We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood Italian restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tomato Thyme

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tomato Thyme
1560 Hamilton Avenue, San Jose, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 1,921 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Jose, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Looks are not always what they seem when you look at the restaurant fascade. Inside is a bustling activity of good dining. Awesome homey Italian food, pleasant service, little noisy but good place to celebrate, date, or hang at the bar and catch a game. totally not pretentious, good vibes every time I go. I'd go there more regularly if it were closer to my house. I'd recommend franchising myself.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Have eaten at Tomato Thyme several times with friends. It is very popular with families and the older crowd. The food is good and well priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Its pretty much always Tomato Thyme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

They serve La Villa raviolis, and unless you grew up here, you may not know about La Villa. Its an Italian deli on Lincoln Av in Willow Glen. BEST raviolis ever! Tomato Thyme makes them their own, adding their sauces and spices. And that's just one dish among many that are worth venturing in to this seemingly insignificant restaurant. Its a little pricey for my 'everyday' type of dining adventure, but its a great place and we manage to get back there fairly often, because it is truly delicious Italian cuisine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Ate the whole dish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

A friend brought me here. It is in a grocery store strip mall. Parking lot was very full and hard to find a spot, think it was do to the gym also in the same mall. Once inside we were promptly seated. I don't remember much about gage decor, too busy visiting with friend. Service was prompt but never refilled water glasses. Portion was large. Friend got pasta and shrimp and I got rigatoni. We both cleaned our plate. Would go back again if in the area.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Our family of 4 (incl. 2 children) love this place.
Food is excellent: we had salads, burgers, pasta and every single time, it was great.
Service is very friendly and not over-doing it. You can actually enjoy your meal without being interrupted every 2 minutes.

Highly recommend it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomato Thyme also viewed

 

Been to Tomato Thyme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomato Thyme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.