We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Swirls and Better Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqui Cal-Mex

Aqui Cal-Mex
1145 Lincoln Ave, San Jose, CA 95125-3002
(408) 995-0381
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,921 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Swirls and Better Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had swirls for the first time; they lived up to the hype. Service was great, fast; ordered salmon taco's they gave me chicken by accident; was switched and had fresh salmon tacos in no time flat. Went to SJ location in Willow Glen. Finding a table is tough tho; evidently b/c the food and drinks are excellent..... Oh, salsa bar is very good also!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    40
    5
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is one of the best Mexican restaurants I have eaten at. I wasn't sure about the process at first and had to ask. You order at the counter, then they give you a pager to let you know when you go to the counter to pick up your food. The presentation was beautiful. I had pork verde which was served with a cheese quesadilla. It wasn't the usual platter of Mexican food that was nuked in a microwave. The pork was piled high with a delicious verde sauce. The quesadilla, was also flavorful and complimented the pork. The frozen margarita topped off the meal beautifully. I'll be back when I'm in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Upscale Fast Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The food and concept at this place is great. You place your order at the counter and they give you the drinks (including margaritas, wine, and beer) and appetizers. Then they give you a buzzer for when the rest of your meal is ready. We went on a Friday night and the place was packed. We spent 5 minutes looking for a table before we placed our order.
Everything we had was delicious and there are a lot of options, for kids too. There is traditional mexican stuff as well as other options. I had shrimp and chicken in a lemon butter sauce and mango relish with mashed sweet potatoes and a light cole slaw . We also had the avocado dip appetizer (guacamole). It was delicious. There is also a salsa bar (like a condiments bar).
I would visit again and get take out or on a night that is not so busy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Semi self serve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The restaurant is a semi self serve. Think Panera with Mexican food. The salsa bar was great. No refried beans with entree is unusual at best for Mexican food. I'm sure it was the first time I was ever served fresh green beans with a Mexican food meal and that includes several weeks living with a family in Mexico. Unusual and average.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We go all the time and for the price the food is consistently an excellent bargain. They tend to be crowded (all the ones we have gone to) so go early or be prepared to wait. The Sunrise Swirl is delicious and quite a kick for a before dinner drink.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqui Cal-Mex also viewed

 

Been to Aqui Cal-Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqui Cal-Mex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.