We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Airport Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Plus Airport Plaza to your Saves list
Best Western Plus Airport Plaza
2118 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Sacramento, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A welcome surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I needed a convenient location in San Jose for business and a moderate price. This was the right choice and it proved to be even better than anticipated. Compact, convenient and a good value for the money. I will return to this property on my next trip to San Jose.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystalw629, Manager at Best Western Plus Airport Plaza, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear David C,
Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Airport Plaza we are so pleased to hear that your stay was a good one and we await your next visit San Jose so that we may have the pleasure of serving you again.

Krystal White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    57
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
29
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moreno Valley, California
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
595 helpful votes 595 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This Best Western turned out to be pretty good for the price. The professional staff and good breakfast were pluses however this property really isn't all that convenient to the airport. Located mainly in a residential neighborhood, access into the parking lot is really tricky and you should plan not to enter from The Alameda but from the signalized intersection with Newhall St. Its a narrow 'round-the-block' route that is quite difficult after dark if you miss Newhall like we did.

Other than that, everything else about the Airport Plaza was fine. Everything worked and the place is very clean. The elevator is oddly situated outside the lobby area. Another plus is that this Best Western is quite close to the 880 and 280 freeways which are usually very crowded and constrained by construction. For you road map geeks and collectors, the original San Jose office of the HM Gousha Co. is located catty-corner from the motel at 2001 The Alameda but it's now a 'campus' of head-shrinkers… appropriate? I will stay at the Airport Plaza on our next trip.

Room Tip: Upstairs and far as possible down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystalw629, Manager at Best Western Plus Airport Plaza, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Monkeyonthewing,
Thank you for your recent feedback. I do apologize about the entrance not being better marked we are currently working on getting a better sign posted so that in the future this will not happen. However I am glad that the rest of your stay was a enjoyable one. We are glad that you will give us another opportunity to work with you and we look forward to your future stays.

Krystal White,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed here to go to a family party in San Jose. The staff at check-in, breakfast, and check-out were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean, VERY nicely decorated and VERY quiet. The hotel was conveniently located with good parking (some covered slots were available). We will be staying here whenever we visit San Jose - highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

From the outside, it looks like an apartment complex, so it's a little easy to pass by it. Turn right after the Shell gas station. The rooms were very nice and modern, comfortable bed, flat screen TV and all the amenities you would expect. I was impressed with the breakfast. They had the typical continental breakfast with waffle bar, but they served it on real plates and silverware, not the disposable plastic and paper products. They also provided a list of nearby restaurants and food options, which was helpful. No workout facility, but I was given a free pass at the nearby YMCA. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I decided to spend a night in San Jose near the airport instead of taking a late flight out. Silicon valley hotels are expensive and uncompromisingly ordinary catering mostly to techies for short stay business meetings and conferences. It's amazing how filled up the hotels are. They are hardly exciting places with lots of synthetic materials and stucco exteriors that all look the same. This was one of the more reasonably priced hotels and the reviews here helped me choose this one. The location is convenient and easy to find. The rooms are much nicer than the generic exterior would lead you to expect. It's clean and tastefully decorated and in kind of a mixed use residential area with a conveniently located gas station across the street to refill your rental car. The room is clean and well appointed with lots of charging plugs on the desk lamps and head boards and fast free wifi. My only disappointment was that the flat panel tv was not broadcasting HD content, who likes standard def any more. That's kinda cheap. Breakfast was nicer than expected, thick reusable plastic plates, not the styrofoam ones. Warm boiled eggs and a self service waffle maker were nice touches that aren't usually common fare. The desk service was prompt and courteous. The area is generally quiet but occasionally punctuated with a loud motorcycle accelerating through the intersection.

Room Tip: pick a room that faces the parking lot, not the front street, it may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Well situated, clean, nice staff, seemed like a new motel except the iffy elevator. Quiet area, reasonable continental breakfast. Good value for both business and leisure, close to airport and downtown, shopping, eating and visitor sights.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

great place best western never lets me down all places are diffrent and would have to say that all the travels and places seems that somehow best western in whole always holds a great standard of excellence the site always has plenty of info on area and you can always knpow what to expect cost wise some hotels have parking internet all kinds of hidden costs BW is always very open about its costs

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Plus Airport Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Airport Plaza

Address: 2118 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most charming San Jose, California hotels, the Best Western Airport Plaza delivers old-world charm, modern style and a central location right near the San Jose Airport and San Jose Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Plus Airport Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western - San Jose Airport Plaza Hotel San Jose
San Jose Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Airport Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.