We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice Near the Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2585 Seaboard Ave., San Jose, CA 95131   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Choice Near the Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This La Quina underwent a recent innovation, and while not apparent looking at the outside of the property, the rooms feel completely new and modern-- comfortable bed, wash basin separate from bathroom in main room, microwave and small refrigerator, bold colors, clean. The breakfast bar was pretty good (comparable to Hampton Inns). I found the staff extremely helpful and friendly. The only downsides are that the walls must be a bit thin, so noise outside the room can be an issue, and the planes start up around 6 am--rather loud in the room (although this is an airport location, the noise insulation isn't that good). Still, a great stay and a cut above the typical airport motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQSanJose, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear SaintLouisTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our brand new property, We value all feedback that we receive from our guests, because we know it will help us improve for the future.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed the renovated rooms as much as we do! The new modern design and upgraded ammenities make us proud to offer our rooms for your stay in San Jose. Our staff though is our pride and joy. They have a dedication to service that I am so glad you got to experience. I will be sure to pass along your kind words.

La Quinta Inn San Jose is an airport property and we do try our best to eliminate the noise from the airport with our double paned windows. We will have to look into something a little more powerful for the future.

Thank you again for staying with us in San Jose and we hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Rachel Rohrenbach
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    100
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
111
46
36
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anoka, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised by the nice new quality fixtures and furniture in the rooms. Stayed on business travel this past week. Outside scared me when I pulled up but the staff and accommodations were excellent!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQSanJose, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Tolson70,

We are so glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with our hotel during your recent stay! We can appreciate the initial shock as you pull into our property biut we can assure you that we are addressing the exterior. Starting the last week or so, we have began working on the exterior of our property. In the near future we will have our water feature up and running as well as a beautifully landscaped pathway around the building.

Please feel free to contact the hotel at any point if you are need of another room in San Jose. Thank you so much for your reveiew of the hotel and we look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Yours in hospitality,

Rachel Rohrenbach
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My 3 children and I were at a dance competition in downtown San Jose where all the hotels were either sold out or ridiculously priced. I saw La Quinta on Trip Advisor and if I have to go to San Jose again this is where I'll stay. Newly renovated rooms, right off the freeway, near the airport, about 8 minutes from downtown, free breakfast, free parking, free wifi, nice TV channel choices, friendly staff. These are all exactly what I need when I'm traveling with my family. The airport is basically across the freeway so you could hear the planes taking off but for us it never was at a time when we were sleeping. My kids slept through the morning flights.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQSanJose, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear klopez_usa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay. I hope your dance competition went well downtown while you were with us. We do have many guests staying with us who come in for conventions or other activities downtown so I am glad to hear how convenient it is to access that area.

During our renovation we were focused on creating the most pleasant guest experience and included in that mission was to reduce the noise coming in from the airport. In order to accomplish this goal we made sure all the rooms were equipped with double paned windows. I can understand how important it is to get a full night's sleep, especially when traveling for a dance competition, so we are pleased to hear your children were able to sleep through the morning.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to the next time you are in San Jose!

Regards,

Rachel Rohrenbach
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

In fairness, I'd never stayed at a La Quinta before. Motels, hotels of similar ilk, yes. This particular La Quinta has renovated it's interior to be modern, with clean lines. Updated mattresses, retrofitted walk-in showers. Free wifi. Overall great value for the money. Two negatives - gym has not been touched in a while; would har been much nicer had they renovated that at the same time. Second, breakfast eggs seemed to scream powdered eggs. I'm sure they are, but they were pretty off.

Location is super close to the airport, so quite convenient. Not really close to restaurants, but there's a strip mall area less than a mile away with chinese, japanese, pizza, thai, practically anything.

Star rating isn't because it's exceptional in a normative sense, but it was great for price point and what I needed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQSanJose, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear AMWHouston,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to give us feedback on our property. I want to assure you that we do take all responses to heart and we are pleased to hear that you had an overall pleasant stay.

For just over a year now we have been renovating the interior of our property as you have stated. Now that this phase of the renovation is complete we are now turning our focus to the exterior, including the Fitness Center that is in the pool area. I apologize that it was not available for you at your time of stay, but I can assure you we are working on updating it.

I do want to apologize that you were not a fan of breakfast eggs. We do use fresh eggs for our breakfast, so I will be sure to speak with our breakfast attendants to see if there is a way to better prepare them so they are more appealing to a wider audience. Thank you for brining these issues to our attention.

Again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in San Jose so we can impress you with our new fitness facilities.

Sincerely,

Rachel Rohrenbach
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed in this property on 24 Feb based on recommendations made by other Trip Advisor members. They were right on point when they identified the property as a hidden Gem! You wouldn't know it from the outside, but the interior of this hotel was totally refurbished and my room was outstanding! The decor was ultra contemporary and nicely done and the room had all of the amenities you'd expect at a much higher price point. I'd definitely stay here again when I pass through San Jose!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQSanJose, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello CarGuru51,

Thank you for staying with us in San Jose. We also appreciate you sharing your experience, because as you have stated, many travellers use the reccommendations of those who have already stayed with us. We are extremely pleased that we lived up to your expectations and are hopeful we exceeded them.

The comments you made about our exterior are true. They are not yet up to the standards that we have set for ourselves. However, we are in the process of updating the landscaping and just broke ground this past week. All of our signs will be updated and there will be a new water feature just outside the front lobby. We are excited to be where we are and can't wait until the renovation is complete so you can have a perfect stay without the distraction of the exterior.

Thank you again for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you the next time you are in San Jose.

Regards,

Rachel Rohrenbach
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport

Address: 2585 Seaboard Ave., San Jose, CA 95131
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#4 Green Hotel in San Jose
#12 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently next to San Jose International Airport just off US 101, the La Quinta Inn San Jose Airport is in the heart of the Silicon Valley. Our guests can enjoy free shuttle service, free parking during stay, and 24-hour friendly customer service. We are within minutes of companies like eBay, Cisco, Intel, Sony, Lockheed Martin and Sun Micro Systems, as well as attractions such as Paramount Great America, Tech Museum of Innovation, Winchester Mystery House, Great Mall, Santana Row. Stay connected in our business center where you can use our fax and copy services, with free high-speed wireless Internet access. A spacious guest room awaits you loaded with amenities like free high-speed wireless Internet access, a HD TV with 120 channels to choose from, refrigerator, microwave, laptop safe and much more. Enjoy your favorite cocktail, beer, or wine at our Lobby Bar called Naki's Lounge! Wake up on the Bright Side to a Free Breakfast each morning near our lobby. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay in San Jose! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn San Jose Airport Hotel San Jose
La Quinta San Jose
San Jose La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.