We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay, nice spot, poor spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Valencia - Santana Row to your Saves list
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Nights | 3rd Free
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Napa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Second stay, nice spot, poor spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

We have stayed here a couple of times and we love Santana Row. There is a great theater there that shows indie films and a cool sushi spot called blowfish that I like. The rooms are very comfortable. We stayed in a suite last time and I actually prefered the layout of the standard room more. The bathroom is a little small in there but the living/sleeping area is great. There were very cool about sending us drinks to the hot tub on the veranda even though it was freezing outside. The bellman was great and the front desk was very nice. We will return.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    179
    74
    31
    30
See reviews for
77
138
26
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

I need to be in San Jose for work almost every week, so this hotel was a real find. For the price (between $179 and $220 usually) the rooms are good-sized for a boutique hotel. I like the Asian feel and general amenities, and the public spaces are great. The Santana Row location is great as there are several good restaurants and tons of shopping just steps away.
However, I do find the hotel very unresponsive to frequent business traveler needs. I stayed there five or six times this past fall, and at no time did I get any recognition either ratewise, roomwise, or in my treatment that I was a frequent guest. And yep, I reminded 'em!
Service just seems a bit bemused overall. The concierge seems unable to do much (I tried to book a car service and it was a fiasco) and I was actually asked by room service exactly what "Earl Grey tea" was. Direct quote: "Is that some kind of drink?"
I think there are only two Valencias, SJ and San Antonio- so why the inattention to detail?

  • Liked — Very stylish look and feel
  • Disliked — Very confused and below-average service
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

The hotel is in a great location - great to be on Santana Row, but definitely not worth the price. When I spend almot $400 for a hotel room, I expect a number of amenities and exceptional customer service. None of those were present. The front desk personnel were less than friendly, the water in the room was for a hefty charge (no complimentary water), our beds were not turned down at night, no mints, and there wasn't even a newspaper at the door in the morning. These are all things you usually get from a nice Hilton or Sheraton - for a less expensive room rate. The rooms are okay, decorated very modern but rather cold and masculine. I would not stay here again and would not recommend it.

  • Liked — Location at Santana Row - Santana Row is great!
  • Disliked — Customer Service, room decor, lack of amenities
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

Truly amazing place! Probably one of the best night-out experiences I've had.
I was looking for the best place to propose to my girlfriend, and found Cielo. I'd heard so much about them - the views of the sunset, the food, the service... everything surpassed my expectations.
From the moment I contacted them to make reservations at Cielo and at Citrus, nothing went wrong. They cordoned off and reserved the area by the fire for us, made the most wonderful cocktails, were polite, courteous and discreet, and went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect.
Whoever heard of a hotel or restaurant calling you back to confirm yout reservation and to work with you to make sure everything's perfect??!! They go out of their way to make you feel special, like a V.V.I.P.
The food at Citrus is very very good, though they did tend to be a bit slow that evening - probably because of a wedding rehersal dinner there that was catering to several hundred guests. Even at Citrus, they'd cordoned off and reserved a special area for us, and the servers were always at hand to cater to our every whim and fancy.
All-in-all, an awesome, unforgettable, perfect experience.

And yes, she said yes :-)

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The slow service at Citrus
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Valencia for one night in early September. The room was very nice! Modern with a large bathroom, plenty of counter space and a nice little balcony overlooking Santana Row. We ate dinner at a Mexican Restaurant a few blocks from the hotel. We sat outside where we could listen to a band. This was very nice. Several shops are close by. The hotel also had internet access. The continental breakfast was excellant, the best of our trip. The staff was very friendly and helpful, even giving coupons for the Winchester House which is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — nice rooms/ generous continental breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

Some friends and I stayed at this hotel to celebrate a birthday. Initially I tried to book a room via the website. The price shown did not match the price when trying to book the room so I contacted reservations and emailed them the page with the price. They told me they would look into it and get back to me. I ended up calling them back without any luck, someone dropped the ball and the reservationist hung up on me after she was totally rude! I ended up contacting the front desk and booking that way but when I checked the reservation they had booked the wrong package and not for the quoted rate!! It took me 9 days to actually get a reservation with the quoted price. My husband and I, after all of this, forgot our toothbrushes so when we checked in we asked for them. When I went to brush my teeth the bristles came out in my mouth!! For such a high class, pricey hotel they should offer better toothbrushes! The continental breakfast was good. It is confusing coming into the hotel at night since there is a bar upstairs and there is always a line of people waiting to get in. But if you're staying there you can just go up by showing your key. The airconditioner was also very loud! The view of the courtyard and pool was nice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — making a reservation
  • Tips/Secrets — show your room key to get in at night without waiting in line
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

I booked my hotel via their website and got an excellent rate and deal. One night free on Labor Day weekend. It can't get much better than that! Check in went smoothly and the front desk clerk even caught an error before I mentioned it. the bell service sent my bags up about 15 minutes after i checked in. not bad at all. We got a king room without a balcony since we have a small child and it was huge! It had enough room for our travel crib and all of our things. We ordered room service and it came hot and prompt. the food was good and the prices were pretty decent considering it was room service. the free breakfast is a great perk for families with children and even travelers that are trying to keep in a budget. It was good food and a good variety. I was pleased with the service that I received here. The housekeeping came in the evenings for turn down service and were so friendly. I had a problem with our TV and the staff sent someone up within 5 minutes! I was truly impressed seeing as it was a busy holiday weekend and there was also a wedding here. I never had to wait very long for anything. the pool is gorgeous and they have complimentary bottled waters and lemonade. you can see a view of the courtyard and Santana Row from the pool. It's beautiful. Being in the middle of Santana Row is convenient. There are so many things to do and it's just a walk away!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Take advantage of your free breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or dine in the acclaimed Citrus Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites guest to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.