We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically what you'd expect from Best Western” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Airport Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Plus Airport Plaza to your Saves list
Best Western Plus Airport Plaza
2118 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Basically what you'd expect from Best Western”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hotel was clean, nice, possibly recently renovated. Basically, it's what you'd expect from a Best Western. Breakfast buffet could have used a few more hot-dish items, but generally no complaints given the great price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    57
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
29
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Good clean hotel. A little more than I usually pay, but a great deal for San Jose. A short cab ride from the airport (an airport shuttle is about the only suggestion for improvement). Room was great, good wireless service, decent breakfast selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed just one night as my husband and I were attending a dinner in San Jose. Initially, when I made the reservation by phone, I was put off by the young man who answered the phone. He talked so fast I couldn't understand if I had even gotten the right place. However, when we checked in, we were greeted by a competent desk person. We had booked a junior suite. It's quite small. I guess that having a couch and coffee table makes it a suite. Nonetheless, the room was clean and we asked for one that was away from the main road so it was quiet. The rate with a AAA card was reasonable for the area. We have stayed in other Best Western Plus locations and I wouldn't rate this location as a "Plus." There is a microwave and refrigerator. Though I only had a yogurt for breakfast, it appeared that there were quite a few options such as pancakes, eggs, sausage, cereal, juice, coffee, fruit (though not much by the time I got down to the breakfast area). If you are just planning to stay a couple of nights and don't need "frills," this place will suffice.

Room Tip: Ask for a second level room and away from Tully Road. There is an elevator so you don't have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is the second time I been to this hotel and I decided to get the suite. Its overall a much much bigger room. Has a king size bed, a large walk in shower and a large sofa (not pull out). Only bad part is that its on the street side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The room is gorgeous & really spacious. It was Sheraton standard but at half the price. Absolutely fantastic. Breakfast is sufficient. Nothing fancy.

Coleman Shopping Centre about 10 mins drive away. There is a nice Marshalls there. For groceries, there's a Safeway 5 mins down the road.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The first room on the top floor was neat, clean and refurbished. The problem is that this hotel is being refurbished and the contractors must have left something on the roof that wasn't bolted down. Had a bit of a windstorm for a few hours just after midnight and for the next three hours there was continuous loud banging. There were lots of cranky guests at breakfast the next morning. One couple said they had called the front desk in the middle of the night and were given an apology but no fix. The staff know how to apologize but doesn't seem to be able to problem solve or know what to do when there is a problem. Since we were going to be there another night, we asked to have our room changed. Bad idea. The new room had some problems. The mattress had seen far too many guests. The toilet did not flush. When we reported the poor performing plumbing early the next morning the desk clerk said she was sorry and would report it. Since there is no restroom in the public areas, we really didn't want to wait until someone would get around to fixing it. My husband asked for a toilet plunger and fixed it himself.The continental breakfast compared to similar priced hotels is lacking. No low-fat yogurt. No fruit other than apples. Instant oatmeal. Unpeeled, hard-boiled eggs. Waffles. If you like jam you have your choice of grape or apple jelly. There's a reason those flavors are cheap. They have no flavor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Plus Airport Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Airport Plaza

Address: 2118 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most charming San Jose, California hotels, the Best Western Airport Plaza delivers old-world charm, modern style and a central location right near the San Jose Airport and San Jose Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Plus Airport Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western - San Jose Airport Plaza Hotel San Jose
San Jose Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Airport Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.