We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Armadillo Willy's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Armadillo Willy's
2071 Camden Ave, San Jose, CA 95124
(408) 371-9033
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #235 of 1,922 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Milpitas, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

When you really crave for a nice and delicious BBQ any kind go to Armadillo Willy's they have big servings and very filling. Good service and really good tasting BBQ.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“excelled bar-b-que”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Located in a trip center on Camden. Good sized, well lit, clean restaurant with TVs and plenty of seating. I had the pulled pork which was excellent and I thought the bar-b-que sause was great. My sides were potato salad (highly recommend!) and baked beans (didn't like - they were more like soup & I thought the flavor was bland - just not what I'm used to). The kitchen area has an open view and looked very clean. While I was there one of the cooks was yelling at another kitchen employee and threatening to quit because too many employees just wanted free salmon and he didn't want them touching his salmon -- which I found amusing. Guess I should have tried the salmon!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Decent BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you're looking for a place to bring your family, this is the place. The BBQ is decent, and your kids can run around.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Willy's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Oh! This is one of my favorites. So good! I recommend anyone to check it out. There ribs and steak is delicious and potato salad and house salad. The best restaraunt invented.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really good food and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Simple and very good tasting food. Everything available from indulgent to healthy meal choices.
We have had several meals at Armadillo Willy's and have yet to spend more that $26 for the two of us. The service even when they are busy is very good. You can tailor your sandwich , choice of meat and bread makes your choices quite broad. The salads are also very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armadillo Willy's also viewed

 

Been to Armadillo Willy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armadillo Willy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.