We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Mexican spot in Santana Row.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Consuelo Mexican Bistro

Consuelo Mexican Bistro
377 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128-2053
408-260-7082
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Consuelo Mexican Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #302 of 1,953 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Olsen Drive
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice Mexican spot in Santana Row.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

On the corner, with sidewalk seating on either side, this Mexican Bistro has some very non-traditional items on the menu. We tried the Chicken Tinga Tostaditos, which were very a very tasty appetizer, especially if you like chicken pibil from the Yucatan. We also had the table side guacamole made to our liking, with thick totopos style chips. And the house made corn tortillas are worth the visit just by themselves, served with a trio of salsa's for dipping. If you want Mexican on Santana Row, this is the place to go!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    31
    16
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food and service, ambience could be somewhat improved.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I went to Consuelo with some colleagues on a training visit to Silicon Valley. We simply wandered down Santana Row and ended up here without a reservation, but they accommodated an unexpected party of 7 with only a 5 minute wait.

Prices are on the higher side of normal, but largely in line with other restaurants on the Row.

Staff were attentive and took the orders efficiently, making recommendations where appropriate. Service was quick and with a minimum of fuss.

The food was very good, and as others have said, the guacamole made at the table is great, even for someone like me who is normally not very enthused by it. The portion sizes are small, but this is probably to be expected as the menu does advertise them as "Tapas style". With the fresh tortillas and tortilla chips and the guacamole, no-one left the table hungry.

We did find the music a little loud, and several in our party found the flickering lights very off-putting. I'm not sure if this was a result of a fault or by design to add ambience, but we did find it irritating. You may want to take this into account if you suffer from epilepsy, it may not helpful.

Overall we did enjoy our meal and I would probably go here again if I was in San Jose again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We very much enjoy eating here... their food is quite original, especially their mole and the scallops. The tableside guacamole is outstanding. And we very much enjoy the steady supply of freshly made tortillas. And their desert is yummy too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food is average and sometimes worse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pros: the tableside guacamole is great!
Cons: the salads are a bit wilted & overdressed, the chicken dishes tasted "canned"

Beware: if you order a margarita it may come with salt on the rim that has been mixed with hot red pepper. Ask for regular salt if you prefer it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Santana Row is full of great food options but Consuelos has the food and the location. The tableside guac is a great way to start... followed by margaritas of course! Our food is always excellent and the service is great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Consuelo Mexican Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Consuelo Mexican Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Consuelo Mexican Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.