We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed, a beauty in distress….” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Overfelt Gardens

Overfelt Gardens
2145 McKee Road, San Jose, CA 95133
(408) 277–5561
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 64 Attractions in San Jose
Granite Bay, California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Indeed, a beauty in distress….”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

They had three ponds, two dried up. This is really sickening when you see the sidewalks and streets getting watered elsewhere in San Jose. The one remaining pond has geese, ducks and turtles, all in filthy water. The grounds are huge and were impressive at one time, it is pathetic to me that they are letting the wildlife suffer so much. A groundkeeper told me they are refusing to allow any wildlife rescue societies to come and save the non-migratory birds and the turtles, so they are dying. How very sad! How can they be so cruel to wildlife, yet allow precious water to wastefully run all over concrete - and no one in power cares? Tax dollars wasted, and animals suffering. SHAMEFUL! This is definitely NO wildlife "SANCTUARY"! More of a wildlife deathtrap. :(.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    0
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A beauty in distress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The gardens are large and so beautiful! But there's trash all around, a broken sprinkler, and a river that doesn't have any water in it. From what I could tell, a budget cut has caused this garden to become under maintained. It was heart breaking.
A rock there had a message from Taiwan, they hope that the Chinese cultural part of the Overfelt Garden would prosper. If there were boy scouts, or any sort of volunteer group that would help, in 1 day the Garden would look so much better than it does.

Despite all of this, the wild life in the ponds and the scenic walk proved to be very much worth my time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A great hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A hidden garden that do not get much visitors. However, that is the beauty of it. Secluded, clean, peaceful, beautiful, and full of history.

In here, you will find the Chinese Cultural Garden, Mildred Overfelt's old house (this used to be her dairy farm), a fragrance garden, and a wildlife sanctuary, who is dominated by Canadian Geese.

It's free, plenty of parking, and a great little stroll.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I went to this park on a whim due to need for some physical activity, and was plesantly suprised. It's nice, clean, peaceful park for a walk- there're lots of ducks/geese, ponds, beautiful trees including an area full of palm trees. You'll also find a Chinese cultural center, along with beautiful architecture and statues. As it started to get dark, however, I didn't feel safe in the area, maybe due to being the only one there? Regardless, it can get secluded, and I left due to safety concerns. So my tip is to go with someone- if you're solo like I was, go early in the day. Overall, this is a great park to take a stroll- very nice, clean and relaxing.

The park is open from 10:00- Sunset. I wouldn't stay there past sunset anyway for reasons mentioned above- safely concerns. Almost got stuck there- as I was about to leave, a gentleman was locking the gate, and had already locked the parking lot. So remember to leave as it's starts getting dark or you may just be stuck in the park!

No fishing, swimming, dogs, biking, drinking, roller skating or grilling in the park. You'll also find the occasional duck/geese poop along your walk.....but that's what nature is all about. Oh, professional photgraphers must get a 'special park use permit' to take pictures at this park; pictures & videos not allowed for commercial use.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Overfelt Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Overfelt Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overfelt Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.