006

My family stayed here on a lay over to Seattle. We called the airport shuttle and it was quick (2-3 minutes away) and prompt. The shuttle normally runs every 30 minutes, 24 hours a day, but you can call for pickup from the airport if between times. The van driver doubled as front desk clerk and we were impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the mostly young, college age, staff. The rooms were very quiet with occasional airplane noise (it is an airport hotel), clean bathrooms with lots of towels and all the amenities, including four pillows on each comfy bed. Rollout work table for the business man, including internet connection, lots of good work lights. The a/c / heating system is rather noisy, but fortunately, we did not have to use it much. Nice pool, workout area and interior courtyard. All the usual Marriott amenities, including a nice dining room in the hotel and a snack/sundries area near the front desk.
Would definitely recommend for further stays.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2005

afther arriving from a 5 hour flight from Honolulu we decided to overnight at the this courtyard at san jose airport. afther we rented our car it was only a 5 minute drive from the san jose airport. Parking is free of charge. when we arrived we were checked inn within seconds. afther staying at many courtyard before I can say that this hotel looks very nice and clean. Rooms were very clean and typical courtyard with free high speed internet access. our rate included breakfast which was served at the Lobby. i was a little dissapointed with the breakfast selection, also you were not able to get water, juice etc yourself, we had to wait for the waitress which was way too slow. again the hotel was nice, the only point they can improve is the breakfast selection and service which is definetly below courtyard standards.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2005

We stayed here as leisure travelers over the Labor Day weekend. The hotel was quiet, the pool was deserted, but we felt very comfortable. The breakfast is excellent (we chose the breakfast-included option), and we found out that the hotel is less than a ten-minute comfortable walk from the San Jose LRT. Accordingly, we traveled by rail to a variety of sights and didn't bother renting a car.

We found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and the shuttle service to and from the airport was fine. We would readily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2005

We stayed one night in May and found the Courtyard to be satisfactory for an airport hotel in an office park. The shuttle service runs 24 hours and was very convenient for an early morning flight.

The room was clean and typical for a Courtyard Marriott.

I would stay here again if I was passing through the airport, but would not recommend this for an extended stay.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport

Address: 1727 Technology Drive, San Jose, CA 95110
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Airport Hotel San Jose
Courtyard San Jose Airport
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.