We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Sushi, No Tempra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gombei Japanese Restaurant

Gombei Japanese Restaurant
193 Jackson St, San Jose, CA 95112-5108
408-279-4311
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 1,953 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No Sushi, No Tempra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Never had such good real Japanese food ever in the States. even better than having that kind of Teishoku in Japan. Their fish, Nimono are awesome! you will have to try them!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese Diner-Not a Sushi Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Don't make the mistake of thinkng that Gombei is a sushi bar. It's a traditional Japanese diner; you go there to eat! It's located on the western edge of Japantown San Jose. I have been going there for years and I have never been disappointed. It's a small reataurant so during busy times you may have to wait or elect to sit at the counter. The selection of food is very good. You can chose from more well-known Japanese dishes such as teriyaki beef/chicken, or check the menu on the backwall for more tradtional Japanese food. The San Jose Gombei does not sell sushi (they do have sashimi). You will need to visit one of the local sushi restaraunts located close by. The portions are large and tasty. Having eaten Japanese food all of my life I can say that the food is tasty and authentic. The decor is plain but it is always clean.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Simple, fine, authentic Japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Located for decades on Jackson St. near the eastern edge of San Jose's "J-town," Gombei is so small and unassuming, that you can easily miss it. Make sure you don't though if you're in the mood for some traditional Japanese meals. Service is fast and the food is as the title says. They accept only cash, albeit this may have changed since my last visit which was over a year ago.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfort food for weary traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Gombei is a place that I come to repeatedly when I'm in the area. I good there for the food which is excellent. But over the years have come to like even some of the quirky things like cash only policy and no seating without the full party. They are polite but very strict about these things. When I went there this time, I went with a friend who got there early and was stuck waiting outside. He wasn't happy about it but the food won him over. Service is polite and efficient. I'll keeping coming here when I'm in town on business.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My favorite sushi restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I love being able to sit at their rotating sushi bar and ordering from their sushi chefs in the center of the bar. Their fish is always super fresh, and they have uni, which is one of my favorites.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gombei Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gombei Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gombei Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.