We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Obviously has been a good hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added San Jose Airport Garden Hotel to your Saves list
San Jose Airport Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 North First Street, San Jose, CA 95112   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Obviously has been a good hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Room is fine. Bed is very hard, top sheet not long enough to cover feet—and I'm only 5'5". Very nice bathroom. As I have an allergy to feathers, I asked to have the feather pillows changed. They brought ONE foam pillow, as though I wouldn't be impacted by the remaining 5 feather pillows. I gave the foam pillow to my husband, and put a bath towel into the pillow protector and pillowcase with which I always always travel. Dinner at the Bar and Grill was okay. Our meals were served on paper inside plastic baskets, but the burger I had was very good. Husband's fish and chips were okay. The room has all hard surfaces, so the 20 or so guests sounded like a hundred people screaming in a tiny room. There were only two waitresses serving, and I think cooking, the meals so the service was almost nonexistent. In fact, as I woke before my husband had to get up to start his organized bicycle ride, I drove home rather than staying to eat breakfast. Online there is mention of an Amalfi Bar and Grill, but the name Amalfi name only occurred on the little map we were given when my husband checked in. Reviews had suggested a finer establishment than I experienced.if I ever stay here again, I will bring my own pillow, and possibly my own blanket, as I'm not fond of heavy comforters in the summer. Wish I'd read more reviews, as it didn't know that all buildings with rooms are separate from the lobby or restaurant. The grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjcagardenhotel, Manager at San Jose Airport Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
You have certainly provided an detailed description for your stay. Your feedback is quite helpful to our continuous improvement process. We will certainly take your suggestions into consideration in our efforts to make it more enjoyable for future guests. Thank you for your business and we hope to welcome the group back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    92
    94
    116
    73
See reviews for
67
59
38
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I would like to commend some specific staff members of the hotel. Anthony at the reception desk was outstanding in listening to an issue and finding a satisfactory resolution. Francesco, a door man, (that sounds disrespectful but I don't know any other way to identify him), was super friendly, cheerful and welcoming. Lupe, house cleaning, made it a point to welcome me to the hotel, introduced herself and offered her assistance if any house keeping issue arose. All three of these people deserve commendation and they have earned my respect . These are the inter-personal relationships that help define a hotel and their impression was excellent.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjcagardenhotel, Manager at San Jose Airport Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
The staff can really make a big difference in a hotel stay and I was pleased to hear that you found our team friendly and helpful. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Stephanie James
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahoe
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

With the great price for the Park and Fly package I knew I was getting a good deal and that I was not in a luxury hotel but it was just a creepy place...dark, underlit parking lots, outside areas, hallways. Our room looked out on a junk pile in back. Windows were open with no screens when we walked in. Noisy rooms where you could hear all your neighbors and running and screaming in the hallways in the middle of the night! When we arrived back from trip and needed to get our car, I had trouble getting anyone on the phone to request a pick up. One van arrived and could not fit all the passengers waiting!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I would characterize this as a fancy motel instead of a hotel because it is necessary to walk outside in order to go from any of the rooms to the lobby or restaurant.

This property is older, but fairly well kept. That being said, there was a musty smell in the hallway and in my room. The smell might bother some people. During the day, the hallway was very hot.

After the first night I was there, I found a large spider near the tub. I subsequently kept the bathtub drain hole covered and did not see any more insects during the reminder of my stay.

The beds were too mushy for me and aggravated my back.

On the positive side, I much enjoyed walking through the classical, Mediterranean style courtyard. The best part about this motel is its close proximity to the airport.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on June 8th, 2014 and the room offered to us was smelling very bad. We called the room service and they came and sprayed some room freshner but the smell was still very bad. We then called front desk and got our room changed. Looks like a very old hotel which needs a lot of revamping.

Room Tip: The ground level rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We chose the San Jose Airport Garden Hotel when we had a 24-hour layover between flights to Kauai. I will never stay at this hotel again. First of all, we had to call three times for a shuttle. The first time, no one picked up the phone at all. The second time, I still couldn't reach the shuttle office but the hotel operator said they would send a driver. About 30 minutes later I called again and was told that the shuttle driver had not been able to pick us up because there was no room in the van after he boarded guests at a different terminal. He would have to come back for us. Finally someone came and it took all of five minutes to get to the hotel. So much ado about nothing! At the hotel there is so much deferred maintenance that I didn't want to touch anything. The walls were dirty and the awning outside was torn and filthy. In our bathroom, it was apparent that attempts had been made to repair and paint the door frames, but the paint was globbed on thickly and it had seeped onto the tile floor. The hair dryer didn't work. The vending machines cost $2.25 for soda but wouldn't take a $5 bill. The breakfast buffet was cold. I could go on. Suffice to say that the only positive things about this place were the friendly staff and nicely groomed gardens.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjcagardenhotel, Manager at San Jose Airport Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. While I am pleased that you found our staff and garden grounds to be positive, I apologize for the less than satisfactory shuttle experience. Our drivers do need to confirm the hotel as there has been much confusion with the San Jose Airport Hotel, property located one street behind us. However, once confirmed by the guest that should be sufficient. I apologize for the wait and we will certainly re-check this room to insure that everything is in proper working order. We value your business and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Stephanie James
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was here for a work related event. The room was clean and comfortable but a bit small. The bathroom in particular was very small. It also did not have proper ventilation in the bathroom so it got very steamy and hot. The pool was nice as was the bar area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjcagardenhotel, Manager at San Jose Airport Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is quite helpful to our continuous improvement process. We will certainly take your comments into consideration in our efforts to make it more enjoyable for future guests. Thank you for your business and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Stephanie James
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to San Jose Airport Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Address: 1740 North First Street, San Jose, CA 95112
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Jose Airport Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your San Jose Airport Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Jose Airport Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.