We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“completely different place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Airport Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Plus Airport Plaza to your Saves list
Best Western Plus Airport Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2118 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“completely different place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was surprised to see how great the hotel looks after the renovations done. the first thing i noticed was the extended lobby and breakfast area. It is alot more spacious, well decorated, and overall a major change. the staff was friendly and courteous as well which is a major plus. The second floor also went through some major renovations and did not mind paying a little extra for the deluxe renovated rooms.The entire hallway looks so much better and elegant with freshly painted walls and new carpet. The new deluxe rooms are in immaculate condition with new carpet, bathroom tile, beds and furniture as well as a flat screen tv and dvd player, well above most budget hotels and some not so cheap ones. Free wifi, parking and continental breakfast is always a plus, i dont get those hotels that charge you extra for basic hotel needs.Overall the stay was better than i expected satisfying all my needs and comfortable, clean rooms. I did not rate it a 5/5 because it is not a 5star hotel but it feels like one.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms are a major upgrade from regular rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    74
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
39
37
29
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was a good hotel to book for a short stay in the San Jose area. Similar to other reviewers, I would probably not book this if I were on vacation. I went at the end of November 2011 when they were undergoing renovations but I still had a good time there - the room was quiet and a good size, the bed was comfortable. It was quite chilly outside and the blankets and pillows were great. No problems with anything. The only thing I did not like and had not expected was that it is not a "closed" hotel. What I mean is that anyone can knock on your room door without having gone past front desk because the front desk is kind of separated from the rooms portion of the hotel. The hallways are also exposed to the outside (there is no door that closes off the halls leading to the rooms from the outside) so it was chilly in the halls. Also, there is not much around the hotel within a 5 minute drive. Our first night there, we drove around and only found one place open for dinner (a fried chicken place). Later on, we realized we needed to drive maybe 10 minutes to the Alameda. However, I was there with family and we got a good price for 2 rooms.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Exactly what you would expect from a Best Western in the rooms, basic and predictible. However the breakfast was below average, with minimal choices and I made the mistake of accepting a room facing the busy street -- windows were not well insulated for noise or comfort. Great location close to Santa Clara and the airport.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a street side room -- deceptively quiet at 10pm, surprisingly noisy at 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is a convenient place to stay in San Jose, esp if you're there on business. If you're going on vacation, there are surely more centrally located hotels that are nicer. This place won't break your per diem, but it's very modest. Wifi is free, but a big bonus is cabled network connection in the room. Cable tv channels feature a decent selection. My gripes were the low water pressure(but I think this is part of it being in California with all it's conservation rules) and the lackluster complimentary breakfast because it featured no meat, just cereal, oatmeal, pastries, yogurt, juice and waffles. Bonus:Gas station just across the street.

Room Tip: The street noise can be annoying, so be sure to get a room on the backside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed here mid-week in order to do some business nearby. I chose this based on my past history with the Best Western chain, which has generally been good.

When I went to check in, the person at the front desk didn't seem to want to move away from her laptop and surfing the web in order to check me in. Even after checking me in (signing, initialing, giving my car information), she proceeded to hand me my key and turn back to her laptop. I had to actually ask her what my room number was!

Along with other reviewers on this site, I was somewhat amazed to find that you went outside to get to the elevator or stairs, and it dumped you into an 'interior' hallway! The 'interior' hallway was cold, and the decor was dated, but it was clean and smelled fresh.

The room (I was in 115) was interesting to say the least. It had a king size bed and a fold-out couch, but there was no room to fold out the couch! There was a coffee table, a chair, the desk chair, and the desk all shoehorned into the side of the room, and it was impossible to open the couch (not that I needed it, though).

The desk was nice sized.. there was a 2008-9 edition of the Best Western directory in it, which seemed a bit weird. The Wireless was only mediocre, and very slow. I wonder if she was using most of the bandwidth at the front desk.

The bed was very comfortable, which surprised me. There weren't enough pillows, and I was told that there weren't any more... there was no bedding for the fold-out couch either. I guess they took the '1 guest' literally and took out the rest of the bedding and towels!

The decor was very dated -- but the room was comfortable. The alarm clock being on top of the TV was a bit weird as well. But the room did include a TV (non-LCD), a DVD player, a refrigerator, a microwave, a coffee pot, and -surprise- a whirlpool tub. (I didn't have time to partake of it, but it looked well kept up.).

I don't know if I'd stay here again, as it was a bit out of the way from my work location, but it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This hotel was very convenient to the SJC airport and the price was right. The room was very clean, with comfy furniture and bed, good towels AND had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot. Everything was in good repair and clean. There was a desk and desk chair, comfy armchair and a bench for putting your stuff down on, plus a luggage rack. I was very pleased with the setup. Restaurants are just down the street on Alameda, as is a grocery store. The lobby was undergoing renovation while we were there and we did not partake of the breakfast offered, as we checked out too early. Even so, the girl at the desk did offer me coffee at our 4:30am checkout.
The one issue I found strange was that access to the stairs and elevator up to the rooms was from the outside of the building, next to the parking lot area. As you went up the stairs, you emerged into interior hallways, without ever going through a door. I hope their renovations will include a security door or enclosure for the stairs and elevator or provide entry to upstairs rooms through the lobby area instead of the parking lot.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Luke warm body theory at front desk, ask for simple directions, or even 'where do you like to eat" you get the ahhhhhhh, I ahhh, well there's ahh. Upon arriving at room, chipped or cracked walls, paint, etc. Towels at the edges were falling apart. Below average decor, who decorates with plastic flowers with real water in the bowls????? Breakfest was less than average. Area and location had abundant opportunities for food. Just don't be suprised, lower your expectations, and you will be fine. Sign at front desk indicates you will be charged for ANY additional items which includes shampoo, towels. They do give you the price of everything up front so if any thing is missing, they will assume (yes it's on the sign) you took it and therefore ok to charge to your cc.

Room Tip: there are none at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Best Western Plus Airport Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Airport Plaza

Address: 2118 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Airport Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At this time the elevator is out of service and will be until further notice. Staff is available around the clock to assist you with luggage or anything else that you may need. One of the most charming San Jose, California hotels, the Best Western Airport Plaza delivers old-world charm, modern style and a central location right near the San Jose Airport and San Jose Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Best Western Plus Airport Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western - San Jose Airport Plaza Hotel San Jose
San Jose Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Airport Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.