We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late night dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse
925 Blossom Hill Rd, Ste 1535, San Jose, CA 95123-1250
408-284-4260
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #252 of 1,953 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Late night dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Had dinner at the bar, some of the bar staff are a little to chatty to eachother when they should be spending a little more time and attention on thier guest. The food was good, had the fried chicken with mashed potaoes and a beer.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Stay away when it's busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stop off at BJ's for dinner occasionally, and it's usually pretty good. There's lots of variety on the menu. Salads are tasty and interesting, as are their "signature" deep-dish pizzas. Their Jumbalaya is really nothing like the actual dish as you'd get it in the south, but it's interesting nevertheless. I find most of their in-house brews to be pretty bland, with the exception of Jeremiah Red, which has a deeper flavor.

One thing I've noticed is that the quality of the food seems to take a dive when the restaurant is busy. I had dinner there on Friday night. The place was packed (and very noisy). I ordered a Mediterranean Pizza - usually very good - but it arrived (10 minutes after the rest of my party was served) overcooked, with burnt olives and burnt bell peppers on it, and the remaining ingredients slapped on vary haphazardly. It was the worst pizza I've ever had. I'll give them another chance, but not on a busy night.

Overall, BJ's is just an easy place to go with (usually) good food, but it's noisy, and the service is hit & miss.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great social restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The food is pretty good and the drinks are great. I've never gone without getting a Pizookie. It's absolutely my favorite dessert!

They also have several TVs and a first-come seating area around the bar if you want to roll the dice on dropping in.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Newark Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

It was what the Mayor of Newark needed. Revenue for his town. Always busy and easy parking and the food is good Bar Food. Drinks etc. Service has been good on each visit. Trendy.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“I LOVE the ahi tuna salad here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I go out of my way to visit BJ's. They have a huge menu, but I refuse to try anything other than the ahi tuna salad. It's so good! I've been to the one in Cupertino and the one in San Jose, multiple times. I do recommend it for casual dining. There is something on the menu for everyone.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse also viewed

 

Been to BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.