We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Will Wait For a Table...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bill's Cafe

Bill's Cafe
1115 Willow St, San Jose, CA 95125
(408) 294-1125
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 1,919 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“You Will Wait For a Table...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We waited close to an hour at 11 am on a Saturday morning. They provide free coffee while you are waiting - a nice touch. Was it worth the wait? Place is packed for good reason. Food is fresh, well prepared, generous portions. I had the French omelet (sucker for goat cheese) and it was great, my son had one of the Benedicts (there are many to choose from) with pork and salsa. I could not believe he ate it all but he sure did. We would definitely go back, perhaps a bit earlier in the day.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    23
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Food tastes fresh, great atmosphere and was worth the wait :) located in a great area with plenty of parking areas and cool shops to walk by

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An American Standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Bill's serves the great American breakfast. I take my grandchildren here for a 1:1 breakfast that has become our thing. They always find something to eat while I can find something healthy. I have not tried they TexMex dishes but the menu makes them sound as good as the standards.

Two traditions they honor is the bottomless cup of coffee and not hurrying you through your meal. We have sometimes visited for several hours and they never shooed us out. I appreciate that thoughtfulness. At the same time, when they are really swamped, we reciprocate by continuing our dialog on the walk home.

Good for breakfast or lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Still good, but not as good as it was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Oh sweet success! Bill's is always full, the wait on a weekend is easily 30 to 45 minutes.
We have been coming to the 2 locations ( I think the 3rd more recent in South San Jose is a run by a cousin ) for years. The food is typically breakfast, with a South-of-the-border influence. Portions are large and food of decent quality. So if you want large portions of decent typical American breakfast foods; from bacon, links, eggs in many styles to pancakes and waffles, this might be heaven for you.
If however you are looking for extraordinary, new, inventive and a larger selection of healthy choices, Bill's is not. Coffee is typical Anerican breakfast as well, light ( did I say watery?)bland and plenty.
Their Bloody Mary is what brought me back in the past, but it gets weaker as the lines get longer
Biggest problem: you will feel rushed . Business is business, and they want you in and out the quickest possible.
Not much reason for a detour, but if you are close by, hungry and have a craving for that 1500 cal + breakfast - go for it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Pescadero, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“YUMMMMMM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We ate at both the Bill's on Willow, and the one on the Alameda. Both are excellent!

I loved that my husband could order breakfast while I ordered lunch. He loved his eggs and sausage; hash browns seemed fresh, a rarity! Bread is fresh and delicious. Coffee is yummy.

I had the chopped salad--huge and fresh, with delicious dressing and a soft bread stick. It came with a cup of the most outrageously delicious Greek lemon chicken rice soup. Next time I'm getting a bowl of that.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bill's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bill's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.