We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 S. First Street, San Jose, CA 95113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
orangecounty
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We attended a meeting in San Jose Ca this last week end. Although the venue was at the Fairmont we decided on the Four Points next door. We As we arrived on Sat night and left on Sunday afternoon we did not get to see much of the town. Everything seemed to be within walking distance of the hotel. Several types of eateries, movie theater and a little bakery just between the two hotels that we could not get enough of. Please note that both hotel charge a fee for parking but when we checked out we were not charger. They also gave us a 2:00 pm late check. for free. Our room (429 had a comfortable bed, feather pillows, white comforter, free bottles of water and a large bath tub to relax in. The room was large and had two large windows that did open 4 or 5 inches for fresh air. Friendly and helpful front desk staff.Would stay here again.

Room Tip: if you sigh up for Shearton rewards you will get much better price and perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    125
    45
    19
    13
See reviews for
30
61
36
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If looking for an affordable, clean, central place to stay. You found it! No frills, though I did get a free health pass to work out at Bally Fitness across the street. Otherwise, it is non-offensive but not a standout.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night as we were in town to see a concert at the San Jose Civic Auditorium which is very near by. The service at the desk was great. The room itself was large and clean with all the expected amenities. The free bottles of water in the room and the lobby were a welcome touch. We took the CalTrain in from San Francisco and it was an easy cab ride from the station to the hotel. The experience was good for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourpointsGMSanJose, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sauce_Diesel:

We are extremely appreciative that you were kind enough to post these very positive comments about the Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown.

It is particularly nice to see such positive feedback on our facility, as well as the friendly staff and the service that they provided you. Our Team works very hard at demonstrating positive hospitality and it is gratifying to see your comments.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you visit with us again soon!

Randy Zimmerman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I'm in my room right now getting ready to check out and just wanted to say what a great place it is to stay. People have commented that it's old, well duh, it's old, which gives it most of it's charm. My room is very nicely updated and clean and doesn't feel "old" at all. It's very small, but I don't mind at all, it's just me here. If there were two of us it might be a tight fit.

Check in was smooth and friendly as was the parking. There's a desk to work at and good (and free) internet connection. There's a wall radio, but also one of those docks with speakers. Comfortable bed, quiet air conditioning (not one of those thick clunky box things that wakes you when it goes on and off), thick walls (haven't heard anyone) and very clean, nice bathroom.

Here visiting my son and we had a wonderful dinner at Caper's Loft. Highly recommend, very good food. This hotel is very centrally located and there are tons of places to eat within walking distance, also a small Safeway if you want to pick up snacks. There's a comedy club next to Caper's Loft but it's probably hit and miss. Last night's show really stunk except for one guy who did 15 minutes.

I was picking between this hotel and the Fairmont, which was more expensive, and I'm very glad I made the choice to stay here. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourpointsGMSanJose, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so very much for your review! We are all delighted that your visit was enjoyable; certainly "clean and friendly" are exactly the adjectives that we strive for. I'm glad to see that we were successful! Hope to see you again very soon.

- Randy Zimmerman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We only stayed here for one night, but it was a good experience. I thought the property was really nice for a 3 star hotel.

The only negatives:

-Check in/check out wasn't as smooth as it could have been. There was some confusion about the number of rooms and SPG status.

-The bar/restaurant were closed for two private events.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourpointsGMSanJose, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Meredith:

Thanks for your great review. I'm glad that your overall impression of the hotel was favorable (in spite of some hiccups with our front desk and restaurant); we certainly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again very soon.

Thanks again,

Randy Zimmerman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is my new go-to hotel in San Jose. It is unexpectedly nice for a Four Points (which I usually find efficient, clean, and kind of "sterile"). In fact, it's much nicer than a lot of regular Sheratons where I've stayed. This hotel has character! The inside is architecturally interesting. The rooms are very hip. Great bed. Lobby has a restaurant that you might actually want to eat. Parking is convenient (but kind of expensive - $20 for self park). Front desk staff was great. I'm surprised, and impressed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourpointsGMSanJose, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Jacqueline:

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review of our hotel! I'm delighted that your visit went so well, and that your expectations of our hotel were so clearly exceeded!

We certainly look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our fair city.

Thanks,

Randy Zimmerman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a weird little place. Used to be the Hotel Montgomery apparently. You'll actually have trouble finding it since the sign for the hotel restaurant is bigger than the one for the hotel. Small lobby, older elevators, etc. Nicely updated though. The room I stayed in was actually quite spacious, though very oddly furnished. Very very small desk. If you need to do any work at all its a bit tight. Decent internet, though the WiFi as seems to be common for these Sheratons is very spotty--moving around the room you'll lose your connection. Parking is VERY expensive for this area at $20/day. And this location is very inconvenient to get to--lots of traffic all sides. If its valuable to you where its located, in the middle of everything downtown, it may be worth putting up with this. If not, stay at the one in Milpitas instead--free parking, nice pool, more space, cheaper rates, newer, etc. AT&T 3G coverage here is incredibly poor by the way. Nice bed. Cheap towels, amenities etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourpointsGMSanJose, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Fanfoot:

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that your overall expectations were met, even in spite of some concerns & issues.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again; if I can be of any personal assistance, please don't hesitate to let me know.

Thanks again,

Randy Zimmerman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Address: 211 S. First Street, San Jose, CA 95113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown is a historic hotel with free wifi and 86 luxurious guest rooms. We are near McEnery Convention Center, HP Pavilion, SJSU, and other downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton San Jose Downtown Hotel San Jose
4 Points By Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Montgomery Hotel San Jose
Montgomery San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.