We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmm...pountine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Chef Counter

Little Chef Counter
87 N San Pedro St, San Jose, CA 95110
(408) 294-2066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #256 of 1,953 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“mmm...pountine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

You need to try their poutine...especially the chicken cordon bleu poutine. All of the food that I have had there has been great. And their service is really good too.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Duck Fat Fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I may never be able to go back to eating regular French fries again. These were amazing! My burger was a little dry but they are willing to put a burger patty on a salad for those who don't eat flour/bread/gluten. Also, my husband had the stead and cheese poutine and said it was amazing. Overall, a great meal. We will be going back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a good bet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My husband and I love this place and I am particularly addicted to the chicken and waffles they have had for the last several months at brunch. I will say that their latest reincarnation of said chicken and waffles has been disappointing (I much preferred it in the waffle bowl) but that is the only slightly disappointing thing I have ever eaten there. As for the poutine... It sets the bar!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Texas size portions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The sliders were not bad but at that price, it's a bit hefty for lunch. The fries weren't bad. Definitely a different taste to your typical fries but as a french fry connoisseur, it wasn't the variety that had me gorging because I couldn't put it down. Very generous portions for lunch, which is a bit wasteful. I felt like I was in Texas again. Would be better if they reduced it and reduce the prices to match.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Must try the Poutine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

First time here and I tried the braised beef Poutine... AMAZING!
There is plenty on the plate for 2 meals but still managed the entire serving. Awesome stuff.
Fries were amazing, beef was super tender and the gravy was perfect.
Gotta have this on your list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Chef Counter also viewed

 

Been to Little Chef Counter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Chef Counter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.