We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong Review!!! I just reviewed "Flames Eatery and Bar...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flames Eatery & Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Flames Eatery & Bar
88 S. Fourth St, San Jose, CA 95112
408-971-1960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 1,902 restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
san francisco,ca
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wrong Review!!! I just reviewed "Flames Eatery and Bar...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

But the review went to 'Three Flames Cafe' please correct!!!
A review I just submitted for FLAMES EATERY and BAR in San Jose, CA. was posted for the wrong restaurant...Please correct!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    9
    5
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san francisco,ca
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Breakfast and happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Extensive and creative breakfast menu with the option of bottomless Mimosas for $9.00 I wouldn't recommend the food here for lunch or dinner, but they do have a pretty cool happy hour every night from 9:00pm till closing. All drinks and appetizers are 1/2 off.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An asset to downtown SJ, but very noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Open seven days/week, even some holidays. One of the very few places open July 4th , for instance.

Food is good, fairly priced. Large number of menu selections. Wines by the glass fairly priced. A go-to place for breakfast if you're downtown SJ; in fact, practically the only place DT SJ where you can get breakfast 7 days/week.

Large main dining area, smaller one by the kitchen, outside seating, as well. Banquet room. On the bottom floor of a parking garage where they accept get 2 hours validated parking from any number of DT restaurants..

Two problems--AC doesn't keep the place cool, and the noise, even when the main dining room is only half full, is very annoying. Only half the ceiling has ceiling tiles to muffle the sound. The rest is a hard surface that bounces the loud talking and noisy kids all over the room, as they compete with the music. Friendly and efficient staff, efficient kitchen. Wrap around bar seats about 25, fifteen places can see the two flat screens.

Overall a good deal for the money...if you don't mind the noise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fair place with a group of six”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Interesting restaurant, right next to San Jose State University. I was with a group of six and I had an Italian sausage panini, and was less than spectacular. the waiter wasn't too enthusiastic, and I had to ask for my iced tea twice. Wasn't too crowded when we walked in during the lunch hour and was seated promptly. I might try it one more time in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Go-to in downtown San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Friendly, friendly, friendly staff. Breakfast is good. Lunch is good. Dinner is good. A sundae with two spoons before hitting the airport is good.
Wonderful prime rib on the weekends.
Appetizers are really good as well. I don't think I've ever had anything here I didn't like.
If you're looking for a place in San Jose to grab a bite, this is a classic.
Park in the garage - the restaurant will validate your parking.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flames Eatery & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Flames Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flames Eatery & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.