We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegetarian options, very good service, interesting menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqui Cal-Mex

Aqui Cal-Mex
1145 Lincoln Ave, San Jose, CA 95125-3002
(408) 995-0381
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 1,922 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
430 reviews 430 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian options, very good service, interesting menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just had lunch here with my wife. Loved the food. Compared to many Mexican places, they use much less cheese. There was a good mix of vegetables, but was not too heavy, in our California enchiladas. We also ordered avocado. With that, their various selection of salsas, & their unlimited refill chips, we were full. The menu is interesting - and not your typical Mexican. There is a great selection of vegetarian items & a separate vegetarian menu, & several vegan options. You order at the counter. Devon M at the counter was helpful in checking ingredients to make sure what we were getting was truly vegetarian. The place is clean & attractive. Parking is on the street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    40
    5
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Expand the bar!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Having been eating here since they opened years ago, this place has become a Willow Glen institution. It still brings in the local families of often 2 or 3 generations to dine in on the weekends, but the tiny bar has become a something scary singles pickup joint. Middle aged guys in Ricky Ricardo getups, cheap looking younger women, along with local sampling of the cougar crowd, all tangle for space in a small and overcrowded space at night. One used to be able to order food and watch the game at the bar, that is now an impossibility with the drinking only pickup scene. Well, times they are a changing...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Specials are great at times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

A mexican flair but universal in the menu. Many great items and the specials are beyond compare more thimes than not. Creative menu and great taste. All self-serve, but nice.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Varied menu, effciient service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I'm not a big Cal-Mex fan, but I like good food. We eat here 2-3 times a month and my family and friends rave about the Southwest Caesar and mango chicken salads. The Thai chicken tacos are good, and the burritos are substantial and healthy. The guacamole is exceptional and you could almost make a meal out of the avocado dip with chips. The food is always very fresh, and the menu is large and varied, with several well-priced choices for kids.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best fusion Cal/Mex ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This family-friendly restaurant in Willow Glen is a wonderfully imaginative blend of traditional Mexican ingredients and concepts (e.g.: the enchilada) run through the brain of a world-wise culinary expert. The result is a dependably delicious and fresh take on the foods you think you know and have come to love in Alta California.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqui Cal-Mex also viewed

 

Been to Aqui Cal-Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqui Cal-Mex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.