We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location-Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Valencia - Santana Row to your Saves list
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Location-Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

For this part of San Jose I was expecting a larger price tag for my room at Hotel Valencia. You are right in the middle of Santana Row which is populated with high end shops all around you. Nice area to get out and walk around, have a dinner, or enjoy a glass of wine. Staff was friendly and the rooms were very nice. It is great to stay somewhere that takes some time to furnish it with some personality. Well done!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Mark Q:

Thank you or your wonderful comments on Hotel Valencia and Santana Row. We hope your business brings you back this way soon.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    167
    70
    28
    31
See reviews for
73
132
25
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a wonderful experience here. Despite our room not being ready at check in (check in is at three and we arrived at 4:30 and our room was still not ready) and A new front desk person who didn't tell us that there was complementary breakfast and tried to give us our room keys before the room was cleaned, it was still a very nice stay.

The location is awesome… Walk out the front door and you are in an amazing shopping and restaurant mecca. We were there Friday night through Sunday and heard several live bands and musicians playing throughout our stay. Such a nice touch as you walk along the streets and enjoy the beautiful weather.

The pool is very small so if you want to do that during your stay make sure to grab a chair early in the day. They are just starting to serve food at the pool so their system is not very efficient. Don't plan to eat until 45 minutes after your order is placed. Our order was also incorrect which was inconvenient since we had starving children.

The service here was average. I think if staff was trained to be more hospitable and welcoming i.e. make eye contact and smile, even learn guests names, then this would really kick the hotel up a star level.

The rooms were very nice. They are large and decorated eclectically. We had a view of the green space near the playground and maggiano's and it was wonderful to open up our windows and enjoy the live music.

Great stay but service could be improved upon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share some very constructive feedback. I have shared with our operational managers to work on improvements.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be back often.

Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

we usually go to San Jose 2-3 times a year and usually stay at another hotel in Milpitas. last two times we had stayed at the Valencia. What a difference.

It is not just the setting in Santana Row, but the whole experience. Shopping? Check, Restaurants? Check, Bars? Check..

The staff is great and one of the best amenities at the hotel...V Bar..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Glad we hit all the marks! Hope to see you on your next visit.

Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The facilities were very nice and the location couldn't have been better for shopping and eating. Unfortunately, customer service is not something the staff has been taught. Had to call the front desk to order drinks at the pool and waited more than 30 minutes. Then had to wait more than one and a half hours for extra blankets and had to call twice to order them.
It's a shame that the staffing has not been trained better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Jennifer B,

I want to apologize for the service lapses that you experienced during your recent stay. Your feedback will be reviewed with the appropriate managers to determine why the service issues occurred.

I am happy that you did enjoy the hotel and location and hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the experience you had hoped to have on your last stay. If I may ever be of personal assistance, please contact me at bbest@valenciagroup.com.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Location, location, location. This place has it. Santana Row right outside your elevator! Great shops and places to dine and drink. Hotel pool is small but great for afternoon sun. No poolside service however. On your own. Rooms nice but lack a mini fridge and no ice/vending available. Room service has to bring ice. V Bar hot spot and will turn hotel into a nightclub on Friday and Saturday nights. Good security however. Don't valet, use free parking for guests. Have to walk a but but very close.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. You are correct that we only have mini bar fridges in the guest room, but we do have ice machines on each floor except the third which only has a few guest rooms.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return soon.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel is right in the epicenter of downtown San Jose and the young people scream by on their motorcycles and sports cars. Bands and crowds of people. The rooms are very nice excepting the bathrooms which have no vanity and the tub is ancient. Food is terrible at the restaurant and in the morning. Overall it's not bad for the price if you get a room off the street. The location is excellent and located in the heart of designer shopping area.

Room Tip: Don't book a room near the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Dianna R.,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience during you visit to Santana Row and San Jose. Santana Row is a lifestyle center that is located in an urban destination which does include street activity, particularly on the weekends.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the included complimentary Continental Breakfast and are always open to suggestions. We will be adding a separate location where an la carte breakfast may be enjoyed early next year.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A beautiful exterior a blend of modern and mission and splendid bar and decor sits in the middle of the fab shopping District of Santana Row it's fun fresh and vibrant a real treat and I am destined to return when biz takes me to San Jose.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments! It's been a year, come back!

Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or dine in the acclaimed Citrus Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites guest to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.