We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2585 Seaboard Ave., San Jose, CA 95131   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, United States
1 review
“Family Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Overall everything about this hotel was very pleasant. It was clean, and comfortable. The only problem is the flight pattern of the San Jose airport. Air traffic until about 10pm and starting back up around 6am. The staff was very professional, checking in and out was super easy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQSanJose, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello Dorett G.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the La Quinta Inn and Suites, San Jose Airport. While I am happy to hear that you found our hotel pleasant, clean and comfortable, I would like to apologize for the noise from our close proximity to the airport being a problem to you during your stay. We are constantly searching for ways to alleviate this issue from impacting our hotel guests.

We hope to hear from you again and would love to have you as our guest in the near future. If I may be of any assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact me.


Here for you,

Christopher Hill
Front Office Manager
La Quinta Inn and Suites, San Jose Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    100
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
111
46
36
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I, having wanted to visit San Jose for quite some time, chose this location because we had three free nights available to us through the LQ Returns program, and we paid for a fourth night. Oddly, the LQ computer system does not allow one to combine paid and free stays, so we had to make two separate reservations, but this is not the hotel’s fault. They did, however, quickly let us check out and then back in without actually having to pack up, so the computer thought we had left and come back in.

Anyway, as for the hotel itself, it is one of my favorite locations, and I’ve seen quite a few LQ’s over the last few years. Wonderful location close to downtown and just a couple blocks from the Component light rail station. Easy access off US-101. Almost walking distance to the train, if you don’t mind being along a busy street. If you choose to drive, it’s a two-minute drive to the station. The one negative is the constant airplane noise, as the hotel is right off the end of 12R/30L, which appears to be the main runway used by the airliners. Again, though, this is not the hotel’s fault.

The facility is well above average in terms of quality of maintenance and overall decor. It appears to have been renovated quite recently in a technology motif--not surprising at all given the area it is in. I expect it hosts a lot of guest workers working at nearby Silicon Valley firms. I like that it had a bar on site. They say they offer room service, but when we asked about it, the bartender balked. We didn’t use the pool, but we did check out the area--very nice. We were surprised at the lack of hot though--we like to use those. Perhaps future expansion plans will add one? The adjacent gym is adequate for basic workouts. I like to go for walks in the morning--not much around the area except for light industrial, but at least there is a treadmill on site.

Breakfast? Basic LQ fare, nothing fancy, but at least they have a full layout rather than just bagels and cereal. We like our protein in the morning.

The complex itself is huge, consisting of two (possibly three?) buildings, the longest of which is, well, really long. We had a room at the end of a little cul-de-sac right above one of the staircases. There was no problem with noise from within the building. The building is immaculate and looks like it just opened yesterday! The parking lot is very large and we never had a problem finding a spot somewhat close to, if not right under, our second-floor room.

The room itself is thoughtfully laid out, with a sink separate from the bathroom, a microwave, a refrigerator, and safe. No bathtub, though. We love to soak, so the lack of either a hot tub or bathtub was a bit of a sacrifice, but for four days we managed. I am told other rooms have one, but by the time we discovered ours was missing we had already settled in so we decided the wonderful showerhead--several steps above standard hotel showerheads and even better than ours at home--would make up for it. Plus, in the summertime it’s a bit less important to have a tub.

There are several menus for dining options in the room, but we didn’t try any of the nearby restaurants. I do, however, recommend Flames on First Street downtown. They don’t have a menu for Flames in the room, but trust me--worth a visit. Also, There is a Safeway with every food option imaginable--and wonderful takeout--just a couple miles north.

Overall, this was a great stay for us. We explored the Winchester Mystery House and the Egyptian Museum, both only 15 minutes away, and the city of Santa Cruz, less than an hour away. Please note, however, that CA-87 and I-880 cross, but don’t connect. (Can’t tell you how I figured this out! :-) ) The only negative is the airplane noise, but earplugs take care of that problem. Besides, the hotel doesn’t control air traffic. :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQSanJose, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello Jumbach,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your wonderful review, and for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to San Jose. I am pleased to hear you not only enjoyed our hotel but were able to venture out and explore the Winchester Mystery House and my favorite, The Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum. I pray that you found time to visit the wonderful garden they have on the grounds.

I truly enjoyed reading through your comments and the excellent description you provided of our hotel and surrounding area. It gives me great pleasure to know that we surpassed your expectations, and that you had a comfortable stay with us. I will be certain to pass on your comments to our whole team and management to let them know you found our modern renovation to your liking. Perhaps we will look into adding a hot tub and have that available for your next stay. Thank you again for your review and please do not hesitate to contact me if I may be of any assistance to you in the future.


Here for you,

Christopher Hill
Front Office Manager
La Quinta Inn and Suites, San Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maui
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We've been here a few times and this place can't be beat for bang for your buck. Excellent rooms: clean, spacious for a non-suite, and modern. Service is exemplary. They have a full service bar, a simple but good room service menu, free breakfast, and shuttle service (loved the driver) to the airport. I've stayed in other La Quintas and this one blows them out of the water.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQSanJose, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Aloha Mauigirl8888,

Thank you for staying with us again and for taking the time to let us know how your stay went. Our goal is exceed the expectation of all of our guests and it is wonderful to have repeat guests such as you. I am pleased to hear that you not only utilized our shuttle but also enjoyed our shuttle driver. Your feedback regarding our other amenities is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your next stay. Please let me know if I may be of any assistance to you in the future. Be well!


Here for you,

Christopher Hill
Front Office Manager
La Quinta Inn and Suites, San Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnie, Texas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The location of this hotel is very convenient to the airport and downtown San Jose. We have stayed at this hotel twice and we always enjoy our stay at this hotel. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable. The rooms are worth the price. They also serve a hot breakfast daily.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQSanJose, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello Bretmcbunch,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel, your business is most important to us. I am elated to hear that you enjoyed your return stay and that you found both our staff and amenities to your liking. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future and please feel free to contact me directly if I may be of any assistance to you.


Here for you,

Christopher Hill
Front Office Manager
La Quinta Inn and Suites, San Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

La Quinta San Jose was a great place to stay. Great location, super comfortable beds, and yummy hot breakfast options. The only note is that the lounge was a small and crowded during the breakfast hours, so we had to eat in our rooms. They also have a nice snack market in the lobby, and there is a Burger King across the parking lot -- very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQSanJose, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello Jlef226,

Thank you for reviewing your hotel stay with us. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay in regards to our complimentary breakfast. We make an effort to extend the hours of breakfast so that all guests have an opportunity to eat, but unfortunately there are periods of time when there is high traffic and not enough space for everyone. While we do not have a resolution for this issue, I assure you we are consciously working to find one.

I am happy to hear that you otherwise found our hotel to your liking and were able to enjoy the remainder of your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future. Be well!


Here for you,

Christopher Hill
Front Office Manager
La Quinta Inn & Suites, San Jose Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My friends and I needed a hotel close to the San Jose Airport as we had a flight leaving at 6:05am. La Quinta Inn & Suites was perfect. We got there late at night and checked in with no problem. We then returned our rental cars and the hotel shuttle picked us up in timely fashion and brought us back to the hotel. This saved us a lot of time in the morning as we could then have the shuttle just drop us off at the terminal and not have to deal with rental cars and luggage at 4:30am. The front desk even offered to have breakfast bags made up for us for the morning since we would be leaving so early and would miss their free breakfast. Only ONE CAUTION. We had three people in one room thinking there would be a hid a bed. There was a chair that folded out and it was way too uncomfortable to sleep on so we had to switch to a double queen room. We booked through an outside vendor so we don't blame the hotel for that - we were grateful they had a different room.

Room Tip: Unless you have two queens don't try to squeeze three people into a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQSanJose, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello Runsuerun60,

Thank you for your recent review on your hotel stay at the La Quinta Inn & Suites, San Jose Airport. I am so happy to hear that you found our facility to your liking as well as our amenities. I am also relieved that we were able to provide you with accommodations that comfortably suited your needs.

We look forward to your next stay and please feel free to contact me directly if I may be of any assistance to you in future. Be well!


Here for you,

Christopher Hill
Front Office Manager
La Quinta Inn & Suites, San Jose Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was a little skeptical at first because the price was cheap that it would be getting a substandard hotel. I was very wrong. The front desk staff was very helpful and my room was brand new and clean. The water pressure in the shower was the best I've had in a long time. Even the breakfast in the morning was far superior to other free breakfasts that I've had. I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQSanJose, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello Ekaseta,

Good afternoon and thank you for sharing your hotel stay with us. I am extremely happy to hear that while you found our hotel affordable, you also found the amenities, room cleanliness, complimentary full breakfast and staff customer service to your liking. We would love to have you visit us again and if I may be of any assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you again!


Here for you,

Christopher Hill
Front Office Manager
La Quinta Inn and Suites, San Jose Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport

Address: 2585 Seaboard Ave., San Jose, CA 95131
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#4 Green Hotel in San Jose
#12 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently next to San Jose International Airport just off US 101, the La Quinta Inn San Jose Airport is in the heart of the Silicon Valley. Our guests can enjoy free shuttle service, free parking during stay, and 24-hour friendly customer service. We are within minutes of companies like eBay, Cisco, Intel, Sony, Lockheed Martin and Sun Micro Systems, as well as attractions such as Paramount Great America, Tech Museum of Innovation, Winchester Mystery House, Great Mall, Santana Row. Stay connected in our business center where you can use our fax and copy services, with free high-speed wireless Internet access. A spacious guest room awaits you loaded with amenities like free high-speed wireless Internet access, a HD TV with 120 channels to choose from, refrigerator, microwave, laptop safe and much more. Enjoy your favorite cocktail, beer, or wine at our Lobby Bar called Naki's Lounge! Wake up on the Bright Side to a Free Breakfast each morning near our lobby. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay in San Jose! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn San Jose Airport Hotel San Jose
La Quinta San Jose
San Jose La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.