We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for the convention center and downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada San Jose Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada San Jose Downtown to your Saves list
Ramada San Jose Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 South 2nd Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2710   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Ideal for the convention center and downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed here last week while at a conference. The hotel is close to all amenities, public transport, convention center. Breakfast was OK. Staff was good. Overall it was a pleasant stay. We could not find any major faults and would recommend this place for a convenient stay in San Jose.

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms on the 3rd floor for some peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    54
    60
    35
    19
See reviews for
40
14
27
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

close to downtown and university and nighttime entertainment.
breakfast was adequate.
room was clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsm
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I would say "newly redecorated". Looked like all that was "newer" was the carpeting, sink and the bed..the rest looked worn and old (the desk, chairs, shower especially!). Otherwise it was neat and clean and good front desk staff and location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

When my sister and I checked in we were disappointed that there was only one full size bed. I went to the front desk to inquire whether a room with two beds was available. There was...for an additional $15.00 plus tax. Bummer. Nonetheless, I thought it'd be worthwhile so I forked over the money. Lo and behold, we open the door to the new room and there are TWO king beds. Yahoo! I've never seen two king beds in an economy room or at a more upscale property. Impressive...and spacious! Room overall was not too shabby but obviously the beds were the highlight of the overnight stay. Property itself looks a bit tired and the lobby is rather bleak.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main street and on the top floor tend to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were looking for a room simply to sleep in and be on our way the next day. This was possibly the smallest hotel room I have ever been in. The sink was open to the bedroom with the fridge wedged against it and the microwave on top. I had to put the suitcase in front of the fridge. As I was preparing to get in the elevator I looked at the door to the laundry and saw dirt and dust hanging from the vents. The breakfast was in a small room with few tables. No one was overseeing it and the garbage can was overflowing. As I walked by the lobby to get there, I saw the desk clerk eating his breakfast at the desk. There was little value for the cost and I would never return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Good hotel, especially for tourists and business people. It is quiet and more or less clean (rooms are clean, common areas not so much). Parking and wifi are complimentary. A simple breakfast is included in the price.

Room Tip: Rooms that end in 17 tend to be quiet. No, this is no numerology, it is because such rooms are dista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada San Jose Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Jose Downtown

Address: 455 South 2nd Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada San Jose Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada San Jose Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada San Jose Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.