We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced hole in the wall” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zona Rosa

Zona Rosa
1411 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126
408-275-1411
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zona Rosa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 1,953 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shasta
Miami
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Overpriced hole in the wall”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed in this supposed high end Mexican restaurant. While quality was good, portions were very small for the price.

A real hole in the wall, but not in a good way. Seats were crammed together so that you were right on top of other patrons on all sides. Not in the least bit quaint or appealing.

Avoid.


  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Now this is what a local restaurant should be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. The food was excellent, the service exceptional and the atmosphere perfect.

Went here for lunch and they really took care of us. Food was exceptional and the service the same. Servers were very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us. Loved the food and the atmosphere.

Love this place. Great job.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food but small portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Every thing my group had was amazing. Don't expect large portions but expect amazing. Definitely a place to try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great boutique Mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful little place. Ended up sitting on the sidewalk patio. Lovely atmosphere and great tasting food. Server made a great recommendation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Concept....poorly executed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very excited about the combination of flavors here; however, was very disappointed in all dishes, except one: the carne asada. Which really was not carne asada, but instead was a heavily argentine-like marinated small pieces of steak. Steak was tender and flavorful, in a delicious cream sauce. fyi ~ 4 oz of beef ($19)
All other orders were tiny. and I went with 4 college-age girls that weighed ~ 115 lbs each, on average.
Empanadas were not only flavorless, but not even filled. Seriously. Two 3-inch long 'pastry shells' laying limply on lettuce.
Guacamole could have been great....except again: flavorless. No heat, no salt, no lime.
Mahi mahi tacos. OK, but you get 2 tiny tiny smallest corn tortillas I've ever seen....with ~ 1 oz. of fish on each.
Chilaquiles, enchiladas, fundidos (2 kinds...one with a meatball sitting in beans....I'm not kidding) some kind of nasty soup with red chile.....the soup was basically carne adovada 'soup' with shredded chicken instead of pork chunks. The texture was miserable....as it was grainy red chile soup. The poor girl that ordered it, could not eat it, even after adding sour cream and chips....but I tasted it and found it spicy, but worse: not good.
Service: the people individually were wonderful.
The actual restaurant service was terrible.
Everything took too long; we had to ask for everything - including drink orders; when we asked for sour cream, the woman returned with less than a single tablespoon - again - not kidding.
The crowded tables are uncomfortable.
I will never return and will advise all visitors to San Jose or Santa Clara to avoid this place.
Oh and we spent $30 per person - including 2 beers and 3 soft drinks/teas. So ~ $25 per person for tiny food portions.
We actually went to another place so we could eat huge desserts.....we were ALL hungry after the meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zona Rosa also viewed

 

Been to Zona Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zona Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.