We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and a little nostalgic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 S. First Street, San Jose, CA 95113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #18 of 72 hotels in San Jose
Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Convenient and a little nostalgic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had 10 stays in this hotel last year. It is convenient to the South Bay Area (San Jose, Cupertino, Sunnyvale). This is a not a new hotel. It was built in 1911 and has all the charm and warts you would expect from a hotel that is over 100 years old. The rooms are spacious and functional if not luxurious. The staff is friendly and efficient. One of my favorite things about this hotel are the free passes to the Balley's Health Club across the street. It gives you a much better work out experience than you would expect from a Four Points. Mosaic, the in house restaurant also has a diverse menu and is much better than a typical hotel menu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for the kind words! We're so glad you enjoy staying with us when you're in San Jose. Safe travels and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    98
    36
    17
    11
See reviews for
24
50
32
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I went to a party that was help at this hotel and I must say that it was wonderful. The location, the food, the drinks, the service it was all great. I met the director of sales and from the moment we met with JC he made us feel very welcome. I will definitely be having another event there soon. I especially love the modern feel. Overall I would give 10 stars but I am only allowed 5.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for the positive feedback! We are so happy to hear that we met your expectations on all levels! We value JC and all his hard work as well - we will be sure and pass your comments along to him. Let us know when you want to hold your event here! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have stayed here with my husband couple of times now and I have to say that it is a fantastic hotel. What makes this place special is that its right in the middle of downtown easy to get around. Second, the rooms themselves are nice. They are always clean and the service is always top notch. The food and drinks are the best.. Will stay here again and again when visiting the bay area. Thanks JC for making us feel comfortable and your recommendations... They were great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Let me start off by commenting on the check in staff. They were courteous and @ 10:30 PM understood a person that travels often doesn't want a bunch of pomp and circumstance when simply trying to place their head on a pillow. I am SPG platinum and locations like this can be a dice roll on upgrades but the front desk staff proactively acknowledged and my upgrade to a "junior suite " was already in place. The room was what you would expect. Comfy bed a plaid chair and a pull out couch with my only complaint being the sub-optimal placement of the tv with regard to the bed.

I did not partake in any food so no comment there.

My only 2 issues.

1. The parking attendant acted like a troll under a bridge collecting his cut. Bad experience he could have just been having an off day.

2. Even with a courtyard facing view the street noise was annoying and disrupted my sleep.

All and all what you would expect for what it is - a business hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay, and are pleased to hear you were able to settle in after your late arrival. We have passed along your comments to our front desk associates and have addressed your parking experience with our attendant. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Within minutes of arrival we knew we had made the right choice. This place so exceeds expectation. It's the whole package. Comfort, peace, food, drink!!! JC the Director of Sales is the best host ever! Cant wait to go to our concert tomorrow. Do not miss an opportunity to stay here. The internet works perfectly, despite some other reviews and everything is amazingly clean and well done!!!! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is straightforward. What you'd expect for a Four Points. I really liked the hotel staff. We arrived late and were greeted by Angela who made our check-in easy and painless. We had a somewhat complicated reservation, but she was able to sort it all out quickly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Jeff R -

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel accommodations and our friendly associates. Hope to see you back soon at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I just got back from one night at this hotel. I booked on-line and requested a quiet room. They put us on the 4th floor at the back of the building. It was quiet indeed. Our friends were on the front and on the second floor. I can only imagine the noise they had endured. Our room was very nice. For the rate it really can't be beat. Check in was quick and pleasant. The hotel seems to be well cared for, and the bed was very comfortable. If you need to be downtown give this place a look. We parked at the lot next door and paid $23 from 6PM to noon the next day if that matters to anyone. I did not know the light rail goes right by the hotel or we would have just taken that.

Room Tip: If you book on-line request a 4th floor room in the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourpointsGMSanJose, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi:

Thanks for the kind review! We're always very pleased to hear such enthusiastic positive feedback.

I'm so glad you had an enjoyable visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks again,

Randy Zimmerman, General Manager
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Address: 211 S. First Street, San Jose, CA 95113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown is a historic hotel with free wifi and 86 luxurious guest rooms. We are near McEnery Convention Center, HP Pavilion, SJSU, and other downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Four Points By Sheraton San Jose Downtown Hotel San Jose
Montgomery Hotel San Jose
Montgomery San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.