We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 good reasons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Back A Yard

Back A Yard
80 N Market St, San Jose, CA
408-294-8626
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 1,696 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“3 good reasons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

1) Reggae Music
2) Jerk Chicken and Pork
30 Red Stripe Beer


The first two were hot and the third one was ice cold. Need I say more?!?

Give it a go

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really not that great.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I'm really surprised this place has such high stars. Went here Aug. 10, 2013 in between the acts at the San Jose Jazz Festival because I've been to the other location. I remember the food being good. This time, the food was not.

I ordered the snapper and shrimp. It came with fries and coleslaw. The shrimp looked like they were pre-frozen and were not good. The coating on the snapper was a bit too crunchy and the fries - well, you can buy those same ones at any grocery story.

The coleslaw wasn't half bad, but for almost $15, the food should have been WAY better.

I did taste someone else's jerk chicken. It was moist and flavorful, but it would not bring me back. Highly disappointed overall.

One last thing, the ginger beer was really, really good. Would pair well with some vodka or rum.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Always get a good meal there for a reasonable price. The jerk is a must the first time but go again and try some of the other stuff. Very good, too. Used to drive to San Mateo, I'm glad they opened in SJC.
Order at counter and seating provided.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Tasty jerk chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I went with 3 friends on a Monday night, one had been here previously and recommended it. The decor is bright, with murals painted on the walls and Caribbean music playing in the background. At our table, we checked the menu, then we ordered at the counter, and the food was brought to our table. We all ordered the jerk chicken (you can choose from dark or white meat) which was tasty and well seasoned, the white meat was moist, good sized portion, with a salad, rice and beans and plantains. The plate comes with extra jerk sauce, but be careful, it's potent! The servers refilled our water glasses, checked if we wanted refills on the beers, the service was good, servers are friendly. We all enjoyed our dinner and would come again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Tasty Caribbean Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Back A Yard, a Menlo Park mainstay, has opened a downtown San Jose location. Yea! Great jerk chicken and other Caribbean food. You've got to love a place that serves oxtails. Portions are generally large, although there have been times when the portions were smaller. Service is slow, but your patience is rewarded by wonderful food. So, don't plan on a fast meal. The Menlo Park location does a lot of take-out; it has a few tables for eat-in. The San Jose location took over space from a series of failed restaurants. While some people do take-out, the tables are well spaced and the decor nice, so most people eat in. Ordering at both locations is at the register. Food is delivered to the table in San Jose. Diners pick up at the counter in Menlo Park. The fried catfish (pictured) was OK. Stick to the jerk chicken or other signature dishes. Daily specials in San Jose.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back A Yard also viewed

 

Been to Back A Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back A Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.