We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is average and sometimes worse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Consuelo Mexican Bistro

Consuelo Mexican Bistro
377 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128-2053
408-260-7082
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Consuelo Mexican Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #235 of 1,922 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Olsen Drive
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food is average and sometimes worse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pros: the tableside guacamole is great!
Cons: the salads are a bit wilted & overdressed, the chicken dishes tasted "canned"

Beware: if you order a margarita it may come with salt on the rim that has been mixed with hot red pepper. Ask for regular salt if you prefer it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    29
    13
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Santana Row is full of great food options but Consuelos has the food and the location. The tableside guac is a great way to start... followed by margaritas of course! Our food is always excellent and the service is great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice (but expensive) Mexican food on Santana Row”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If we could give 1/2 stars, I would have given a 3.5.

Pro: Yummy guac, made at the table. Served with fresh-made chips and hot tortillas, delicious.
Con: It was $11. Which is excessive for the portion size. You are supposed to be able to tell them how spicy, we said spiciest-- eh, wasn't too spicy.

Pro: Carnitas for lunch special was pull-apart good, huge portion size. Friend enjoyed the enchiladas mole, nice flavor.
Con: Accompanying tortilla soup was more like enchilada sauce than soup? Strange, and not that exciting.

Pro: Margaritas are fresh and delicious. Mojitos are beautiful and yummy.
Con: Most start at >$10, and go up quickly from there.

Summary: The reason to choose this restaurant is because it is located in Santana Row, which is a lovely open-air mall with plenty to see and enjoy. Otherwise, there are better (more delicious and more reasonably-priced) Mexican restaurants in the area. And frankly, there are better restaurants in Santana Row-- however, I'd encourage a visit to Santana Row in general, and if you want Mexican, this is the only place on the strip. And it's good, just not worth the excessive price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spontaneous pick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Recently visited Santana Row during a trip to Santa Clara University for my daughter. We had a couple of hours to kill, so we went here on the recommendation of the school's admissions people. I don't normally choose Mexican (we live in Phoenix so I feel like I've eaten enough Mexican to last the next few years), but the smells coming from this place were so tempting that I picked it. I had the Chile Relleno Carne, my daughter had the chicken chimi, and my wife had the tortilla soup. We were very happy with our choices, and enjoyed the beautiful view of Santana Row from the outdoor tables.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Consuelo is *the* mexican place for Santan Row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Tableside guacamole has become a staple in many a mexican restaurants and Consuelo has perfected it. While the serving size could be more generous, it was excellent. The chips are fresh and served hot as were the homemade tortillas.

With two patio areas for outdoor seating, there just isn't a reason to sit inside unless you want to be at the bar ... in which case, it looked well stocked. The front patio faces one of Santana Row's main drags, the secondary patio faces the movie theater and parking - not as great an ambience but beautiful weather dictates taking advantage of outdoor seating versus a darker inside space.

The carnitas is a HUGE portion and obviously slow cooked. Beyond good! The chile relleno de carnitas was not as big but served over a very flavorful mole.

Quick service, great food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Consuelo Mexican Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Consuelo Mexican Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Consuelo Mexican Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.