We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripp off gave me conterfit money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Jose Airport Central Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added San Jose Airport Central Motel to your Saves list
San Jose Airport Central Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 North First Street, I-880, 1st Street Exit, San Jose, CA 95112 (Formerly Motel 6)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Sacramento
1 review
“Ripp off gave me conterfit money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Me and my bestfriend were passing through and stayed at the red roof inn in San jose.we had go to seprate rooms I payed with cash and put a 100$ deposit down of cash.when I went to get my deposit back the younger man at the register gave me 5 conterfit 20$ bills .by the time I relized I was 4 hours away on our way home.I contacted the hotel and the lady said I must have gave them the conterfit.Which was a lie because I had just got the money out of the bank.then 2 days later my girlfriend who had got her room with a credit card notices that the red roof had took 200$ out of her account.and she called an they said check our was 11 and we checked out at 11:06 which even still why would they take 200$ if the room was 80$ a night??? These guys are scamers we reported to the police!! Be carefull

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    4
    0
    18
See reviews for
5
6
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
FL native in the St Louis IL side heartland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

I was surpised at the Red Roof Inn was for the money. They have done recent renovations and the pool was drained during my stay so I am assuming that they are redoing it. It's on the rail/bus line and a 1/2 block from a 24 hour Denny's on one side and a 7-11 next door so you can get just about anything you might need. I am writing this review from the hotel and I have had no problems with the internet access. There were some really exceptional features and some real disappointments but they balanced out to an average stay. I was disappointed by the pool since I had to stay on a Sunday with nothing to do but watch football and I wanted to lay out at the pool, but this was balanced by the very very comfortable bed--which since I have some MAJOR back issues is a huge plus for me. Soft pillows and plenty of them and lots of towels too, a big plus for me. The room (122) was very clean, fairly large, with an iron, full size board and a blow dryer and had a desk area with a nice office chair and a dressing area with good light for makeup application. However, the ONLY telephone was over in the office area so I couldn't answer or use the phone from the bed--an overlooked inconvenience on their part, but again--they aren't native-born and used to these little details. There was no bathtub and the shower could have been a little cleaner--also there were none of the little toiletries I have come to expect. The towels were clean and fresh smelling although a little Downey would have made them softer. The maids didn't speak a word of English although they were pleasant enough and when I addressed them in Spanish, they were eager to help and gave me what I asked for. The carpet was new and the colors in the room were pleasant. The toilet paper was imported from a 3rd world country though--it was like cardboard. The hotel is a mix of good and bad and if they would pay attention to the details, they could be outstanding--but the owners are not from this country and I think this has a lot to do with the wild inconsistencies and paradoxes. The TV was a nice flat screen and it was hi-def but they didn't have the hi-def programming which was confusing, and the batteries in the remote were just about dead--yet another overlooked detail. They were supposed to have a fridge and a microwave in the room but they didn't, but the A/C was excellent and the hi-speed wireless internet was very good although the username and password they gave me was long and involved for some unknown reason. Again, a small detail but the little things are what knocked them from 4 stars to 3 and they could be really good if they'd pay attention to the details. There were nice lights above the bed so I was able to see my computer clearly without glare from an incandescent bulb. It wasn't great but it wasn't a disaster and it could have been so much worse! I got what I paid for and probably a little more, and if they start paying attention to the small details, they could really be a great value for the money! I think they are trying to improve so I'd be willing to stay here again and if they are on an upswing then in a month or two, they should be really nice--and the location by the airport was unbeatable for the $66 a night rate.

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — It's going through a transitional phasse
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, VA
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

If you can't afford a better hotel, then sleep at the airport. We stayed here because of the great reviews on tripadvisor, but I now know to take the reviews with a bag of salt. Half of the pillows had large stains on them, there was food stuck to the counter, the sink had only a trickle of water, and the bed was uncomfortable. We would have left but had to be at the airport very early.

  • Liked — close to airport
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

This place was not what I expected, I have stayed at other motels in the area for business, and they are usually filled with drug-dealers and prostitutes. However this place asked for all the necessary information to ensure I was the kind of guest they wanted, which I appreciated. The motel room has large flat screen TV's, and very comfortable serta beds. The place is located close to a light-rail station which takes you to the convention center, and has a Denny's located right next door. I would recommend this motel to anyone that is in San Jose for business.

  • Liked — Comfortable Beds/Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

My visit was business related so I needed accomodations in this specific area. I found the staff to be helpful - from the front desk to housekeeping. My room was the "Business Deluxe". Oddly enough we got a cheaper rate by calling the hotel on the day of my visit than I found on the internet.

Pros:
The room size was adequate.

Nice comfy bed with nice sheets, marble counter tops in bathroom and vanity area.

Microwave and fridge were newer and working great.

A dedicated desk area for working, swivel adjustable desk chair, and 3 easy to get to power outlets.

A WONDERFUL flat screen TV that pivoted so it could be watched comfortably in bed or at the desk.

Good towels.

Nice hot water and shower head.

A window in the bathroom that opens for cross ventilation in the room.

We stayed in a second floor unit in the back so there was very little road noise.

Cons:
Heating/Cooling unit is noisy and seemed to take a long time to heat the room (winter visit).

In the king bed unit we stayed in, the bed is about 18 inches from the Heating/Cooling unit so the person in bed by the unit gets air blown on them constantly.

Very cheap bath soap and shampoo.

Small shower - one person at a time only.

And the worst, for business travel, the WIFI is erratic and VERY slow. There were hours every day that I could not even get a web page to load even though the signal said, "very good".

  • Liked — Flat screen TV!
  • Disliked — WI FI connection was very poor.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2004

Near the airport, right on the light rail line, and next door to a 24-hour Denny's, this budget motel is everything I expected it to be.
The one surprise? How clean my room was! The one disappointment?
Someone parked a Hummer right outside my door. But that's not the motel's fault (though they could have asked the guest to park a little further away with such a noisy vehicle). Management is friendly (gave me the AAA discount even though I had forgotten to bring my card) and fair. It was a bargain room, just about what you'd expect for $65/night. A step above a Super 8. Location is good if you're there for a convention (I was) and if you have a car (I didn't). But the room was well-ventilated, good cable tv, a VERY clean bathroom, and had good lighting, a working coffee maker, and a hot shower. A few problems though--the vending machines didn't work, the continental breakfast is pathetic (juice in Dixie cups and preservative-filled sweet rolls wrapped in plastic), and my friends had to change rooms because of an ant problem in their room. Other than that, though, it's a fairly good motor lodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Jose Airport Central Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jose Airport Central Motel

Address: 1440 North First Street, I-880, 1st Street Exit, San Jose, CA 95112 (Formerly Motel 6)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Jose Airport Central Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Jose Airport Central is 1 mile from San Jose Intl Airport and next to the Light Rail Station. Dining is nearby. Reserve our conference room. Free Micro-fridges in select rooms. Free Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Jose Airport Central Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Jose
San Jose Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Jose Airport Central Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.