We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, it's a Soup Plantation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Tomatoes

Sweet Tomatoes
4180 N First St, San Jose, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #264 of 1,921 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Continental
Restaurant details
Yorba Linda, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Yes, it's a Soup Plantation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I didn't know until we went to San Jose that what we call Soup Plantation in SoCal is Sweet Tomatoes here. Same concept, all you can eat soup, salad, pasta, muffins and dessert. This one was particularly clean and we enjoyed the variety. Just walk across from the Hyatt House and you are there!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    11
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not recomended at all !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Totally not worth it without coupon, and the staff members are not friendly at all. I like the salad bar there and the ice cream, anything else not worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Suburbs
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Good lunch buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

First time at a Sweet Tomatoes but not the last. I went for lunch at this very popular location. For a fixed price, you get a variety of prepared salads, greens and fixings to create your own salad, other salad bar items, soups, pastas, breads, soft serve yogurt and toppings, and more. There are some premium salad toppings for an extra cost; fountain drinks are also extra.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The restaurant is small but it is good.
The salad bar has a lot of choices. The pizzas snd the deserts are also tasty

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tomatoes also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Tomatoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.