We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inoffensive hotel, just lacking a little spark...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Valencia - Santana Row to your Saves list
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Shepparton, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Inoffensive hotel, just lacking a little spark...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

You should be quite happy with your stay at this hotel- they do most things satisfactorily without excelling in any one area.
The location is great, close to good shopping and an interesting array of quality restaurants. The area was quite busy with a lot of "neat" people when I visited on a Friday and Saturday night.
The balcony king room was large enough with a very comfortable bed- the linen felt a little thin though. It seemed to be a bit difficult getting the room light enough when I had some paper-work to get through.
The bathroom was large enough and nicely decorated, the bath was small.
The bar area was quite attractive with a large balcony but the breakfast spread was low on personal service (pour your own pre-made coffee) and just barely adequate at this price range.
It feels like the hotel just needs a bit of personality and some minor adjustments to get it to the next level.
All in all I enjoyed my stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Hotel Valencia and Santana Row. We appreciate all constructive feedback.

We will be undergoing some changes over the next 12 months and hope you will like them.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    166
    70
    28
    31
See reviews for
73
130
25
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a decent hotel...it's starting to show it's age with some wear and tear in the rooms. Nonetheless the location is top notch (close to major shopping and dining in San Jose) and the staff is very helpful. We had a company event here so things were catered by the hotel. Food was about average as far as hotel catered food goes.

I got stuck with the room right next to the elevators but was pleasantly surprised by how quiet things were during the night.

The rooftop pool is small but has a great view of the Santana Row strip.

The breakfast that was included was not much more than your standard continental fare...and even at that, it was pretty basic.

Room Tip: get a room that faces in towards the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Hotel Valencia.Over the next year or so, we will be doing some updating in several areas of the hotel, starting with the guest rooms. We hope you will enjoy the new look.
With regard the the included continental breakfast, we would be interested in hearing what you would like to see. It currently includes assorted pastries, breads, muffins, bagels, homemade granola, yogurts, fresh fruit, cold cut meats, assorted cheeses, assorted juices, coffee, teas, hot oatmeal, dry cereals and at least one hot item per day of scrambled eggs, meats, potatoes, pancakes or blintzes,etc. We also offer an a la carte menu of for-purchase items.
Again, thank you for your feedback and looking forward to your suggestions.
Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a friend. It was our first time at this hotel. I signed up for the VVIP and was given a choice of domestic beer or red wine upon check in. I was in the 6th floor. Very quiet. About a couple hours after check in, the housekeeper knocked on my door asking if I needed anything. She gave us delicious chocolates and ice for our ice bucket.The room was spacious and very clean. Love Love Love everything about the room, the decor, the bathroom amenities. I really liked the lighting in the room and bathroom. The complimentary breakfast was awesome. They offered oatmeal, cold cereal, danishes, fruits, scrambled eggs and sausage, coffee, great variety of teas which included Genmaicha, oolong, mint, green, etc...They offered orange juice, apple juice and grapefruit juice. I paid 179.99 plus tax w/my AAA discount. So worth the price and will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor overlooking the courtyard. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Hotel Valencia. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next year!
Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The area is very nice, and the hotel is very well located. Santana row is the place to be if you want to enjoy good shops and restaurants.
The hotel is ok. Service is good, with a decent bar and a good restaurant however it is very expensive, I guess you pay for the location.
To access the hotel from the street you need to get into the lift to the 3er floor where the reception is located and then another lift to your room. It is quite busy to get in and out.
Breakfast is ok but nothing great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent experience at Hotel Valencia. Constructive feedback is always appreciated.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for my friends 70th birthday. They want out of their way to accommodate our room request. The front desk staff is excellent. I love the room decor, the low lighting is great. Both our rooms were very clean and quite. We were on the 4th floor and did not hear anyone above us or beside us. The beds were extra comfortable. Thank you Hotel Valencia, we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for selecting Hotel Valencia for your friend's 70th birthday celebration. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here. We hope you will return for 71!
Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We paid $375 for a room here, and the room itself was nice and large. The bathroom was huge! The shower was great, but then the good and the great ended. The TV looked like it came over on the Ark, and was filthy. It had black fingerprints on it. There were only a few channels. The "free" internet hardly worked at all. I had to go down to the business center to work because the Wifi was so weak. The carpet had a large burn in it, and the rest of the room needed a good cleaning. The room and the entire hotel was very dark, and I wondered if it was to hide the dirt. The staff was friendly and very good, except for the person who came to my room the first night to offer turn down service. She was holding a bag of wet ice and offered it to me, but when I tried to take it she pulled away, presumably because I did not come to the door with any money in my hand. The bed was clean and comfortable. The "work out facility" is an embarassment. This was not worth$375.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy the hotel. I it is always our goal to meet the expectations of our guests and would have been happy to remedy any shortcomings during your stay.

Again, I offer my apologies and would be happy to speak with you personally if you would like.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Santana Row is a very chic place to be in San Jose. The hotel is very nice and cozy. It has a great bar but the average age is 20 to 25. We preferred going to a pub around the corner where they have live music and more for 30 and over. Expect the night life to be over by midnight in some places. The rooms are very comfortable and we loved getting a balcony that overlooked the boutiques. The restaurant to go is yard something on Monday, if the 49ers are not playing on that day the players gang out there. The food in all the restaurants around there are excellent, the pizzeria and many more. You also have a full breakfast. San Francisco is 45 minutes away and Palo Alto about 30. Do stay at least for a day in this beautiful place and visit all the boutiques. You might end up with a gucci purse and wallet like I did.

Room Tip: balcony overlooking the boutiques
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at Hotel Valencia and Santana Row. Sounds like you had a great time! We hope to see you back again soon.

I see you are from Texas and if you are in San Antonio or Houston, we also have hotels there which you might enjoy as well. We will also be opening hotels in Austin and Kansas City later this year!

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or dine in the acclaimed Citrus Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites guest to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.