We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously good fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blowfish Sushi--Santana Row

Blowfish Sushi--Santana Row
335 Santana Row, Suite 1010, San Jose, CA 95128
(408) 345-3848
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 1,696 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Seriously good fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

What else can I say? It is somewhat costly, but you are in for a treat! Good cocktails and plain view of the local wildlife helps

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    34
    25
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A lucky stumble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and i were staying at the Valencia and looking for a place to eat. We were lucky that we just walked out from the hotel and walked straight in to two seats at the sushi bar at Blowfish.

While this is definitely high-end sushi with the price to match we loved the chic ambience as well as both the classic and innovative sushi.

If you like sushi, this is definitely the place to go in the area

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I've been here many times when visiting San Jose with work, and normally a week out there isn't complete without a visit. Most recently was the second week of October. The food is consistently good and I like the range on the menu.

Favourites? The tartare pyramid, volcano rolls, and of course King Raffi

If you like sushi then you should like this place...

M

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Incredible sushi!!!....atmosphere leaves something to be desired....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The sushi was sincerely incredible!!!!....fantastic & unique rolls....the Shishito peppers are incredible!!!...we had three orders of them!! The service was excellent. The atmosphere however completely sucked!!....we arrived there on a Friday night about eight o'clock & couldn't believe when we walked in & it was more like a club atmosphere than a five star restaurant. The music was so loud that I could hardly hear the hostess when she asked us if we wanted a table. Luckily she found one for us that was around the corner a bit so the music was not quite so deafening. I hope the manager reads this because I loved the food, but the whole dining "experience" would be MUCH better if I didn't need earplugs while dining with my beautiful wife.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice and all, but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Sushi is not all that... atmosphere is cool.. but there are way better places for sushi around. Oh and it's a little pricey too.. So it's not all that, sorry.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blowfish Sushi--Santana Row also viewed

 

Been to Blowfish Sushi--Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blowfish Sushi--Santana Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.